We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Getaway Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel was clean, and in a great location. Staff was very nice, room was good and the price was reasonable.. Will go there again. What else can I say. Breakfast was excellent. I got a discount with Triple AAA card and that was a plus.

Room Tip: First floor convenient. Close to breakfast room and car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
45
37
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night on our way down to Marco Island. Hotels were limited due to a concert in town, and the La Quinta had a room available. We paid a total of 94.00 for the night, but I later found a coupon in a Florida coupon book for $59 and on Expedia for 79. A fair price would be between $60-70. Let me explain:
Pros: new flat screen TV with movie channels, friendly personnel at front desk, location is near concerts and casino, sinks and mirror are separate from shower/toilet allowing one to put on makeup and fix hair while others shower. Bed is nice and comfortable if you like a harder mattress with soft pillow top. The room has a small refrigerator and microwave; a LIMITED continental breakfast is included in price. It was also quiet. We never used the pool, but did see it , for it is in a fenced area IN FRONT of the hotel. The parking area separates the hotel from the pool, so it is not private and very "public", almost feeling detached from the hotel. However, it did appear to be clean and well maintained.
CONS: Although we were in a nonsmoking room, our room (321) smelled like old wet cigarettes mixed with a musky smell. We actually bought some Fabreeze and sprayed it just to get by for the night. The carpet was wrinkled in one area and appeared stained. I literally hated the thought of walking on it barefooted. The furniture was old and chipped on the edges. No corner chair as the hote'l's pictures show . Just a large empty corner. The room appeared clean. I didn't find mold or dirty towels as others have stated; however, when I went to plug in my phone charger behind the dresser, I found an XL black jersey that had obviously fallen back there from the previous occupants and not discovered by housekeeping . Bathroom is VERY small and outdated . Plastic-like shower curtain and very little water pressure. You had to hold the toilet handle down for 10-12 seconds for it to flush all the way. The bathroom door was cracked and cut unevenly at the bottom.
In summary, this hotel might be OK for construction crews needing a place to rest when working out of town or a group of college kids on a limited budget coming to a concert for the night. I suggest booking on an online site than booking directly with La Quinta. Again, LaQuinta was higher, even though I specifically asked for their best available rate. As I stated in my opening description, you won't be disappointed if you know exactly what you're paying for . I have pictures to support my viewpoint and rating., but will need to upload them. Whether it's pricey or not is relative to one's expectations at a price. I felt that $94 was too high for a room with the attributes stated above, but others may feel it's fair for a 2 star hotel. You be the judge before you decide to book.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was great. Had to stay for a graduation located on the fairgrounds. Hotel was walking distance. Overall everything was good. Breakfast could have been better not much to chose from but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As good as it’s rated and better than it has to be! We were in Tampa for a Bruce Springsteen concert at the Fairgrounds and the location was as good as you could get. Good waffle breakfast, tho’ seating area is on the tight side,when it's busy, but still acceptable. Clean, well appointed room with comfortable bed and desk. Super friendly help in all aspects. Breakfast room under constant supervision during the busy time. No complaints and if you need to be that area, a definite do over. It's not the Four Seasons, nor the Four Seasons price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Grounds and staff were fine. Room was not clean. Seemed below average for a La Quinta. There are a few in the area that cost more and are likely better. There are a few close restaurants but the location feels almost rural. If you are going to the fairgrounds (I wasn't), this is an excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino

Address: 4811 US Highway 301 North, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located across the street from Mid Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre and Expo Park (home of the Florida State Fair), the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino is the place to stay for fun in the sun. Our convenient location is perfect when visiting such area attractions as Busch Gardens, the Flo...see morerida Aquarium, Lowry Park Zoo, and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). We are only one mile from Hard Rock Seminole Casino and Walt Disney World is just over an hour. Enjoy many great area restaurants, and shopping at nearby Westfield Mall. Attending events at Raymond James Stadium and St. Pete Forum? Book your room here! For spacious, comfortable interior corridor rooms, stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino, where amenities include free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, iron /board, free local calls, and more. We have a guest laundry facility plus fax/copy services available at the front desk. Enjoy a tasty Free Bright Side BreakfastTM along with a USA Today in the lobby each morning. The hotel also offers a sparkling outdoor pool for your enjoyment. Businesses such as Roadmaster, and the University of South Florida and Tampa College are only 10 miles. We are eight miles north of downtown with easy access to I-4. Express checkout available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa East Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.