We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful including the reservations operator, front desk, restaurant staff, and housekeeping. We arrived at the hotel at 7am after an all night flight. To our delight our room was ready for us! During our stay, our room had a plumbing problem. Rather than making us deal with the problem, the front desk immediately upgraded us to a better room, without argument or hesitation.

Our room was clean and had the standard Marriott décor, including a comfy bed. There’s a nice pool, spa and decent exercise area. There’s a large outside seating area which is set up with two large flat screen TVs and is serviced by the lobby bar. The indoor sports bar has several large screen TVs, serves pub food and can be lively. There’s also a grill with outdoor seating and formal dining in the hotel.

The hotel is 20 minutes from the airport and is conveniently located to just about everything in central Tampa. Jackson’s and Hattrick’s are close by. The convention center and hockey sports arena are across the street. The hotel is within walking distance to the cruise ships, aquarium and the Channelside entertainment area. There’s a trolley stop across the street which takes you to these locations and Ybor city.

I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again on our next visit to Tampa.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly when making reservations with special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and for commenting on how exceptionally friendly the staff is. We were sorry to see that you had a plumbing problem, however pleased that front desk responded to your satisfaction. Thank you for your business and for your willingness to stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    399
    121
    45
    29
See reviews for
175
233
53
587
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very open, spacious property backing up to the waterfront. The lobby is large, airy and comfortable, the rooms clean, immaculately maintained and very well equipped. In the evenings, the back patio is a great place to relax with drinks. The fitness center is equipped with very high-end machines, and the pool area is kept clean and well maintained. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Inquire about rooms with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for commenting on how clean and well maintained the hotel is. Much like you, we find the back patio to be one of the nicest places to relax in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I visit about every 5 or 6 weeks for a relaxing weekend. We have yet to be disappointed in anything. From accommodations, service, food, the SPA, the SPA, did I mention the SPA?

We are on a first name basis with people in all areas of responsibility at this property.

Bill Heitzig, the resident manager makes sure that every guest is satisfied. The Food and Beverage folks are outstanding from Scott Fink (the manager) to Neil, Rich (outstanding chef), challenge Rich with any dietary or culinary requests and he will out perform your expectations.

Several of the Servers are top notch as well, James in the Italian restaurant, Jennifer in Waterside Cafe.

Mort will keep your drinks fresh and take great care of you in the lobby bar, as will Jack poolside.

The Spa staff are terrific. Rhonda and Denise provide some of the best services I have ever experienced, Nancy keeps the appointment book and if your time is not available when you make a reservation she will work until the last minute to make adjustments when other people cancel and she can move the schedule around. This last weekend I received a call as I was pulling into the check in area in front of the hotel.

Housekeeping and sanitation staff always seem to be left out of these reviews. They are the unseen folks who make sure that this location is spotless and rooms are clean and comfortable. This past weekend Jessica was taking care of our room, very nice job Lady! Thank you!

And then there is Elvis, yes Elvis I noticed! This man keeps the lobby area clean and always has a smile and nice word to share!

In case you have figured it out, yet, I adore this location and will continue to visit again and again.

Mary, you have a great staff from the top on down!

Room Tip: Book a waterview balcony! Request a corner room, the view is great regardless of which end of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for taking the time to acknowledge our associates. We are looking forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on s Saturday night. Requested early check in, which we got. Valet parking is included in the package and we were able to stay parked the whole weekend because there is so much to do within walking distance of the hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the port and we were able to watch the cruise ships leave. Breakfast was also included and was great! The late checkout was also a major plus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Mnager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. We were pleased that you enjoyed all that the romance package has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night after arriving in Tampa. Staff were great and very helpful and friendly. Front desk upgraded us to a water view room for no reason whatsoever. She asked whether we wanted one bed or two and we just asked for whatever is better. See photos for some great views. Great location too. Easy walk to the convention center and a cool little outdoor bar situated in the middle of everything. Very pleased with our stay, although a bit pricey compared with the Embassy Suites next door. Overnight valet parking also quite expensive. Otherwise, no complaints!

Room Tip: Floor 25 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our wonderful staff. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights last week. The hotel is beautiful w/ a Huge lobby, and is located in the heart of Tampa. We were glad to be given a room on the 21st floor over looking the water. It was really nice and relaxing to have a gorgeous view like that. We had room-service as well and the food was really good. However, the only thing I didn't give this stay 5 stars is because of the Valet Parking. The two nights that I stayed there the valets are outnumbered. I felt bad for those Valets who were trying their best to get everything done. At one point, there were about 15 cars at the outside lobby waiting to be valet. It wasn't really a nice setting but hopefully management will find a way to make things work. But overall it was a great stay.

I would also like to add that when we arrive in our room after check-in I notice a note from one of the housekeepers(named TONYA), welcoming us into the hotel and wishing for a great stay. It was very thoughtful. And thank you Tonya, for making our room clean and comfy. It was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback and for your kind words about the hotel. Tonya was excited to see her name mentioned. Additionally, I want to reassure you that I have shared your feedback with our valet leadership team. Moving forward, I will be monitoring their staffing levels more closely. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in a suite that had a nice big living space, a balcony, big bed, awesome shower and kitchen. Everything was clean and comfy. We ate outside at the cafe on site, our waitress was so nice, food was delicious and sitting by the water made for such a nice atmosphere. Also, there was a full service Starbucks across the street we could walk to! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on how clean and comfy the hotel is. The Café team was pleased to see your comments about the service and food. Should your travels bring you back to the hotel in the future please know that we also have Starbucks available in the lobby. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.