We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights a few weeks ago. Overall, a very nice place to stay. If you want to be in downtown Tampa, this is a good location. Right on the Garrison Channel which flows into Hillsborough Bay so try to get a water view, looking south for nice views. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were way too soft for my taste. I had to use 2 just so my head wasn't level with the mattress. Quiet rooms. The valet's were awesome, very professional, friendly. Very responsive in getting our cars. Registration staff was helpful, friendly, approachable. Our room was on the 8th floor, double room suite. Very nice room with large balcony where we watched the boats sail or motor by. We ate at the Champions Sport Grill, which was above average but your usual sports bar food and drink. There's a Starbucks inside the hotel which opened at 6 am. The Waterside Grill we thought was a little overpriced but seemed to have a decent menu although we never ate there.
The Riverwalk is runs right outside the hotel so taking leisurely strolls along the channel was super convenient and fun. The trolley runs right near the hotel and for $5 you can purchase an all-day ticket to ride through downtown.
We didn't see a lot of children or child focused activities and there were a few parties going on but they weren't disruptive. The pool is great with a bar, amply room to lay or hang out, but it seemed like they closed early (the sun was still out), but I don't know what time.
All in all a very nice stay and hotel. A bit pricey for Aug in Tampa, but had a nice time. Recommended..

Room Tip: Channel view, facing south
See more room tips
Green Features: They respected their own policy and didn't replace towels that were still hanging up. Coming from a drought-stricken Cali, I respect businesses that conserve water and other resources.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    451
    132
    46
    30
See reviews for
193
265
60
660
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

All the hotel staff and valet guys were awesome and very helpful!! They went above and beyond for our conference we had there. All of our doctors had a great stay! Housekeeping was also friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is lovely and offers great amenities, which of course are expected at a Marriott property. That being said, it's also important to have great staff. I want to commend Sudi at the front desk for the kind and gracious welcoming she gave my husband and myself when we arrived recently. We were a bit frazzled from driving through a tremendous rainstorm and just wanted to get to our room. Sudi assured us that all of our requests for our room would be handled (my husband can be quite picky). Within a few minutes of getting into our room Sudi called us just to make sure everything was to our liking. We saw Sudi a couple more times during our stay and she greeted us warmly and asked how we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything she could do for us. Sudi went above and beyond in our opinion and we truly appreciate her doing so! In addition to Sudi, we want to also thank the Bell Captain Brian. He offered outstanding customer service and was helpful in getting some logistics worked out with some family members who were delayed in arriving at the hotel. A big thank you to both Sudi and Brian!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The room are great with an excellent view ,the food is great especially the breakfast, and the service is awsome . But quite a distance from the beaches. great location if you are looking to spend your time in the downtown area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Waterside because of a 48 hour special rate on the Marriott website. This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a great location. As to be expected with a full service hotel, they have about everything you need on location.

The staff at this hotel is top notch. When I checked in I was immediately offered a bottle of water and was asked several questions about my room and comfort preferences. She offered me a free upgrade to a room overlooking the water which was an awesome gesture. The view from the room was spectacular, especially first thing in the morning. I wish I remembered this staff members name because she is worth recognizing.

My room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. I especially appreciated the spaciousness of the bathroom.

The valet parking was $24 so I decided to park a block away and walk. I had one small bag so it wasn't that big a deal.

The location is very close to the St. Pete Times Forum and convention center if you are town for an event at either of those venues.

I would stay at this hotel every time I'm in Tampa if I got the special rate I received this time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is located right on the water (as the name indicates). It is also right at a trolley stop and across from the Tampa Convention Center making it in the perfect location. The lobby, outside area and pool were very nice and beautifully decorated. The rooms were nice but basically your average hotel room. . .nothing outstanding or special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us about your experience, and for sharing great information regarding our location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels call for the Tampa area. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The stay was perfect from the time I dropped off my car to leaving. Carl in Concierge was great and very attentive. The bellman gave me simple and quick directions on on how to get out of downtown Tampa. My view of the water was really nice .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.