We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very 'odd' experience.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 E. Dr Martin Luther King Blvd, Tampa, FL 33619   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Hollwood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very 'odd' experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

The manager was nice on the phone. Front desk staff, however..was not so nice. The young heavy set blond working the front desk couldn't be bothered with us..as she was too busy chatting with friends on her cell phone. She had her feet up on the counter, and didn't even acknowledge us..even after we stood there and waited a few minutes for her to finish. We finally had to interupt her, and she appeared annoyed. There was also a shirtless male sitting at the counter, who remained silent and watched the entire transaction as we checked in. Heavy set blond put her cell down temporarily to explain that check in was not for another hour at 4pm. We explained that 3pm was advertised as check in on their website, and that we had reservations. She still didn't care. She told us to come back at 4pm because the rooms were not clean yet.
We left and came back one hour later. She was still on the phone, and the shirtless male was still there at the desk. She told us that the rooms were still not ready, and I at that point asked to speak to the manager. Walla! The magic words! She took our credit card and swiped it twice. I asked her why she swiped it twice, and she told me that my credit card was the problem (it was new). Shirtless male watched over our shoulder as we checked in..creepy! We were given a noisy, dirty, room in the back by the freeway. The only good part was that we were able to park our car within view of our room. Toilet wouldn't flush and faucet leaked.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    8
    18
See reviews for
7
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somewhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Don't waste your money on this hotel. It is a dump!! No maid service for two days. Furniture looked like it came from a yard sale. Not clean at all. Best to stay somewhere else.

  • Disliked — Nasty!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Thought the hotel was priced good on-line, so i booked a queen size bedroom for 3/8/08. When we arrived it took a while to be waited on due to the employees chit chatting with each other. After getting our room we were upset to see a full size bed in our room, I had called the front desk and was told that was the biggest bed they had and it was considered a queen to them. Due to other hotels being booked we were stuck at the Master Inn. The room was not the cleaness and the small frig didn't work along with the tv remote. Our room was very very small, enough for a bed, tv and bathroom. If we had to do over again I would definately book at Red Roof or Laquinta Hotel. All of these hotels are right by the Hard Rock Casino.

  • Disliked — rooms not clean, employees talking to each instead of helping custumers
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

Is this Hell???
If your giggling then obviously your not getting the big pictures. Hello board of health do you exist? I am going to save you money and tell you (the public) to not waste your money .you would rather sleep in a trailer full of sheep . The smell is about the same and the hair and dirt yup...about the same. I stayed one night . One long, long , long night. Started out walking in the room with a stench that could knock a bull over. the furniture was peeling , really worn,stained and did I mention PEELING. The entire side panel of the tv stand/bureau was missing wood. Blankets: yellow traveling blankets with cigarette holes throughout. Maybe, the hotel thought it to be a great pattern but Yuck. The rugs: filty ,hairy and needs to be ripped up. The shower was clean however. This is not a personal insult this is the hard core truth. Reviews are just that and this hotel should be avoided. Atmosphere: well its right by the highway, people are loud and coming and going all hours of the night, cops showed up more than once . I compliment the staff. nice,appologetic and caring .

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a week. The front desk staff was pretty nice and very helpful. The room was an average low budget room but it was clean and we had adequate towels, etc. A portion of the hotel was being renovated at the time of our stay so there was a lot going on. There were also quite a few people that hung around in the parking lot during the evening. I would probably stay there again if I got another good deal like I got at the time I booked. It was tolerable.

  • Liked — The room was cheap and relatively comfortable.
  • Disliked — People hanging around in the parking lot.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Fl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

bed not made up two days in a row.

the comode leaked and ran all thru night.

maid was in room watching tv at 2:30 in afternoon when came in.

Not real neat.

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — rooms not neat--- didn't make beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormond beach, fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

We went to a concert at the Ford Amphitheatre. This hotel was close so we decided to stay there. We ignored the warnings about how awful it was. Believe the comments. The grounds had garbage and dog poop around it. It is a place where truckers and temporary workers stay by the week and are up all hours of the night. The rooms smelled and the showers were gross. Do not stay there.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

Address: 6626 E. Dr Martin Luther King Blvd, Tampa, FL 33619
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds 1.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Masters Hotel Tampa Fairgrounds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masters Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.