We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Run- Down, But I've Stayed In Worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vista Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Vista Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Little Run- Down, But I've Stayed In Worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place has a FANTASTIC pool with lots of cabanas, seating, and little lizards running around. Loved it! The room, however, was a bit run-down. The recliner was dilapidated, the shower weak, and the carpets were threadbare. That said, I got what I paid for. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! I'm easy to please and the price was right, but I wouldn't recommend this place for a family vacation or a romantic weekend. Its best suited for people who aren't picky, are on a budget, and just need a place to sleep at night.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    6
    14
See reviews for
5
7
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Caney, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thought I was staying at the Quality Inn, but ended up being a Vista Inn.... upon checkin I asked for room w/ microwave and fridge, first room they gave me had fridge, no microwave, second room had microwave, no fridge, third room has microwave, fridge but no coffee pot....if you are going to advertise these items in the room, then they should be in the room, it was an inconvienence to have to continue to move from room to room and that the front desk did not even know what accodomations were even in the rooms, there is an inventory issue obviously. Upon entering the third room, had to kill a roach on the wall, first thing. Stayed 3 nights as I was there to work and couldn't keep searching for a hotel. The shower is very nasty, no towels on second night, had to request towels. Washing machines had only cold water. Dryers were out of service. Not a place to stay even if just working in construction, usually I am not picky, but this place is horrible. No breakfast, not even continental. $62 a night, totally worth paying more to get more elsewhere. Staff workers were helpful, but didn't have much to work with. This is totally a Managers responsibility/fault.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I booked an overnight stay beginning of September 2011 not knowing anything about the hotel or its neighborhood. Made the reservation on another major site but being I am not a member, I was not allowed to write a review. Checked in, took a nap, showered then went out for the evening. Arrived back at the room (123) around 1230am. At approximatley 230AM there was two huge thumping noise from the front door of the room, apparently someone was TRYING TO KICK DOWN THE DOOR. Phones in the room were not working and as far as I knew there were no secutiry. Had to call Hillsborough Co. Sherriff. Thank God the break in was unsuccessful, NEVER STAY HERE ever.

Room Tip: stay anyplace else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This motel was suppose to be "refurbished" but it was a typical 25 year old motel. The first room smelled like smoke, the second room had one roach on the wall. We slept okay and it was quiet, but next time will upgrade. This place is rather depressing. Worst thing, they copied my drivers license at check in. Hope that doesn't end up costing me!

Room Tip: Insist on non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, General Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We try to ensure that a non-smoking guest is assigned a non-smoking room and a smoking guest is assigned a smoking room. Unfortunately, occasionally guests do smoke in non-smoking rooms. Once we are notified or housekeeping discovers that a non-smoking room has been smoked in, we try our best to deep clean the room to remove any lingering smoke-related odors. Sometimes, it may take multiple treatments to get rid of the smoke odor and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We have also hired a nationally franchised pest control company to attend to our rooms. We do offer a 100% guarantee policy, and are happy to offer our guests a full refund if they are not satisfied with their stay at the Vista Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Arrived and when we got key to the room it wouldn't even work. A maintenance guy was right there and he had key and let us in. Room was completely trashed mattress was flipped up and drywall all over the floor someone completely destroyed the room. Got second key and and it worked buy door was jammed couldn't even get in to see it. Third room we finally got in and it wasn't nice. Smelled, Blanket on bed was gross and had stain, bathroom was disgusting and shower really sucked. Had to go get remote cause room didn't have one. Also went to get water and ice but ice machine was broken and vending machine for water was also out of service. Hole place was completely run down. Second night we just wanted to sleep and go catch flight in the morning. But at midnight group of people decided to party outside and be extremely loud through early morning. Worst hotel experience we have ever had anywhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Director of Operations Support at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We were in the process of renovating our guest rooms and apologize that because of our error, you were unfortunately assigned a guestroom that should have been out of service. We have upgraded our guestrooms, including but not limited to new bedding and new door locks, and are making improvements to ensure our guests have a more comfortable stay. In regards to excessive noise by guests outside your room, we again apologize and just wish you would have called the front desk so we could have taken appropriate steps to ensure you get a good night's sleep. We do offer a 100% guarantee policy, and are happy to offer our guests a full refund if they are not satisfied with their stay at the Vista Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

It was so bad, let me just list some of the experience: cheap and uncomfortable beds, roaches, mildew in the bath, paper thin walls, no hot water, disruptive partiers throwing bottles at our group, broken and smelly lobby toilets, torn bedding, loud freeway nearby. Planned on two nights and left after one. It's very cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdVantisCS, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
I would like to start by apologizing for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at the Vista Inn & Suites. Let me address the issues you had during your stay. Our property is conveniently located near I-275, which is a desirable aspect to many of our guests. The cinderblock construction of the hotel ensures you enjoy a peaceful stay. We would have been happy to relocate you to an alternate guestroom if you had any concerns about the noise level. To provide our guests with a safe and secure environment, we have security cameras installed throughout the property. You also mentioned that you were dissatisfied with the comfort level of the bedding as well as cleanliness. If you would have brought these issues to our attention we would have done our best to resolve these issues or would have been glad to issue you a refund. Here at the Vista Inn and Suites, customer satisfaction is our top priority and I apologize again for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Thanks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites

Address: 400 E. Bearss Ave., Tampa, FL 33613 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Inn & Suites of Tampa offers spacious guestrooms, a convenient location off I-275, and a sparkling outdoor pool. We are near many attractions, such as Busch Gardens, Lowery Park Zoo, MOSI, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Tampa
Vista Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.