We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 North US Route 301, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Red Roof provided an excellent value for price paid. My room was very clean, well lit and everything worked properly. The desk chair was comfy and there were ample electrical outlets in easily accessed spots-no crawling or moving furniture to try and find an outlet. I like the mainly laminate floor because it doesn't hold grime and odors like hotel carpeting. I especially appreciate that the room smelled fresh and clean without the use of "odor eliminating" products. There was no hairdryer but I obtained one from the front desk. On the down side only coffee is provided in the morning and the Red Roof website never seems to be fully functional. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a review. I am glad you like the new rooms with the laminated flooring. We are very proud of these new rooms. Thank you again, and I hope to see you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    19
    16
    6
See reviews for
16
44
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clearwater, fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Same as my old review, only thing to add is their ice machines actually work. Cheap, clean, directly across from the amphitheatre. As always there is a $1.50 they charge when you check out for a safe, whether you use it or not.

Room Tip: The 5$ upgrade to the "Superior King" room definitely worth it- comes with fridge/micro an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you had another great experience here at our hotel. Hope you enjoyed the concert as well as our new rooms. Being across the street from the Amphitheater does have its advantages. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was located across the road for the Florida State Fairgrounds. Resturant next door. The rooms were very nice and clean, I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. With our renovation just completed and the location we are a perfect fit for concert goers. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

For concert goers at the amphitheatre this place is perfect!! Short walk to the Journey concert on Friday night.No issues with service or our rooms.Arrived at 4 pm ,checked in with no problems,booked room through Expedia .All good!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I must agree for the State Fairgrounds and Hard Rock Casino you are right on with Location, Location. Add our new rooms on top and I hope we hit a home run.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Located across the street from the ford amp and next to winghouse, so perfect for concert over night stay. But wouldnt stay there again. Dirty rooms that smell and are very small. My advice is to book early at the Holiday Inn or somewhere else nearby!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I was worried about staying at a "motel" type hotel in this area but I was greeted by friendly staff & nicely upgraded interiors! Everything was clean (enough) and the proximity to the amphitheater was perfect! Saved at least $60 staying here instead of next door. Restaurant located conveniently next door.. Perfect for my overnight concert stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rooms recently renovated, nice hardwood (laminate) floors, updated fixtures, clean and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was for a RRI! Went for the KISS show so didnt really care where we stayed as long as we didnt have to drive - this place did not disappoint! Wing House in same parking lot (the girls were all dressed in KISS make up, it was fun!) and we walked to and from the venue after dinner & some drinks there. It was great watching everyone else sit and wait in traffic trying to get out as we entered our cool comfy room! Great value for the money and I would HIGHLY recommend staying here to anyone who is catching a show at the amphitheater!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0092, Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed the new rooms. We hope to see you again for the next concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Address: 5001 North US Route 301, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Tampa Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.