We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all seats are too far, need to demolish and rebuild. Very big waste of $$$$” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Straz Center for the Performing Arts

Straz Center for the Performing Arts
1010 N. W.C. MacInnes Place, Tampa, FL 33602
18132297827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 154 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“all seats are too far, need to demolish and rebuild. Very big waste of $$$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

uhhh, how bout $90.oo in the nosebleed section. they should make a better program to see your seats before you buy them. The one they have doesnt show just how far you are. Not a good experience., pissed when i left, the actors looked like ants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank diana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

the best shows here in tampa,been there couple of time and i allways enjoy my time here,the best theater in town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cavr1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
243 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Facility for Live Shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We attended a recent show at the Straz Center's Ferguson Hall. It is one of several theaters on-site. We also were fortunate enough to get a short tour of the entire Center before the show. The Straz Center is located right on the river in Tampa.....a beatiful location. Parking was simple in spite of the number of live shows that night at the Center. Valet parking was available, too.
The various theaters (5?) differed in size so that any sort of show booking could be accommodated to the proper sized auditorium. We thought the facility was very well designed in that regard. There are also two restaurants on site that seemed quite popular. The river was dyed green that day for Saint Patrick's Day, but that has nothing to do with the Straz Center. It did, however set the tone for the Get The Led Out performance in Ferguson Hall.
We were impreseed with the whole atmosphere at the site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Fl
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a treasure for we former denizens of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Straz books first rate and varied performers. We have tickets to the Monterrey Jazz and Louis Black this next week. Easy parking and the first rate restaurants are nearby. The venue has large and small theaters depending on the event. Go see for yourself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Straz Center for the Performing Arts. We were both pleased and surprised by the elegance and various different venues going on at the same time. We were attending a Rock Concert and next door an Opera was going on at the same time. Parking and walking to the center was very easy. The outside of the building was well maintained with beautiful landscaping and a large water fountain that we ended up having our picture taken in front of....definitely would attend a performance there again and we are this month!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetsinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straz Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Straz Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing