We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all seats are too far, need to demolish and rebuild. Very big waste of $$$$” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts

The David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts
1010 N. W.C. MacInnes Place, Tampa, FL 33602
813.229.7827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 208 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“all seats are too far, need to demolish and rebuild. Very big waste of $$$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

uhhh, how bout $90.oo in the nosebleed section. they should make a better program to see your seats before you buy them. The one they have doesnt show just how far you are. Not a good experience., pissed when i left, the actors looked like ants.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    76
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

the best shows here in tampa,been there couple of time and i allways enjoy my time here,the best theater in town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Facility for Live Shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We attended a recent show at the Straz Center's Ferguson Hall. It is one of several theaters on-site. We also were fortunate enough to get a short tour of the entire Center before the show. The Straz Center is located right on the river in Tampa.....a beatiful location. Parking was simple in spite of the number of live shows that night at the Center. Valet parking was available, too.
The various theaters (5?) differed in size so that any sort of show booking could be accommodated to the proper sized auditorium. We thought the facility was very well designed in that regard. There are also two restaurants on site that seemed quite popular. The river was dyed green that day for Saint Patrick's Day, but that has nothing to do with the Straz Center. It did, however set the tone for the Get The Led Out performance in Ferguson Hall.
We were impreseed with the whole atmosphere at the site.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a treasure for we former denizens of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Straz books first rate and varied performers. We have tickets to the Monterrey Jazz and Louis Black this next week. Easy parking and the first rate restaurants are nearby. The venue has large and small theaters depending on the event. Go see for yourself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique and Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Straz Center for the Performing Arts. We were both pleased and surprised by the elegance and various different venues going on at the same time. We were attending a Rock Concert and next door an Opera was going on at the same time. Parking and walking to the center was very easy. The outside of the building was well maintained with beautiful landscaping and a large water fountain that we ended up having our picture taken in front of....definitely would attend a performance there again and we are this month!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to The David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.