We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennedy Location CLOSED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ragin' Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ragin' Grill
1719 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Kennedy Location CLOSED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

They have opened a new location in the bottom of one of the condo buildings in the Channel District, this location is shut down.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best choice for north Channelside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Food is decent. A little pricey for bar food. Get the roast beef sandwich and fries. Parking is a little difficult. Use the garage.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not what I hoped For in St. Petersburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I will be calling the manager after the lunch hour. Ordered 4 different orders for lunch. No silverware, no napkins and worst yet, one order was for beef ribs aparently forgot to ask for meat on them, and no moist towlette! This restaurant was recommended from a co-worker because of a great salad. The beef ribs had no meat on them, and were burnt. Sandwich and Burger were good, not outstanding. Salad seems to be the best thing on their menu.. guess might have to try the pork ribs to see what everyone else is raving about.. Will give them a 2nd try and update this! Ciao

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quality and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

From the small things -- like the quality takeout containers -- to the crucial --the food quality -- Ragin Grill met our standards. We work downtown and there aren't a lot of delivery options. We decided to try RG just to see what they offered. I was a little skeptical.
We ordered a couple of different items -- chicken and the Rib Its sandwiches (four rolls and a side for about $7). We ordered a couple of sides, a cob of corn and the applesauce. Unbelievably great taste. The applesauce is cinnamony goodness. The corn hadn't been sitting in water because it was crisp and flavorful.
A few weeks later we decided to pick up an order on the way to work. The food was a little slow coming but definitely worth the wait. This time I ordered the chicken/rib combo. The ribs were tender and flaking off the bone. The citrus marinade on the chicken was delicious, I wish I had had more. Not that the chicken was dry, oh no. It was just darn tasty. Add to that two sides (I had to get the corn again, but this time I tried the greens, again prepared for a dissapointment -- and again I had no cause for worry. Absolutely what you would find in a great soul food restaurant.)
We will definitely continue to order from RG, and I hope others will overlook the setting -- it's very clean inside, maybe a bit stark, but in a somewhat odd location -- and try this restaurant. I know when I was looking for reviews I couldn't find any, so here's one that gives the place two thumbs up and four stars.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“New Lunch Option on Kennedy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

A little hard to spot at first, west of downtown on Kennedy. Looks like you might be walking into a dentist's office or similar, but it is the corporate office of the franchising company.

They serve ribs, chicken, and burgers. Everything grilled, nothing fried. Sides like corn, greens, beans, etc available. Lunch specials come with a bag of chips.

Beer and wine coming soon, seating for about 30 people in booths and a couple tables. Order at the counter and then they let you know when it's ready, nothing sitting around waiting to be ordered. Service is fast and friendly, place is clean and new. A couple of TVs in the dining room showing news or sports.

They deliver and cater, been there a couple months, said to be opening a sports-bar/eatery as well in the Channel District soon.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragin' Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragin' Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.