We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We then went onto another city and returned to the Marriott Waterside a few days later. The morning after our first night at the hotel we had some issues with noise. I won't get into the details because when we noted those issues to the front desk manager, they went out of their way to apologize and make things right with us. They graciously took our breakfast room service charge off of our bill, and upon our return a few days later, they upgraded us to a beautiful suite. Your great service begins from the moment you pull in front of the hotel: the valet parking staff is efficient and friendly, the front desk staff is welcoming and efficient, the hotel lobby is elegant and the rooms were very comfortable, clean and fresh. We paid only $135 per night, and in my book that is an excellent value for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    430
    129
    46
    30
See reviews for
186
249
58
646
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Booked this room with points as we were taking a cruise the following day. We knew it was on one of the channels off the bay but really had no other ideas of what the hotel was like. We were both beyond pleasantly surprised. The lobby is large and inviting with soaring preserved palm trees that stand 25 feet tall. At the rear of the property, large glass windows reveal the water and the marina lined with powerboats. There is ample outdoor seating in various venues, that all have views of the water and boardwalk.

The outdoor areas are well kept and well landscaped and evoke a tropical feel. The room was average in size but spotless and comfortable. We had wonderful views of the waterways. Some rooms have balconies and the outdoor pool is on the the third level.

Within walking distance on the boardwalk is the cruise port that has been built up to be a tourist destination, with attractions (aquarium), many restaurants, eateries, a movie theater and other shops. Service was prompt and friendly and overall we had an excellent experience. I would not hesitate to come back. It was the perfect place to jump start our Caribbean vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I always have a great time when I pick Marriott Hotels. This hotel is no exception. The staff is friendly and the cleanliness is top notched. the only downside to the restaurants (there are three) is that the Cafe is lacking in any charm. The sports bar/restaurant was really the place to be but the service was extremely slow. Outside the back of the hotel is the Riverwalk. It connects the Convention Center to the Channelside (eathing and shopping areas). The weather was beautiful so after sitting through a conference all day it was wonderful to be able to walk the Riverwalk. Outside the front of the hotel is the trolley stop. It seems very handy but with the weather being so perfect I choose to walk.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Awesome location-view from our window was incredible.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it was adequate. They did offer me a room on a higher floor when I checked in - I like higher floors - and I ended up on the top floor with a great view. The surrounding area is wonderful. The room was clean and the bathroom was small but adequate.

The front desk is polite but not very friendly. The bell staff was very friendly, as was the valet staff. For the price of the rooms, I wish the wireless internet was free.

I did have room service one evening and the salad and accompanying bread was very good. The conference facilities were large and very nice. The conference food was also pretty good. With better staffing and a more reasonable cost this could be a much better hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The food and service was wonderful. I ate from the cafe, Champions bar and Grille, banquet events for us and had room service. The rooms were clean and had in room coffee and tea. We had adjoining rooms when a unique design. I had the best French Onion Soup I had ever had from room service. The main eatery seemed to be closed for some reason. But I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Hotel has all the elegance at a lower price. Resturants, bar, pool area, etc. ALL first class. Washer/Dryers in hotel are FREE. Great views, great location. Staff is first rate and will go out of there way to accommodate you...so friendly. When in Tampa we will ALWAYS stay here! Thanks Marriott Staff for making our week with you the best!

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.