We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere and fresh well crafted food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar

Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar
14306 N. Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33618
(813) 265-1415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 1,878 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Millersville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and fresh well crafted food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The iPads are a handy way to get orders in quickly; I love them b/c you can take your time browsing their menu, looking at pictures, and then submitting order when ready. We have gone when it is packed (Friday night) and less so (Saturday afternoons). We have always had great service. It's a wonderful place to enjoy conversation. No one rushes you. The menu items are not the same ol' items you see in every restaurant around you. All the items are fresh, flavorful, and mostly healthy. I have yet to be disappointed and I have tried a wide variety of dishes--LOVE the brussel sprouts, edamame hummus, marinated warm olives, BLTA, burgers, beet salad...LOVE THIS PLACE! Oh yeah, and espresso/cappuchinos after dinner really hit the spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great use of technology, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I absolutely love the use of the ipad to see menu items, place an order and pay. It's just so convenient. Our meal came quickly and everything was tasty. Portions are a bit small and I will skip their cocktails next time...but I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Poor service and bland food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I couldn't get a refill to save my life. My server was nowhere to be found and my food came out 30 min after I ordered it! We won't be going back here anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was here with a group for a business dinner. The servers were wonderful. Anticipating what was needed rather than waiting having to wait to ask for something, and nothing seemed to be an annoyance. All requests were promptly taken care of with a smile. The wine choices were quite good. The only possible downside I can see is that the menu is not quite mainstream for all in a large group. We had a couple of people who were more steak/potatoes. I would definitely come back again if I were in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Upscale urban decor, incredibly fast service, iPad ordering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I come here on a regular basis for our date night. Elegant decor, beautiful bar, excellent service. The best part: ordering your drinks and food from your own individual iPad! The order gets sent directly to the kitchen, and before you know it, it arrives! Great selection of appetizers with wonderful food combinations. Truly a gastric experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.