We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night after arriving in Tampa. Staff were great and very helpful and friendly. Front desk upgraded us to a water view room for no reason whatsoever. She asked whether we wanted one bed or two and we just asked for whatever is better. See photos for some great views. Great location too. Easy walk to the convention center and a cool little outdoor bar situated in the middle of everything. Very pleased with our stay, although a bit pricey compared with the Embassy Suites next door. Overnight valet parking also quite expensive. Otherwise, no complaints!

Room Tip: Floor 25 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our wonderful staff. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    398
    121
    45
    29
See reviews for
174
233
53
585
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights last week. The hotel is beautiful w/ a Huge lobby, and is located in the heart of Tampa. We were glad to be given a room on the 21st floor over looking the water. It was really nice and relaxing to have a gorgeous view like that. We had room-service as well and the food was really good. However, the only thing I didn't give this stay 5 stars is because of the Valet Parking. The two nights that I stayed there the valets are outnumbered. I felt bad for those Valets who were trying their best to get everything done. At one point, there were about 15 cars at the outside lobby waiting to be valet. It wasn't really a nice setting but hopefully management will find a way to make things work. But overall it was a great stay.

I would also like to add that when we arrive in our room after check-in I notice a note from one of the housekeepers(named TONYA), welcoming us into the hotel and wishing for a great stay. It was very thoughtful. And thank you Tonya, for making our room clean and comfy. It was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback and for your kind words about the hotel. Tonya was excited to see her name mentioned. Additionally, I want to reassure you that I have shared your feedback with our valet leadership team. Moving forward, I will be monitoring their staffing levels more closely. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in a suite that had a nice big living space, a balcony, big bed, awesome shower and kitchen. Everything was clean and comfy. We ate outside at the cafe on site, our waitress was so nice, food was delicious and sitting by the water made for such a nice atmosphere. Also, there was a full service Starbucks across the street we could walk to! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for commenting on how clean and comfy the hotel is. The Café team was pleased to see your comments about the service and food. Should your travels bring you back to the hotel in the future please know that we also have Starbucks available in the lobby. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have a very pleasant stay at this property recently. It appears the slow valet parking issue mentioned in several past posts has been solved.

We received a ticket from the valet in less than a minute, even with 2 cars ahead of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for comments regarding the valet service. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I travel weekly for business and I am one tough customer to please but I have to say that I was uber impressed with this hotel. Yes, the valet service is a little pricey at $22 but I had no trouble. Yes, the internet was $9.95/day but it worked with no issues. The front desk staff was absolutely outstanding! Quick and responsive. My room was terrific. It was a room I would expect from Marriott but what made it incredible was the view. There is so much to look at over the waterway! There is a Champions sports bar downstairs which was great and reasonably priced. I recommend the Acai Lemonade. (for adults only). The housekeeping staff was very friendly and professional. I'll definitely be back to visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments about the front desk and housekeeping teams. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has great guest care and is committed to excellence. I was treated so well from every aspect and would have no hesitation in recommending a stay to anyone.

I also enjoyed the excellent food in the Il terrazzo restaurant. The buffet breakfast is also very good.

Great location - great staff!

Room Tip: Waterside view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. Everyone in the hotel was pleased to see your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Marriott Waterside for my daughters graduation from USF. We were able to get a USF special rate for the rooms.
When we arrived we expected the $22.00 per day parking charge as stated by earlier reviews. The attendants were very helpful and courteous and stated that if we did not want to pay the parking fee, we could park across the street for $9.00, which is a very short walk. We decided to stay with the valet for such a special occasion.
a short walk to the front desk where we were checked in by Jacob, a very helpful young man. He checked our rooms and stated they weren't ready yet, which was disconcerting as we had rented three rooms and scheduled early check in.
Jacob upgraded us from city rooms partial view rooms to 26th floor water view rooms and was immediately able to check if you go there our whole party in. Hats off to Jacob.
The rooms were nicely done, with awesome views all the way to the ocean.
The grounds were nicely done, although they were being upgraded.
The Tampa river walk out back was great for jogging and walking and you could ride a bike if you wanted to.
Friday yielded a live band a short walk under a bridge, and if you go there on the walk go over the bridge and experience the live music and great Italian food an atmosphere of the eating establishment, "That’s Amore" where you will probably meet the owner and Chef.

Room Tip: Back side rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for commenting on how accommodating Jacob was. I will personally recognize him. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.