We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun local escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple

Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple
5306 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 1,944 restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun local escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

So glad we finally made it to Monk Lunch! We visited during the Sunday market, arrived around 11:45, parking was busy, but we found a spot right up front. Since we were newbies, we were a little confused by the lines & kiosks, but at least got to try plenty & will have a game plan for next round. Egg rolls, fried sweet potatoes & bananas, coconut, cold fish curry & green onion custards. There were 3 of us & we ordered the larger plates of everything, which meant leftovers, total spent ~$30. They also have a fresh veggie/fruit stand & a small live plant nursery (orchids $8-$24, fruit trees, herbs & water lilies all for sale).

This should be on your summer road trip list for a cheap & exotic local escape.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    42
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool place for Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent,the prices are great and the area is really nice and relaxing.Lines get a little long after 11 but they go by pretty fast,nothing too bad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is amazing! The food was spectacular and really cheap! We tried the pumpkin curry, ginger curry, red curry and basil curry. SO good. We also got a bag of fried sweet potatoes and bananas. The people are all so nice and the temple is gorgeous! There are a bunch of tables by the water, its beautiful. Be sure to get there as early as possible! We arrived a little before 10 and the lots were already almost full! To get the food, you must go on Sundays, but it is open the rest of the week as well. P.S. Don't forget to bring cash!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You Better Have Patience at Sunday Market @ Thai Temple”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were really looking forward to trying this place, especially since all of the great reviews, however in our experience we waited in a mile long traffic jam with no one directing traffic or providing direction while trying to get into the parking lot which as it turned out was already full at 10:20 AM, we were then waived to go further down the road to another parking area which was also full, and nearly impossible to turn around in. Then we followed someone to a persons driveway turned parking lot ($5 to park) this took us over an hour from the time we began the traffic line until we were parked, it was now 11:35 and we just walked up to the gates...

We are not necessarily the most impatient people and didn't see waiting on Disney sized lines to get chicken on a stick or soup, so after over an hour trying to park and seeing food lines that were over a half-hour each we decided to called it, and went elsewhere to eat...

I still want to try the food, but don't know if I'd wait that long.

On a positive note: The place if really beautiful...

Oh did I forget to mention that they are only open from 10:30 AM to 2 PM on Sunday Only and only accept cash!

Fortunately, patience is a virtue that can be cultivated and nurtured over time. (Only Not This Time)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“as good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is as close to Thailand as you can get w/o the 21 hr. flight. Real Thai food at great prices (all procedes benefit the temple), Peaceful, tranquil atmosphere on the river. Come early, 10am, as lines get long quickly. Everyone is welcome to enter the temple (please take off your shoes) and volunteers are happy to answer your questions. Have a wonderful day and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Mongkolratanaram Thai Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.