We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 year wedding anvs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn to your Saves list
Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1915 Republica de Cuba, Tampa, FL 33605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
“10 year wedding anvs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 10 year wedding ansv. When booking the room the staff was extremely helpful and placed us in a great room 312 for our special night and was kind enough to book us reservations for dinner at the Columbia. (Which is a must!!) Arrived at the hotel and it was truly spectacular. The room was great with balcony. Truly loved the room. We came on a Monday so slow night for Ybor must places closed. But it was still a great time. Only thing I would improve is the breakfast in the AM it was so so. Besides that loved it and looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: King room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    11
    8
    13
See reviews for
12
40
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Arrived late evening, receptionist was very helpful, with booking a restaurant. Rooms beautiful, and beds and linens good. Some noise during night, as hotel is central to city, and guests next door came in at 2.00 and talking loudly for 20 mins. When we arrived for breakfast an hour before it finished was surprised that there was no bread of any sort, when asked staff response was that they had run out! Otherwise a good visit and we were able to leave our car after checking out until late that evening while we visited the area.

Room Tip: We booked two rooms both on 3rd floor, both beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a unique place to stay the Don Vicente is it! The whole family is involved . Seems like the focus is more on events like weddings etc. than the hotel part, Tues Nite was a little noisy as it was swing Night and kind of loud. there is a nice breakfast with fresh fruit, muffins, bagels.The streetcar stop is close by and can take you all the way to downtown Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A really great location, friendly staff and a warm welcome. The room was well presented with a fantastic big bed. It can be hard to find hotels with true character but Don Vicente certainly has plenty of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We wanted a 24-hour escape, and the Don Vincente helped make it a perfect one. The historic property is beautiful and centrally located in Ybor (everything in walking distance). The lobby is impressive and our room was classy and well-sized, yet simple- exactly what we were hoping for.
With the great value it offers, we will be back indeed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The great thing about this place aside from the environment is the staff. They are pretty awesome and unique. No matter what time of the day or night, their is always a lot of attentiveness, and not the "required" fake kind you would expect from a chain. They are genuinely helpful and cool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The venerable Don is full of charm and character and the location is perfect for bar-hopping off 7th Ave. Rooms are good-sized and we had a huge balcony with a view (312). Staying here makes you feel like you've stepped back in time. I was not prepared for soft water from the shower. Definitely takes some getting used to. The a/c was icy cold and the bed was comfy. For $90 including free parking this was quite a deal. The lobby is huge and the staff is constantly cleaning, painting, etc. and the care shows.

I look forward to another stay here next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We really do care about our inn, so it's nice to know that came through in our work and service. I hope you get a chance to visit Ybor City again soon!

Take care,
Tessa Shiver (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown
Le Meridien Tampa
#24 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridan Palace Hotel
#93 of 159 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#70 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn

Address: 1915 Republica de Cuba, Tampa, FL 33605
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don Vicente Historic Inn is a beautiful boutique hotel located in Tampa, Florida. Featuring two spacious suites and sixteen guest rooms with hardwood floors, Persian rugs, cast-iron balconies, antique furniture and chandeliers gathered from around the world, the Don Vicente is the epitome of luxury and historic character. At The Don Vicente, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast, broadband internet, voicemail and writing desks, shower and tub bathrooms, TV and plush bathrobes throughout the duration of their stay. The dramatic four-poster canopy beds welcome tired visitors, while our other amenities provide the comfort and splendor fit for a King or Queen. All of the furnishings are high-end antique treasures, making the ambience of the hotel unmatched. Enjoy exploring our grand salon, where you’ll find countless conversation-starting artifacts from across the globe. It’s the perfect setting for mingling or enjoying a moment alone. Our quaint café features a wood-carved bar that was rescued from Tampa’s old Sea Wolf Bar, and can seat up to 40 guests. One of the most unique areas of the hotel is the underground lounge. Considered Ybor’s hidden speakeasy, the lounge features built-in booths, a large wooden bar and exposed brick walls. It is the ideal space to truly experience the historic Ybor City atmosphere. For your next event, consider using The Don Vicente as a beautiful backdrop and entertaining space. We host everything from weddings, showers, rehearsal dinners, anniversaries and parties to corporate functions and charity events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Don Vicente De Ybor Historic Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.