We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Richmond, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible stay!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family and I were only staying a short period to visit other family members living in the Tampa area. On our second day we went to the beach in the afternoon and did not return until evening, only to discover money and other items missing. The staff seemed very unconcerned and the local authorites were called. The sheriff stated he had been to this hotel for issues in the past, one issue being theft. The room key when checked showed only the housekeeper entering the room during our absence. We checked out the next morning with the issue still being unresolved and the staff still seeming unconcerned. The hotel overall is very clean and close to Busch Gardens but as I have learned the staff is untrustworthy. I would have been better off keeping our purses and suitcases in the car. Be very careful when booking a reservation here.

  • Liked — Clean room.
  • Disliked — Untrustworthy staff.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    21
    18
    13
See reviews for
46
38
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed at this hotel after going to a concert across the street at Ford Amphitheater. It is literally right across the street and the traffic after the concert was a mess. It was nice to just walk across the street. The hotel is just average. They did have us booked in a room with one double bed and we had booked a room with two double beds, they blamed it on Orbitz. Not sure who's fault it was but they fixed it quickly. It is just average, the elevator is a bit scary (very small and OLD), the rooms were just average, clean at first glance but you could tell the room had not been vacuumed well after the last guests. The bathroom is small and we did not have enough towels. The beds were actually very comfortable though. All in all it was worth the money we spent ($88) and I would stay again if attending anything at the Fairgrounds.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Not so clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2005

The hotel is in terrible shape - all the rooms are old and not clean - the staff is very impolite and not helpful in any way. We did not get the room we requested and received not even an apology or empathy that it couldn't be changed

I would never stay at this hotel again - there's a holiday inn express and red roof inn next door and I intend to stay at either of those instead of the baymont on my next trip to the tampa fairgrounds

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Hotel looks nothing like picture on Expedia. Torn screens in the back. When I checked in I was given a room that smelled like cigars. I requested a change. The next room had a window that did not open and a sink with no plug. I took the 3rd room. The AC unit was dirty with salt spilled inside on the vents. The non slip pads in the tub were black. It is next to the highway but no restaurants are nearby - you have to drive 10 minutes to get to stores or food, other than the wing house next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2004

This hotel is awful! The lobby was very unkept. The floor was filthy.
The elevator was broken and even more disgusting than the floor! We asked for a nonsmoking room and walked in only to find a pack of cigarettes on the bed! This hotel needs some major maintenance! The sink leaked and the inside of the room door had hanging, shredded wood veneer! Needless to say, we did not end up staying at this hotel! While in the parking lot searching for another room at 10pm, we saw roaches crawling underneath the parked cars! To Baymont management: Please clean up this hotel! I will say that the manager on duty was very nice and very willing to give us a refund on the room!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino

Address: 4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located across the street from Mid Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre and Expo Park (home of the Florida State Fair), the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino is the place to stay for fun in the sun. Our convenient location is perfect when visiting such area attractions as Busch Gardens, the Flo...see morerida Aquarium, Lowry Park Zoo, and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). We are only one mile from Hard Rock Seminole Casino and Walt Disney World is just over an hour. Enjoy many great area restaurants, and shopping at nearby Westfield Mall. Attending events at Raymond James Stadium and St. Pete Forum? Book your room here! For spacious, comfortable interior corridor rooms, stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino, where amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, iron /board, free local calls, and more. We have a guest laundry facility plus fax/copy services available at the front desk. Enjoy a tasty Free Bright Side BreakfastTM along with a USA Today in the lobby each morning. The hotel also offers a sparkling outdoor pool for your enjoyment. Businesses such as Roadmaster, and the University of South Florida and Tampa College are only 10 miles. We are eight miles north of downtown with easy access to I-4. Express checkout available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.