We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Timmins
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 5 nights for a conference. From arrival to departure the staff and management were found to be friendly, courteous, attentive, professional and knowledgeable. The valets were dressed professionally, polite and were very efficient. Thanks Duncan for all your assistance, my retail therapy added some weight to my luggage.The grounds with all the lush vegetation and outdoor dining and restaurant areas are clean and very attractive with beautiful night time lighting. We enjoyed sitting at the patio bar watching the personal watercraft cruise by. The hotel is connected to the Tampa Riverwalk, a pedestrian walkway which is along the Hillsborough River. The lobby is gorgeous, beautifully decorated with a continuous supply of lemon/lime water available for guests. The front desk staff upon arrival were courteous and welcoming. Our room was not quite ready (we arrived early), but arrangements were made to prepare our room and by the time returned from our lunch our room was ready. We had a very nice room on the 24th floor which had an outside terrace the same size as our room. Dee Dee, our housekeeper kept our room sparkling and left handwritten notes and chocolates. Two nice wrought iron tables with chairs were there for us to enjoy the beautiful view of Hillsborough and Tampa Bay. The sunrise and sunsets were amazing from the terrace. The meeting and conference rooms were very nice with comfortable seating. We certainly enjoyed the pool and kudos go out to Bruce who looks after everyone's needs at the pool and provided us with great information about the area. A very clean pool and deck! The drinks were nice and cold, thanks Jack and Brian. Julie and Judy from the Spa were very personable, and I thoroughly enjoyed my reflexology treatment and manicure. Thank you for the Mimosa ladies! Our favourite restaurant was the Waterside Grill, all staff were nice, food selection was good and all meals were very good. My favourite was the Cedar Key Clam Chowder. Kristina gave us valuable information on the streetcar and how the area had changed in the last 4-5 years. We also enjoyed the concierge club and I unfortunately forget the name of the nice attendant who worked in the evening, but she made sure everyone had everything they needed, even if we were a few minutes late, she brought us out the cheese plate. Lastly, I need to say that we heard a lot about the Marriott Waterside from the staff, they all seem very happy with their employer and it truly reflects in their work and treatment of guests. I don't think we've experienced hotel staff like that before, absolutely no complaints about this hotel or it's staff. We plan on returning to Tampa for a personal holiday and we will definitely book with the Marriott Waterside and room 2401.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

He attanded conference at hotel and I enjoyed the pool. Everyone was so hospitable and accomodating. Jack, Brian and Bruce kept the pool hopping. Amanda was very helpful when I was picking out sourvenirs. And Fay found us a great place to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As you may expect from its name, the Tampa Waterside Marriott literally sits on the Tampa waterfront, and in the middle of the largest city along the Western coast of Florida. During sunset, you can see great views of the sinking colors over the water and marina if you get a room that overlooks the water and not the city side.

I have stayed here several times over the past 4 years and even though this has to be one of the largest Marriott hotels in the Sunshine state, a towering skyscraper really, the staff always acts professional, attentive and courteous.

Even though you might be one of out of a couple hundred guests when you stay in this hotel, I have always felt as I have been treated in a genuine and friendly manner.

The cleaning service attendants leave you innocuous hand-written notes with smiley faces on them, which I like, and the valet guys are always polite and offer great directions to the airport.

It is right next door to the convention center and a short distance to running paths and parks along the water. It also has a large gym facility, spa and pool which are open, if i am not mistaken, around the clock.

There are great restaurants like Berns steak house, and Spain Restaurant, nearby and other central Tampa sites.

Despite its size, book in advance, because it does tend to fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor that over looks the waterfront not the city view. The concierge lounge is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a weekend to go to the football game. Hotel is not close to stadium but well worth the bit of travel. Everything was superb from the beds to the restaurants and the views. It is also the hotel the Saints stat in and getting autographs were an extra bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had the best massage in my life in this spa. My therapist was Julie, she makes excellent work. Already when you meet her, you feel very comfortable, because of her friendliness and her welcom smile in her face. During massage I could completely relax, it felt like she has magic hands! Really Julie is a great therapist.
Also when you walk in the spa, Trinn at the front desk is very friendly and helpfull! The spa is big, clean and nice decorated. You will definately enjoy your time in this spa!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

No real complaints about this stay except for the prices. I live in Washington, DC so I'm used to inflated prices, and I guess I just expected things to be more affordable at a Marriott in Tampa, FL. $16 for a glass of wine, $15 for a bowl of yogurt, possibly the only hotel I've stayed at in 3 years that does not offer free wifi (included if you are a member), $22/day for valet. Plus tax. Plus tip.

All of that aside, if money is no object for you then this is a lovely hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the hallways are quiet, the gym is one of the larger I've seen at a hotel with both water and towels stocked. We received an upgrade based on our Marriott status for a waterfront room. All of the staff were very nice and helpful and I would generally recommend, though you could probably do better for the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cancemini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the grand entrance way, to the water view and Cosmos at the bar there was everything needed to help make the night enjoyable. Eric Wallace even added to the comfort by delivering me a taste of home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We were pleased that you had an enjoyable night and that we were able to deliver you a taste of home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#22 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Epicurean Hotel
#5 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing