We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2307 East Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Please don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We never come on here to complain just to get reviews ourselves,this time I wish we had looked on here before we went to The red roof inn at busch gardens.We had a perfect night at howl o scream with friends then drove over to red roof inn at about 11pm for a bed for a few hours before we headed off to John's pass for the day.Well that was ruined because we couldn't sleep it was disgusting I couldn't stand on the floor without shoes on it was filthy and the stench when we opened the door was almost unbearable but I new my partner needed sleep so we stayed maybe slept about 2 hours because of all the screaming and shouting going on above us :( For nearly $70 we were ripped off BIG TIME I wish now we had slept in the car because our day at the seaside was ruined by this we were shattered :( Please please stay somewhere else or at the very least ask to see a room first they aren't like the pictures. xxx

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in the area don't stay here or at least check the room first xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm so very sorry that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. It is certainly our objective to do so. Once again we sincerely apologize.
Bob Mucklin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    16
    19
    46
See reviews for
31
27
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Piedras, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stay just for 1 night. It is 5min away by car from Busch Gardens. A lot of place to eat around. It has a pool and free parking. The bed was very comfortable, nice pillows. We have available a microwave and a refrigerator and the night just cost us $55. We were sooooooo pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. We certainly try to meet and exceed every guest's stay and I'm very happy that we were able to accomplish this for you. Once again our thanks.
Bob Mucklin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, it is not a Hilton or Marriott but we found it clean and the price was right. Only a couple of blocks to Busch Gardens so very convenient. Plenty of places to eat close by, gas, convenience stores etc.

Kind of a tough part of town.

I would not stay there again if it were not so close to BG but would if I returned to BG.

Room Tip: Request a room near thee back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate any and all feedback that our guest are willing to provide. Once again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Not a good night stay. The front desk person was rude & short. I asked for a extra pillow, was told "No" that was it nothing else. Room smelled of cigarettes but it was a smoke free room. The menus in the room had burns all over them. The floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. Ok we were staying one night lets just get throught it my wife said. Took show in a trickle of water coming out of shower head. I have had better pressure camping in the woods by poking holes in a balloon. Took a shower in a dirty tub with a dirty shower curtain, the towel that was hung up for us to use had dried blood stains and pubic hair on it. I complained to the new front desk lady, she didn't really even care I got nothing out of her, no apology or even a concerned word. The poor attempt of a remodel is apparent in the bubbles in the wall paper to the new white caulk being applied over the top of the old caulk. Hint you remove old caulk first then apply new caulk. It looked like a caulk neoplitan. Before we left I believe I found out the problem. The cleaning lady if that's what you want to call her was talking on her phone the whole time she was suppose to be cleaning the room. This was a sorry sad hotel the I will never stay in & the I will only tell people to avoid. I'm posting pictures of the blood stain towels for everyone's enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm so very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation. We do strive to exceed every guest expectation, however we've fallen short with your stay. Once again we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't understand the negative reviews about this facility. I stayed last week and it was fine. Room was clean and ready or use - roll in shower was totally accessible for me. Dog was met with pleasant attention. Took grandchild to pool and he had a great time. Lots of workmen live there during their week of working on highway construction but they are always just as nice as could be. Very quiet even though on busy highway and close to Busch Gardens. Will definitely stay again so as to see grandkids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of our hotel. We so often only hear about negative experiences, it is a joy when someone takes the times to write a nice review. Once again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

To start off, the actual hotel rooms are a poor attempt to look like the pictures on the website. Your room will not be what you see in the pictures! The area is very sketchy with suspicious characters walking all times of night. I stayed at this location for one night and only stayed because I was told I could not get my money back due to booking through a 3rd party website. The first room had an extremely overwhelming mold and mildew smell in the room to the point where my throat immediately started itching after about 5 min in the room. This room also had a huge (pee??) stain in the middle of the bed, clearly visible. The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls to reveal holes in the wall. When requested to be moved, I was told that the moldy condition of the room was due to it's proximity to the pool and the fact that it had rained recently. With some resistance by the desk agent, I was then moved to a second room in a different building.

The second room, although it did not have apparent mold issues, was filthy. Went in the bathroom to find urine on the toilet seat and on the floor surrounding the toilet seat. There was pubic hair in the bathtub and on the shower curtain inside the bathtub. There were little black ants crawling all over the counter. One of the comforters had a series of stains on it which I won't even guess at what the stains were. Pulled back the comforter to reveal stains also on the fitted sheet. The beds were also not made properly, as if an untrained person attempted to make the bed quickly. My mother and I ended up sleeping in the same bed, the cleaner of the two. Before the night was out, I killed a roach that crawled out into the floor. I've stayed at Red Roof Inns before and have usually been satisfied however, I believe this location should not be allowed to carry the name. It needs to be renovated, needs new management, and better staff. Absolutely TERRIBLE experience.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, spend a little more money and get a room at a hotel that at least offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am very sorry for the problems you experienced while here. We certainly try to meet and exceed every Guest expectation and I'm sorry again that we fell short in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place looks NOTHING like the pictures. When we questioned it, we were told it was because they had changed the comforters when they renovated a year ago (room did not appear to be renovated in the last decade). The floors were damp, the room smelled musty, the pipes shook when we turned on the shower and there were cigarette burns on the amenities. The woman at the front desk was rude when we went down to complain about the room, and explained she could do nothing for us because we booked thru Expedia and the hotel "didn't have our money." After moving us to a second unsatisfactory room she told us we would need to contact Expedia if we wanted to check out early, and she again could do nothing for us. The folks at Expedia were great and able to get us out of the Red Roof and into another hotel. We will NEVER be staying at another Red Roof again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst213, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm so very sorry that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations. We do to to make every guest stay a comfortable one. I apologize once again that we fell short with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch

Address: 2307 East Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#121 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch Hotel Tampa
Tampa Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.