We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn

Save Saved
You added Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotelsclick.com
and 5 more sites!
Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn
1915 Republica de Cuba, Tampa, FL 33605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything here is stunning from when you walk in all the way to the rooms full length windows great bed the staff could not be more helpful definitely would stay again and the local bars are great with new world brewery round the corner and Tampa brewing co a few blocks down can't beat it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciate their helpful service. Hope you get a chance to visit Ybor City again soon!

Take care,
Tessa Shiver (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    5
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was a real find. Very nice decor, great staff/service and in the heart of Ybor City. Also 25 minutes from Busch gardens. Staff helped us get discount tickets to Busch gardens on-line.

John & Bonnie Leahy, Canada

Room Tip: Room 213 has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks John and Bonnie! I'm glad we helped make your trip to Ybor City pleasant and fun. Hope to see you again the next time you're in town!

Take care,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we looked all over ybor for a hotel and after others were booked we came across this place.
if you book this place you are in for a treat. everything from the staff to the rooms to the common areas are amazing. its like a big old period house. beds are very comfy and rooms are spotless. ended up staying for 3 nights instead of the planned one night. would return in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you appreciate our unique ambiance. We try to make our inn feel "like a big old period house," but with modern comforts and amenities. Be sure to keep us in mind the next time you visit Tampa!

Best wishes,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a really nice option for an over night stay so you could enjoy Ybor at it's best. The location is close to many things to see and do.

The hotel has a lot of History and charm. The rooms are clean with high
ceilings and windows. The decor takes you back in time and you don't feel like you
are in Tampa.

The staff is very nice and they put our a hot breakfast with wonderful coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Maria,

Thank you for your kind review. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the old world charm of our inn. We want all our guests to feel like they're traveling back to a simpler time when they visit us. Hope you're able to visit again soon!

Take care,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Don Vicente in June 2012. We chose it for it's timeless charm and and uniqueness. It lived up to our expectations! We had the entire place booked for our friends and family. The staff was very helpful and would do whatever we asked. It was a very relaxed time.

The Don Vicente also provided all of the food and beverages for the reception. The food was delicious! To this day the guests still tell him how great it all tasted. I recommend this place for an event or just to enjoy Tampa. It's a great location to walk to many different places. Check out the bar downstairs! It shouldn't be missed!

The negatives about the Don Vicente was the inconsistent hot water in the rooms. I only heard a couple people mention the water was too hot. This happens with older buildings though.

Also, if you're planning an event here, the organizers can be a little delayed with communication, but in the end everything was perfect and worked out

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I know it's been a few months since you visited us, but congrats on your wedding! I'm happy to know we helped make it special and memorable. I'm also thrilled to hear you're still getting compliments about the food! I know how stressful planning a wedding can be, so we try to take care of all the small details so that our clients feel relaxed and comfortable.

I'll be sure to use your feedback to improve going forward. The next time you're in Tampa, please stop by and say hello! We'd love to see you again.

Take care,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are nice and the furniture is pretty. Not a standard hotel! The neighbourhood is very lively, good for going clubbing. Especially in weekends you can here people from outside (music, talking etc), it didn't bother us, but can imagine some guests don't like it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for your review. We try to set ourselves apart from standard inns and hotels by creating a uniquely warm and comfortable ambiance. It's nice to know you appreciate it.

Do you have any suggestions for us to improve? Customer ratings directly affect our business, so we want to do what we can to offer our guests a great experience. I appreciate your input and hope to hear back from you soon.

All the best,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a beautiful inn. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. I had a beautiful room, with a king sized bed and huge bathroom. Yes, you do hear noise from outside, but this is a party town (under no circumstance would I bring children under 16 years of age) so you have to expect that.

Overall an excellent experience. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, Owner at Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation. I'm glad to know you had a fun time, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We genuinely enjoy working here and taking care of our guests, and try to make all our customers as satisfied as you. Next time you're visiting Tampa, be sure to keep us in mind!

Take care,
Tessa Shiver, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn

Also Known As:
Don Vicente De Ybor Historic Hotel Tampa
Don Vicente De Ybor Historic Hotel
Address: 1915 Republica de Cuba, Tampa, FL 33605
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don Vicente Historic Inn is a beautiful boutique hotel located in Tampa, Florida. Featuring two spacious suites and sixteen guest rooms with hardwood floors, Persian rugs, cast-iron balconies, antique furniture and chandeliers gathered from around the world, the Don Vicente is the epitome of luxury and historic character. At The Don Vicente, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast, broadband internet, voicemail and writing desks, shower and tub bathrooms, TV and plush bathrobes throughout the duration of their stay. The dramatic four-poster canopy beds welcome tired visitors, while our other amenities provide the comfort and splendor fit for a King or Queen. All of the furnishings are high-end antique treasures, making the ambience of the hotel unmatched. Enjoy exploring our grand salon, where you’ll find countless conversation-starting artifacts from across the globe. It’s the perfect setting for mingling or enjoying a moment alone. Our quaint café features a wood-carved bar that was rescued from Tampa’s old Sea Wolf Bar, and can seat up to 40 guests. One of the most unique areas of the hotel is the underground lounge. Considered Ybor’s hidden speakeasy, the lounge features built-in booths, a large wooden bar and exposed brick walls. It is the ideal space to truly experience the historic Ybor City atmosphere. For your next event, consider using The Don Vicente as a beautiful backdrop and entertaining space. We host everything from weddings, showers, rehearsal dinners, anniversaries and parties to corporate functions and charity events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Vicente de Ybor Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.