We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices, great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple

Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple
5306 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619
813-621-1669
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dade City, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Third visit. The noodle soup is the best. (Beep-O-Poke.....inside joke) We like the pad thai with ginger chicken. Egg rolls are awesome too. Chicken on a stick is good too. Bananas fried as you watch. All kinds of Thai food to sample. Desserts, fruits, vegetables, and jerkys. Sit picnic style along side the river under the trees. Check out the wonderful plants and fresh Thai vegetables for sale at very reasonable prices. Contrary to what one unhappy reviewer said, they do NOT recycle broth. Absolutely and completely ludicrous! They are simply separating liquid from solid waste. Personally, while there may be no inspections, most everything is happening right in front of you and I've never heard of any sickness coming from here. These people are committed to making fresh, safe food. It's obvious. I feel safer here than I do at a greasy spoon, or upscale place, where everything is done behind closed doors. Just because an inspector shows up once or twice a year doesn't make them safer. Try it out. Inside tip, be there by 10. Some items are not ready until 10:30 but you will be done with your soup by then and will have beaten the crowd, and believe me, it does get crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun local escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

So glad we finally made it to Monk Lunch! We visited during the Sunday market, arrived around 11:45, parking was busy, but we found a spot right up front. Since we were newbies, we were a little confused by the lines & kiosks, but at least got to try plenty & will have a game plan for next round. Egg rolls, fried sweet potatoes & bananas, coconut, cold fish curry & green onion custards. There were 3 of us & we ordered the larger plates of everything, which meant leftovers, total spent ~$30. They also have a fresh veggie/fruit stand & a small live plant nursery (orchids $8-$24, fruit trees, herbs & water lilies all for sale).

This should be on your summer road trip list for a cheap & exotic local escape.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool place for Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent,the prices are great and the area is really nice and relaxing.Lines get a little long after 11 but they go by pretty fast,nothing too bad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is amazing! The food was spectacular and really cheap! We tried the pumpkin curry, ginger curry, red curry and basil curry. SO good. We also got a bag of fried sweet potatoes and bananas. The people are all so nice and the temple is gorgeous! There are a bunch of tables by the water, its beautiful. Be sure to get there as early as possible! We arrived a little before 10 and the lots were already almost full! To get the food, you must go on Sundays, but it is open the rest of the week as well. P.S. Don't forget to bring cash!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You Better Have Patience at Sunday Market @ Thai Temple”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were really looking forward to trying this place, especially since all of the great reviews, however in our experience we waited in a mile long traffic jam with no one directing traffic or providing direction while trying to get into the parking lot which as it turned out was already full at 10:20 AM, we were then waived to go further down the road to another parking area which was also full, and nearly impossible to turn around in. Then we followed someone to a persons driveway turned parking lot ($5 to park) this took us over an hour from the time we began the traffic line until we were parked, it was now 11:35 and we just walked up to the gates...

We are not necessarily the most impatient people and didn't see waiting on Disney sized lines to get chicken on a stick or soup, so after over an hour trying to park and seeing food lines that were over a half-hour each we decided to called it, and went elsewhere to eat...

I still want to try the food, but don't know if I'd wait that long.

On a positive note: The place if really beautiful...

Oh did I forget to mention that they are only open from 10:30 AM to 2 PM on Sunday Only and only accept cash!

Fortunately, patience is a virtue that can be cultivated and nurtured over time. (Only Not This Time)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple also viewed

 

Been to Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.