We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business visit in quite place so close to Interstate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Vista Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“business visit in quite place so close to Interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited recently in late October on business trip in Central Florida.
This place keeps adding new improved and practical ,but necessary things
at the facility.
Staff is exceptionally good and very helpful.Place is clean and close to USF and Busch garden
and other places of business and multiple Golf courses.
Place is so close to Interstate,but still quite in rooms to have a good night sleep
I will recommend for any one looking for family Or business trip at reasonable price in today' s
economically sensitive times where value and safety counts.

Room Tip: courtyard side rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    9
    17
See reviews for
8
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night when I was driving thru tampa. And i will tell you that this was my worst hotel/motel/inn experience! Found french fries on the floor, "drug addicts" walking and hanging outside, candle wax up the walls and to top it all, bed was crawling with bed bugs! I will never come back, neither will my friends!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, General Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience here with us. We do wish that we had been alerted to any issues you had with the room sooner. We have a 100% gust satisfaction policy and I am sure we could have made your stay enjoyable. We would have changed your room on the spot. However, because we do take the issue of any bugs in our rooms very seriously, we did examine the room to find no bed bugs as well as call out a pest control company and the health department to check and no bed bugs were found. The room was still treated for any insects. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again to see that we do take care of our guests and so that you may receive the service that would make you very happy.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

During a storm, our home lost power for an extended time and I needed internet. This hotel is close to our home, so I got a room there. Had I read the reviews first, I might not have stayed but, since I went in unbiased, I did not see 90% of what others are talking about. As I travel in business I am used to staying exclusively at Hilton. This is not a Hilton. But, it is certainly on par or to much better than hotels in the same price range all over the country. They have a great staff and are a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was supposed to be smokeless and it smelled horrible. There is also a homeless camp behind the hotel. The hotel is convenient off the interstate but if they want business, which it looked like they needed, they better improve the rooms or go way down on the price of their rooms. Awful place!

Room Tip: If all you need is a room, don't expect much. If you are expecting a nice hotel...continue look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, General Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, we want to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel. We try to maintain our rooms to high standards and apologize your room smelled like a smoking room. Sometimes we do have guests that smoke in our non-smoking rooms and we deep clean those rooms to rid the room of the smell. We would have been more than glad to switch you to another room had you notified the front desk. As per the homeless camp behind the hotel, it was on state property and we could not do anything about it. However, after multiple complaints from us and IHOP the state did send a cleaning crew and that problem has been resolved. We hope you give us another chance to show you that we value our guests' input and do our best to resolve any issues.
Sincerely,
MaTT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place isso gross literally just walked in the room condoms on the side of the bed. Stains on carpet and phone doesn't work. There is a whole in the wall behind the door and serious trash living here. I set my bags down for a minute and I can't bring myself to settle in here even for a night. A refund just won't do it...avoid this place like the plauge.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraswat80, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We try to maintain a very hospitable and clean property with friendly customer service. We have staff members available 24/7 to ensure our guests have a satisfactory stay. I apologize again for the dissatisfactory experience you had. If you decide to stay with us again I assure you that your stay with us will be much more pleasant because our number one goal is guest satisfaction and we waste no time correcting and resolving any problems experienced by our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

On my recent visit to Tampa I was pleasantly surprised to see such a friendly and safe place
with moderate prices. My family joined me on my business trip to Tampa this time. When we visited we saw this place in good location, Easy access from Interstate ,plenty of places to eat nearby. Check in was quick and friendly. We were able to visit some friends and family nearby.
Staff was always smiling and helpful in things to visit .
No problem sleeping in spite of being close to interstate and busy intersection in day time
you can find places to eat in walking distance even late at night. I was able to do my work in downtown while family did site seeing and occasional golfing nearby.
I will recommend to anyone particularly for the price and friendly convenient place in today's market. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask to give rooms facing courtyard side, Call direct if you have any meetings OR need group meetings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraswat80, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Vista Inn and Suites. We appreciate feedback from all our guests and we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable and satisfying stay. Thank you again for staying with us and giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was Springbreak and as anyone who wants to go to Busch Gardens but forgot to make reservations knows, you may have to head a bit more out to find a place.
However, that gave no right to the hotel for being 40 years out of date and having terrible beds. At the office the receptionist asked if you wanted a smoking or nonsmoking room. We said nonsmoking. Well, I guess she misunderstood us because as soon as we walked into the room the smell of cigar hit us. It was either cigar or stale air, and quite frankly, neither are appealing.
The only bright side was the iHop right next door to provide us a lOvely breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. We take great pride in trying to offer great guest satisfaction with their stay, but obviously we have failed during your stay. I am not sure what happened with the smoking and non-smoking rooms, but we do have specific non-smoking rooms, and obviously you did not receive one. We have a 100% satisfaction guaranteed policy at this property. I only wish that we had the opportunity to make your stay right for you when you were here. I hope that you will give us another chance in your next stay in our area. Thank you
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vista Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites

Address: 400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Inn & Suites of Tampa offers spacious guestrooms, a convenient location off I-275, and a sparkling outdoor pool. We are near many attractions, such as Busch Gardens, Lowery Park Zoo, MOSI, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn And Suites
Vista Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.