We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Race track” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Bay Downs

Tampa Bay Downs
11225 Race Track Road, Tampa, FL 33626
(813)-855-4401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 205 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK Race track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food in the Poker area is good. Inside the track when horses not running is dirty. Need to keep it clean year round

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon at the track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

So far I've been to 3 race tracks in the U.S. Tampa Bay Downs has some nice features. They offer free parking during the week and free general admission! The seats are comfortable. They offer a nice variety of food and refreshments. All good stuff. What I didn't like was that the betting booths are all downstairs, so every race one must go down the stairs to bet and then back up again to observe the race. Tiresome! Also, there should be more TVs for those of us who don't have perfect eyesight for distance. That one screen out in the middle of the track isn't adequate. At other tracks, there are numerous TVs so you can watch from the stands and see the action on the track. Finally, the gift shop was a disappointment. Not much to choose from.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“NOT ENOUGH HELP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We took the whole family for a great afternoon of horse racing, there was 11 of us. The tables were all full. the bar staff was terrible. Rude and not near enough help. There were lines out the door waiting. I went up and made a bet and the guy who was taking it was so rude, people behind me in line moved to another line. The parking was terrible, on our way back to the vehicles we asked a golf cart driver that was shuttling people for a ride for the older people in are group and because we were leaving not arriving, she refused.We left after 2 races.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fun day at the races!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Were it not for having to sit out in the heat, this would have been a great day! We've been several times but normally sat in the clubhouse (with air-conditioning). This time had a Groupon for box seats. Always a fun time if you win a few bucks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Let's Go Racing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tampa Bay Downs is a great place to see horse racing at it's best without all the crowd and cost.....Great places to sit or stand and watch the races and you can get up close to the horses and jockey's. One of the jockey's actually gave my 13 year old son a pair of his used goggles which was pretty neat and a day he'll always cherish.... Good family fun...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Bay Downs also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Bay Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.