We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit, not worth a comeback” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro

The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro
4328 W El Prado Blvd, Tampa, FL 33629-8440
813-832-3388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #718 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, not worth a comeback”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The key to Trip Advisor reviews is to express a opinion - an opinion based on personal tastes and preferences. Critical reviews are often interpreted by the readers as a statement of fact when it is actually an expression of one's honest feelings and impressions. So with that said - while there was nothing explicitly wrong with Dolce I just didn't like it. Trendy it is not: it's a bar with few lounge type seats. The drinks did not impress. The food was plain and nothing special (we decided against ordering more dishes and went to another restaurant afterwards). Hopefully, Dolce will get better in the future, it's in a good spot in a upcoming neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I dined here on a date night and had a lovely time. This is an up and coming neighborhood bistro that has a classy, sophisticated vibe! This is a lounge/bistro that serves drinks and unique small plate entrees- it is more about the experience and less about stuffing your face. During our visit, a musician was singing and playing the keyboard which made for a nice ambiance. I ordered the soup of the day- vegetable soup- and it was mighty tasty! It was so good that my BF also ordered a cup after tasting mines. Afterwards, I had the shrimp ajillo which is 4 jumbo shrimp served on top of polenta (a cornmeal cake). It was covered in a spicy red sauce that was very yummy (but SPICY)! My BF ordered the chicken roulade- I had a bit and it was also very good! It was cooked and seasoned perfectly. This bistro offers a unique food and drink menu and also has some specialty coffees- my favorite! One of the owners remembered my BF from a previous visit and even recalled that he was from Memphis. I was impressed that she actually took the time to talk with her patrons and could recall pieces of the conversation. I should also mention that the decor is fabulous- even the bathrooms are all marble from floor to ceiling. My BF and I will definitely return!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trendy South Tampa Bar/Rest. with Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I have visited The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro three times now and love it. The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro has a trendy interior and large full length bar with bartenders that are on top of their game. Although we have not had dinner here, we have sampled several of the appetizers/tapas and they are phenomenal. The short rib nachos and meatball marinara are mouth watering! They have had live music each time, a good selection of beer on tap and bottle and and outdoor patio area. The crowd has been mostly professionals and it seems to be the new hot spot in S. Tampa. This is exactly what this area of Tampa needed, considering the Green Iguana and The Wooden Door are really the only other choices in the immediate area and they are no where comparable to this place. I have met the owners, Lovie and Johnnie (I believe there are two other partners too) and they are extremely friendly and outgoing people that are genuinely concerned about the customers having a good experience. Parking has not been an issue as there are at least 30 spaces available as well as street parking to the east. Do not park at the German deli to the north or they will tow your car I am told.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The New Nightlife in South Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I've passed by this place a few times since opening and have wanted to check it out. I'm glad I did. The light setting was the 1st mood I liked about it. It had a lounge feel to it that I really loved about it. The crowd was professionals, that I liked as well. They also had a pretty good live band playing which set a very good intimate, but social crowd. Everybody that worked there had a friendly smile that were embracing and immediately made me feel at home and comfortable. I had a chance of meeting the owners..and wow....what a cool set of people! I had a good experience! The food and the drinks were on point as well! I would recommend people check this spot out! It is definitely up and coming and I will not be surprised if this place stay busy from here on out! This place is what south South Tampa needed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Bistro Off to a Great Start with a Creative Menu and Skillful Food Preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro is a brand new addition to the South Tampa dining scene having just opened. The establishment sets a new level of expectation with its wonderfully diverse menu of tapa selections, with the ones that I have tasted being perfectly prepared. So far, I have had their shrimp over polenta, short rib tacos, crab cakes, whipped potatoes, asparagus, edamame, scallops, bread pudding (to die for), and bananas foster. And the drinks are superb!! The atmosphere has a fresh urban feel and the seating outdoors is most commodious for a more quiet dining setting. The Manhattan is located at the intersection of W El Prado Blvd and Manhattan St in South Tampa. I have been there twice and plan to return as a neighborhood destination.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Dolce Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.