We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Vista Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
florida, usa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“New Years!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For the new year we wanted to mix it up and celebrate some where else! So we found our selves in Tampa. We decided we'd go to Skippers and stay at their recommended hotel Vista Inn & suites. The first thing I see is a crowded lobby room with one little man working. He was bewildered and complained about how he hasnt even been able to eat lunch yet. Once we got the key we headed towards the room. We are then welcomed by a group of rednecks having a pool side argument. Then we try getting into the room and the door is jammed shut!! We then had to walk all the way back to the crowded lobby & get a new room. Finally we get in so we can start getting ready for the night. We then realize there is not one towel in the room! Soooo we walked to the lobby again to get some & guess what?!?!? They give me a tiny little wash cloth and say that it is all they have. Disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    6
    7
    14
See reviews for
6
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Friendly though not sophistacated staff,Good comfortablerooms with beautifull courtyard.
Very close to place of business and easy to get to interstate .
rooms were clean though they could use some sophisticated decore.
Beds were comfortable and free internet wireless which works good
It has small meeting facility at reasonable price for family functions etc.

Room Tip: call direct to get good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As a traveling musician, my new motel ritual these days includes checking for bed bugs before even bringing my suitcase in the door. I checked my bed in Tampa after driving all day and not having much time before the gig and found a nice colony of bed bugs. I took them in a cup to the manager and he gave me a new room only to find the plumbing was backed up. The plumber and myself unclogged the previous mess and I had an hour to get ready for the gig. I checked under the new room mattress and found a dime bag of dope, which I left. Don't think I can recommend this hotel to anyone. Sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I knew the quality of this place was going to be low based on pictures on their own website but we just needed a cheap place to spend one night while visiting Tampa for a wedding. The man at the front desk was very nice but the lobby looked very old and run down and the other guests checking in seemed shady. Our room was pretty awful, first the door wouldn't open and it took us several tries and a lot of shoving to get it to open (or close). The room seemed clean at first but closer inspection revealed a filthy chair, hairs in the tub, dirt on the pillow cases and fuzz on the sheets. There were giant cracks in the ceiling, the light fixtures either had no coverings, dead light bulbs or both. There were dozens of tiny ants crawling around the sink, some sort of flying bug in one of the towels and during his shower my husband yelled about a bug in there. The walls are paper thin and at 2:30 in the night the next door guest woke us up by yelling briefly. Loud guests walking past the windows sounded like they were right in the room with us. The pillows were crappy and thin. The positives were it didn't smell bad, the air conditioner worked, no one broke in the room, we didn't get bed bugs, and the person I called there after leaving was very nice about (supposedly) checking the room to look for an item we thought we might have left there. I have learned my lesson and from now on will be paying much more than $44 a night for the comfort of a clean hotel that I actually feel safe in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I was pleased with the cleanliness of the room. Didnt have that typical musty hotel smell. Sheets were good. Staff was very friendly. Only issue I had was the door locking mechanism wasn't working properly but the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Vista Inn because we wanted to be close to USF for an event and other places were booked. Location-wise, we were pretty close - about 15 minutes away. On the plus side, the room was large and clean, the bed comfortable. Conveniently, there is an IHOP right across the parking lot. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. We used the refrigerator and were glad it was there. On the downside, the motel shows signs of age. Nothing worth calling the front desk about but the TV remote did not work, the smoke detector was hanging off the wall and I had to repair a light socket to get the light to come on. There were ants on the bathroom sink. We didn't need the AC, but it would have been noisy in the night if we had. In the future I'd prefer to be closer to USF but if chance took us here, unlike some other reviewers, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The employees had positive happy attitudes and were always willing and able to accommodate us at anytime. The front lobby is open 24 hours and there were a couple of times that my husband and myself needed assistance in the wee hours of the morning and the desk clerk and/or manager were always up there. There was never a time that we had to walk around or wait for someone to notice that we were standing there regardless of what time it was. The personnel are extremely professional and very respectful. We never had any issue's or negativity, not from the personnel, not for the rooms, and certainly, not for the property. We had a wonderful stay. We have actually stayed here in the past and we liked it then, however, some of the review feedback that I have read certainly needed to be addressed back then. I can honestly say that during the duration of our stay this time, I do believe that those items have been addressed because there is nothing to share indicating that our stay had any negative findings. The property is well lite at night and has sercurity camera's everywhere. I don't know about others, but that is an additional plus, especially in todays world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites

Address: 400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Inn & Suites of Tampa offers spacious guestrooms, a convenient location off I-275, and a sparkling outdoor pool. We are near many attractions, such as Busch Gardens, Lowery Park Zoo, MOSI, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Tampa
Vista Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.