We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel/not a resort/limited dining” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Business hotel/not a resort/limited dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

If you are in downtown on business and are only in town for one night, this might be an ok hotel. It is right across the street from the arena and convention center. However, there are limited dining options in the hotel (sports bar and pricey waterside café). There is a Starbucks in the lobby, as well as a lobby bar that overlooks the marina. There really aren't that many restaurants within walking distance but there is a trolley that will take you to Ybor City but it stops running around 10 PM so you may end up taking a cab home if you have a late night. There aren't many options for reasonable eating for families. The rooftop pool does not seem kid friendly and the beaches are a long drive. In our opinion this is not a good choice for families. The lobby is a gorgeous design however it is not well maintained. We noticed that dirty glasses were left for hours. When we checked in there were at least ten dirty plastic cups and wine glasses on various tabletops and managers and servers walked by without attending to them or directing someone to clean them up. We tried to call down to have our car brought around but the line was not working. When we gave them our ticket they brought the wrong car to us. When we told them it was the wrong car they couldn't find our keys so we had to search through all the keys to find our set. No apology, no concern for our inconvenience. The hotel was not even half full, I cannot imagine how bad the service would be when they are busy.

Room Tip: ask to face the channel.
See more room tips
Green Features: this a green hotel, they do a good job. However, we were disappointed that they did not put any copies of the restaurant menus in the rooms for the guests to make dining decisions.
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Waterside. The issues you outlined are certainly well below our expectations, and your feedback provided will certainly assist in our efforts to take immediate action. I regret any lost time or inconvenience and extend an apology on behalf of our team. Please feel free to contact me directly should your travels bring you back to the Waterside, bill.heitzig@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    510
    148
    52
    32
See reviews for
221
291
65
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Waterside for business last week and was very pleasantly surprised. I typically stay at the Westshore location and did not realize I booked the wrong hotel until I arrived. What a pleasant mistake. Everything about this property is a step up from the Waterside hotel, the location, hotel, rooms, concierge lounge, were all a notch higher from the other place. The only downside is you are forced to pay $25/day for valet parking when there was onsite parking for free at the other location. All in all, this hotel is most certainly in the Tampa rotation going forward. One of the better US Marriott's that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Staying on business, this was a pleasant escape for a few hours. Incredible view over downtown and the water, the place felt very new and clean, and at the end of the day, Joyce, the host in the concierge lounge was very welcoming and attentive. Couldn't ask for much more during a business stop. This would be a great weekend destination for pleasure, too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights a few weeks ago. Overall, a very nice place to stay. If you want to be in downtown Tampa, this is a good location. Right on the Garrison Channel which flows into Hillsborough Bay so try to get a water view, looking south for nice views. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were way too soft for my taste. I had to use 2 just so my head wasn't level with the mattress. Quiet rooms. The valet's were awesome, very professional, friendly. Very responsive in getting our cars. Registration staff was helpful, friendly, approachable. Our room was on the 8th floor, double room suite. Very nice room with large balcony where we watched the boats sail or motor by. We ate at the Champions Sport Grill, which was above average but your usual sports bar food and drink. There's a Starbucks inside the hotel which opened at 6 am. The Waterside Grill we thought was a little overpriced but seemed to have a decent menu although we never ate there.
The Riverwalk is runs right outside the hotel so taking leisurely strolls along the channel was super convenient and fun. The trolley runs right near the hotel and for $5 you can purchase an all-day ticket to ride through downtown.
We didn't see a lot of children or child focused activities and there were a few parties going on but they weren't disruptive. The pool is great with a bar, amply room to lay or hang out, but it seemed like they closed early (the sun was still out), but I don't know what time.
All in all a very nice stay and hotel. A bit pricey for Aug in Tampa, but had a nice time. Recommended..

Room Tip: Channel view, facing south
See more room tips
Green Features: They respected their own policy and didn't replace towels that were still hanging up. Coming from a drought-stricken Cali, I respect businesses that conserve water and other resources.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

All the hotel staff and valet guys were awesome and very helpful!! They went above and beyond for our conference we had there. All of our doctors had a great stay! Housekeeping was also friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is lovely and offers great amenities, which of course are expected at a Marriott property. That being said, it's also important to have great staff. I want to commend Sudi at the front desk for the kind and gracious welcoming she gave my husband and myself when we arrived recently. We were a bit frazzled from driving through a tremendous rainstorm and just wanted to get to our room. Sudi assured us that all of our requests for our room would be handled (my husband can be quite picky). Within a few minutes of getting into our room Sudi called us just to make sure everything was to our liking. We saw Sudi a couple more times during our stay and she greeted us warmly and asked how we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything she could do for us. Sudi went above and beyond in our opinion and we truly appreciate her doing so! In addition to Sudi, we want to also thank the Bell Captain Brian. He offered outstanding customer service and was helpful in getting some logistics worked out with some family members who were delayed in arriving at the hotel. A big thank you to both Sudi and Brian!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The room are great with an excellent view ,the food is great especially the breakfast, and the service is awsome . But quite a distance from the beaches. great location if you are looking to spend your time in the downtown area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.