We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5628 West Waters Avenue, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Fontana, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn due to an early flight departure, and it was close to the Tampa Bay Airport. I was greeted when I came in, and as I needed to return a rental car, the staff was very accomodating in getting a shuttle to pick me up. The room was clean, and comfortable and quiet, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    58
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
33
16
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ice machine on floor didn't work, outside door lock broken and could not use key, looked like computer in lobby was fine and just needed a password but during the renovation was told it wasn't connected (?). Could not call the hotel (repeatedly rang and no one answered), if was not prepaid with no refund would have cancelled it before going. Requested a non-smoking and non-pet room (allergies), and had to go through corporate to get the message through to the hotel, which didn't have it anyway and had to show them the corporate email telling them it was reserved as such. I can say breakfast was good, but only second Hampton I have stayed at as a HHonors member that I would not give a decent rating to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syechan, Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North), responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I always enjoy hearing from our guests-including areas of improvement. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than top notch and we're addressing your concerns with our staff. I have also spoken to our front office team about the misunderstanding regarding your room reservation so we can avoid missteps such as this in the future. The next time you have the chance to travel back to the area, I do hope that you will consider being our guest again so we can show you our improvements first-hand.

Kind regards,
Lisa Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was a great stay. We arrived in the morning, the front clerk was able to check us in as a complimentary service, so we didnt have to wait around. The room was super clean. Breakfast was good and healthy. I will stay there the next time I go to Tampa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel seemed clean and the staff was very friendly! Even though the water in the pool was freezing it was clean and the pool area was clean. Our bed was comfortable. The pillows seemed a little cheap but the room and bedding was clean. We didn't have any problems with noise. The breakfast was very nice. And seemed to have a lot to offer for a hotel breakfast. Even had a togo sack breakfast if you were in a hurry. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a recent trip to Tampa – what a wonderful experience! I’ve always had great stays at Hampton Inn and this one was no different. My room was spacious, clean and super comfortable. The bathroom was really nice too, with a huge shower w/ great water pressure. Free breakfast in the morning as well as free parking *and* free internet, what more can you ask for? Lots of breakfast options to choose from too, which is always a plus. Thank you Hampton Inn for always providing such great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was a little worried when we checked n and found the whole lobby area a construction site . They have completely gutted the lobby and look to be remodeling with the new Hampton Inn look and feel . They set up a temporal breakfast room and the food was actually pretty good . The rooms were a little dated but clean fresh and I would say well insulated from other rom noise . We chose this place because of the closeness to Busch Gardens , it's about 15 mins drive from the hotel . Note there is really oohing near to walk to to eat ( or a bar to drink) you will need to drive. Have to say the heat / ac units in the room were one of the quietest I have stayed in

Room Tip: Rom away from elevators or the noisy ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just came back from a soccer weekend there....the experience at the hotel was great. But I particularly want to thank a very special man for going the extra mile for me. His name is David Martinez. I had left the hotel around 6am to get coffee and gas; on way back to hotel a man on the street started to approach my car while I was at a stop light. Luckily I pulled away before he got to my car, but Mr. Martinez was behind me in the hotel van watching this happen. When I pulled into the parking lot, Mr. Martinez was waiting for me to walk in; making sure I was safe. What a gentleman! I was very touched by his concern and care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)

Address: 5628 West Waters Avenue, Tampa, FL 33634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expressway/Waters Avenue Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.