We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - with status” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Golden, Colorado
1 review
“Great place to stay - with status”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The best thing I experienced was the Concierge Lounge at this hotel. The service in the morning by Carl Fuller, Jr was attentive and courteous. The service in the evening by Joyce Williams was phenomenal - she was so cheerful that her happy nature was contageous. Also, the Housekeeper, Mayra, who cared for my room left a nice note and was very friendly when I had a chance to meet her face-to-face.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the employees who made your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    430
    129
    46
    30
See reviews for
186
249
58
646
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I just stayed here for a conference. When I checked in the front desk told me i had two choices. One was a room next to the elevator bank (noisy) and the other one had two beds. I took the two bed option and the room was decent. I am Marriott gold and expected that they were taking care of me.

I found out from other co-workers who rarely travel and have no status with Marriott that they received much nicer rooms than I did. So I guess they don't really look to take care of frequent travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I would like to apologize for our inability to acknowledge your elite status. Please know that this is our priority. I have addressed this with our Front Desk Leadership Team. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a Lifetime Platinum member with Marriott Rewards, I get many chances to see various different Concierge lounges around the world. This is my first trip to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, and I was not disappointed.

Albeit a bit small, it has an outdoor patio, which I just loved for having my breakfast -- a breakfast that incidentally was rather unique in that it didn't just include the standard scrambled eggs fare, but rather a different frittata every morning.

And Carl Fuller, Jr., who is responsible for the lounge was always "on it", very friendly and made sure the lounge was in impeccable shape.

Kudos!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and for recognizing Carl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff and service were very accommodating with an exceptional attitude. I had the pleasure of using the Concierge Lounge for breakfast each morning. The host, Carl Fuller Jr. was exceptional.
I would highly recommend this location to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your posting and for recommending us to friends and colleagues. We were pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hubby loves this place and stays here a lot. Public areas are pretty and it's walking distance to convention center. The "luxury suites"? Not so luxurious. I don't find Murphy beds comfortable to sleep on ever, so unless you book an adjacent regular bedroom, you will be sleeping on that. Maid service was not so good. Upon entering the room, I noticed that some of the bric-a-brac, of which there is way too much, btw, talk about over decorated--not recommended for small kids--was damaged and dirty. There were hairpins on the dining area floor. There were dirty tissues under the sofa bed. The inside of the murphy bed was dusty and smelly. The bathroom wallpaper was moist with a slick/sticky residue. The cleaning lady had the nerve to ask us every morning when we would be leaving so she could clean. Hair pins and tissues were still on the floor when we got back.

Note to management: What is up with all these feathers? Why, in a sunny clime, do we have to sleep on top of a featherbed and under a feather comforter?? I had to strip the bed down because not only am I allergic, I can't stand to "sleep hot". And on a Murphy bed no less? How claustrophobic!

Because we're Platinum level we had access to the concierge lounge, which was lovely for breakfast and for dessert after dinner.

Overall, if your company pays for it great, but otherwise it's not worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a real suite get a corner suite PLUS an extra bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. I was very sorry to see that we feel short of your expectations. Please know that I have shared this feedback with our Front Desk Team, so that they are taking the time to properly describe this room type to all arriving customers. Additionally, I have personally shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Team. Thank you for this opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service at the Concierge lounge by Corl Fumer, Jr. was just excellent. It was nice to be able to go there and just relax, as the service was great, which allowed you to de-stress. The place was clean, stacked full of soda and water to drink. View up there is excellent as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott and for taking the time to share your positive experience with regards to the Concierge Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'm a regular Marriott guest. This was a quick stopover, and a great experience. One of the nicest Marriott's I've seen, and everyone on the staff was great. Carl in the Concierge Lounge was especially efficient in the morning handling the rush. Even the hotel phone operators had great attitudes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for positive comments; we were pleased that your stay was fantastic. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.