We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2307 East Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 159 hotels in Tampa
1 review
“"Wow"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I Agree stay away..... my first impression was Damn... , so when I walked into the office the first thing she tell me was, we dont have that many rooms that I can put you in thats clean, ( now to let you know I didnt check in until after 3pm), because we was booked yesterday and we're short of staff, so this is the only room that's available and I said ok as long as it's clean, she said yea it's clean, (here goes the but), but when you use the toliet dont flush and walk away, stand there and hold the handle until the toliet flushes, and I said is there anything else I should know about the toliet, she said no this whole building is like that....I responed ok. when I opened the door of the room the first thing that hit me was the smell of mold and mildew, In addition, the room have stains all over the floor very nasty( buy a pair of flip flops). to sum it all up If you decided to come to Tampa for a visit please stay away from this Motel...... pay the extra money to take your family to a clean and decent Hotel not a Motel.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I’m so very sorry that your stay at our Inn did not meet your expectations. We certainly want your visit to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. I’m so sorry that the cleanliness of the room fell short of your expectation. This is something I will be addressing with the housekeeper that was assigned to clean your room prior to your arrival. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future. Once again please accept my apology.
Sincerely,
Bob Mucklin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    15
    18
    44
See reviews for
28
26
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for a night to be closer to tampa airport. Staff was nice. Location was okay. About 20 min from the airport.

I am not a picky person when it comes to hotels/motels. And I seldom write a review. This place was the worse place I have ever stayed in. Going into the room..there's a strong smell of mold/dirt/wet carpet that was not dried properly. The bathroom was not clean. We had booked a double bed..1 bed had hair on it..we didn't need 2 beds so we didn't complain. Not sure if all the rooms are this way. Thank god that we only had about 6-7 hours here. I don't get it. Stayed at a cheaper place prior to this one and it was great. Would never recommend this place. If you care about your health stay away. Woke up with a sore throat/cough. Got about 3 hours of sleep. Decided to get to the airport early just to get out of there. Horrible!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You very much for your time to write a review of our Hotel. We certainly would hope to meet and exceed every guest expectation every time. It is apparent that we fell short with your stay. For this I am sincerely sorry.
Thank you,
Bob Mucklin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We never come on here to complain just to get reviews ourselves,this time I wish we had looked on here before we went to The red roof inn at busch gardens.We had a perfect night at howl o scream with friends then drove over to red roof inn at about 11pm for a bed for a few hours before we headed off to John's pass for the day.Well that was ruined because we couldn't sleep it was disgusting I couldn't stand on the floor without shoes on it was filthy and the stench when we opened the door was almost unbearable but I new my partner needed sleep so we stayed maybe slept about 2 hours because of all the screaming and shouting going on above us :( For nearly $70 we were ripped off BIG TIME I wish now we had slept in the car because our day at the seaside was ruined by this we were shattered :( Please please stay somewhere else or at the very least ask to see a room first they aren't like the pictures. xxx

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in the area don't stay here or at least check the room first xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm so very sorry that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. It is certainly our objective to do so. Once again we sincerely apologize.
Bob Mucklin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piedras, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stay just for 1 night. It is 5min away by car from Busch Gardens. A lot of place to eat around. It has a pool and free parking. The bed was very comfortable, nice pillows. We have available a microwave and a refrigerator and the night just cost us $55. We were sooooooo pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. We certainly try to meet and exceed every guest's stay and I'm very happy that we were able to accomplish this for you. Once again our thanks.
Bob Mucklin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, it is not a Hilton or Marriott but we found it clean and the price was right. Only a couple of blocks to Busch Gardens so very convenient. Plenty of places to eat close by, gas, convenience stores etc.

Kind of a tough part of town.

I would not stay there again if it were not so close to BG but would if I returned to BG.

Room Tip: Request a room near thee back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate any and all feedback that our guest are willing to provide. Once again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Not a good night stay. The front desk person was rude & short. I asked for a extra pillow, was told "No" that was it nothing else. Room smelled of cigarettes but it was a smoke free room. The menus in the room had burns all over them. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. Ok we were staying one night lets just get throught it my wife said. Took show in a trickle of water coming out of shower head. I have had better pressure camping in the woods by poking holes in a balloon. Took a shower in a dirty tub with a dirty shower curtain, the towel that was hung up for us to use had dried blood stains and pubic hair on it. I complained to the new front desk lady, she didn't really even care I got nothing out of her, no apology or even a concerned word. The poor attempt of a remodel is apparent in the bubbles in the wall paper to the new white caulk being applied over the top of the old caulk. Hint you remove old caulk first then apply new caulk. It looked like a caulk neoplitan. Before we left I believe I found out the problem. The cleaning lady if that's what you want to call her was talking on her phone the whole time she was suppose to be cleaning the room. This was a sorry sad hotel the I will never stay in & the I will only tell people to avoid. I'm posting pictures of the blood stain towels for everyone's enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm so very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation. We do strive to exceed every guest expectation, however we've fallen short with your stay. Once again we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't understand the negative reviews about this facility. I stayed last week and it was fine. Room was clean and ready or use - roll in shower was totally accessible for me. Dog was met with pleasant attention. Took grandchild to pool and he had a great time. Lots of workmen live there during their week of working on highway construction but they are always just as nice as could be. Very quiet even though on busy highway and close to Busch Gardens. Will definitely stay again so as to see grandkids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of our hotel. We so often only hear about negative experiences, it is a joy when someone takes the times to write a nice review. Once again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch

Address: 2307 East Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch Hotel Tampa
Tampa Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.