We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Personel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 158 hotels in Tampa
floirda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Personel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Came to Front Desk to check in, Woman was so Rude and so unfriendly. I was there on business with my company. She had the worst attitude and I explain to her that she didn't have to be rude, she snatched the Room key back out of my hand and said If I didn't like it to Leave. I was so Shocked in Silence. I said I needed my Room key back that Again I was here on Business, she threw the key card back at me accross the counter.
I proceed to ask her name and I was going to report her to her manager, she said she was the manager. However I called this morning and Spoke to Jeff Morgan the general Manager and she is just a front desk clerk. Although he did apologize for her actions, this is unacceptable for Customer Service.
This has been the most unpleasant experience with Hotel service I have ever experienced.
Her name in Annette McGraw

  • Liked — nothing First Impression is everything
  • Disliked — Front Desk Clerk Annette McGraw
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
26
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family and I were only staying a short period to visit other family members living in the Tampa area. On our second day we went to the beach in the afternoon and did not return until evening, only to discover money and other items missing. The staff seemed very unconcerned and the local authorites were called. The sheriff stated he had been to this hotel for issues in the past, one issue being theft. The room key when checked showed only the housekeeper entering the room during our absence. We checked out the next morning with the issue still being unresolved and the staff still seeming unconcerned. The hotel overall is very clean and close to Busch Gardens but as I have learned the staff is untrustworthy. I would have been better off keeping our purses and suitcases in the car. Be very careful when booking a reservation here.

  • Liked — Clean room.
  • Disliked — Untrustworthy staff.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed at this hotel after going to a concert across the street at Ford Amphitheater. It is literally right across the street and the traffic after the concert was a mess. It was nice to just walk across the street. The hotel is just average. They did have us booked in a room with one double bed and we had booked a room with two double beds, they blamed it on Orbitz. Not sure who's fault it was but they fixed it quickly. It is just average, the elevator is a bit scary (very small and OLD), the rooms were just average, clean at first glance but you could tell the room had not been vacuumed well after the last guests. The bathroom is small and we did not have enough towels. The beds were actually very comfortable though. All in all it was worth the money we spent ($88) and I would stay again if attending anything at the Fairgrounds.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Not so clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2005

The hotel is in terrible shape - all the rooms are old and not clean - the staff is very impolite and not helpful in any way. We did not get the room we requested and received not even an apology or empathy that it couldn't be changed

I would never stay at this hotel again - there's a holiday inn express and red roof inn next door and I intend to stay at either of those instead of the baymont on my next trip to the tampa fairgrounds

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Hotel looks nothing like picture on Expedia. Torn screens in the back. When I checked in I was given a room that smelled like cigars. I requested a change. The next room had a window that did not open and a sink with no plug. I took the 3rd room. The AC unit was dirty with salt spilled inside on the vents. The non slip pads in the tub were black. It is next to the highway but no restaurants are nearby - you have to drive 10 minutes to get to stores or food, other than the wing house next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2004

This hotel is awful! The lobby was very unkept. The floor was filthy.
The elevator was broken and even more disgusting than the floor! We asked for a nonsmoking room and walked in only to find a pack of cigarettes on the bed! This hotel needs some major maintenance! The sink leaked and the inside of the room door had hanging, shredded wood veneer! Needless to say, we did not end up staying at this hotel! While in the parking lot searching for another room at 10pm, we saw roaches crawling underneath the parked cars! To Baymont management: Please clean up this hotel! I will say that the manager on duty was very nice and very willing to give us a refund on the room!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds Hotel
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Tampa
Address: 4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#46 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located across the street from 1-800-ASK-GARY Amphitheatre and Expo Park (home of the Florida State Fair), the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds is the place to stay for fun in the sun. Our convenient location is perfect when visiting such area attractions as Busch Gardens, the Flo...see morerida Aquarium, Lowry Park Zoo, and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). We are only one mile from Hard Rock Seminole Casino and Walt Disney World is just over an hour. Enjoy many great area restaurants, and shopping at nearby Westfield Mall. Attending events at Raymond James Stadium and St. Pete Forum? Book your room here! For spacious, comfortable interior corridor rooms, stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds, where amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, iron /board, free local calls, and more. We have a guest laundry facility plus fax/copy services available at the front desk. Enjoy a tasty Free Bright Side BreakfastTM along with a USA Today in the lobby each morning. The hotel also offers a sparkling outdoor pool for your enjoyment. Businesses such as Roadmaster, and the University of South Florida and Tampa College are only 10 miles. We are eight miles north of downtown with easy access to I-4. Express checkout available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.