We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from upper floors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great views from upper floors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Marriott Waterside for my daughters graduation from USF. We were able to get a USF special rate for the rooms.
When we arrived we expected the $22.00 per day parking charge as stated by earlier reviews. The attendants were very helpful and courteous and stated that if we did not want to pay the parking fee, we could park across the street for $9.00, which is a very short walk. We decided to stay with the valet for such a special occasion.
a short walk to the front desk where we were checked in by Jacob, a very helpful young man. He checked our rooms and stated they weren't ready yet, which was disconcerting as we had rented three rooms and scheduled early check in.
Jacob upgraded us from city rooms partial view rooms to 26th floor water view rooms and was immediately able to check if you go there our whole party in. Hats off to Jacob.
The rooms were nicely done, with awesome views all the way to the ocean.
The grounds were nicely done, although they were being upgraded.
The Tampa river walk out back was great for jogging and walking and you could ride a bike if you wanted to.
Friday yielded a live band a short walk under a bridge, and if you go there on the walk go over the bridge and experience the live music and great Italian food an atmosphere of the eating establishment, "That’s Amore" where you will probably meet the owner and Chef.

Room Tip: Back side rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for commenting on how accommodating Jacob was. I will personally recognize him. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    504
    145
    52
    30
See reviews for
213
287
64
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel twice, once as part of a business meeting due to its location near the convention center and then came back to go to a concert in Tampa. Both times the staff was great (the valet parkers are terrific too) and the room we were given was large and well appointed. I do not know how many rooms have a balcony but definitely ask for one as you can see the port and other views of Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony - the view of the water is unexpected and a perfect place for a glass of wine to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for your loyalty to our hotel. We would very much like to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel for my Bachelor Party and all the Guys Loved it. You can always count on Marriott both for service and a quality product. The rooms were great but was sticks out more than anything is the Pool area. It's a large pool with a great bar and even the locals come over to enjoy a pool day. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a water/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your posting. We were pleased to see that your bachelor party was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonhope
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good location for business meetings
Catering and food are wonderful and the food at breaks is creative and interesting. They even catered to our groups special food needs- Howie was just great. The meeting rooms were quite nice and the AV staff always available. We had an evening meeting and the guy on staff stayed just to make double sure everything worked- wish I could remember his name! The staff here are remarkable. Upon arrival my Rewards number was not on the group reservation, so my preference for no feather bedding was not noted (allergic), but housekeeping had apparently left for the evening. It was 9:30pm. So...the front counter attendant Ricardo shows up at my door and makes my bed with all new linens. Awesome. Also my tv was not working, but in less than 5 minutes from a call downstairs, the repairman was at my door. I thought they had him standing in the hall it was so quick. Sooo...I have give them an A-PLUS on service. All hotels occasionally have hiccups, but it is how they handle them that makes the difference. The hotel sits waterside at the marina with some excellent views. The Tampa convention center is right beside the hotel. There is a very nice boardwalk to take a stroll by the marina when you have breaks. The rooms were clean with typical upscale Marriott styling. I used the concierge lounge for breakfast and it was well stocked and had nice city views with both indoor and outdoor seating. There is a Starbucks and small gift shop in the lobby. One night we went to dinner at a nearby local restaurant called Columbia- wonderful. It is a short 5 min drive. The airport is 15-20 minutes away without traffic and they have a fixed fair rate mandated by the city of $25 plus tip. This covers any location from the airport within the city limits, so the taxis do not run the meter.

Room Tip: Choose a waterside marina room on a slightly higher level up to have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has a great location, right across from the Forum and lots of restaurants. This is my second stay, service was very good- food in the restaurants very good. Room clean, spacious. If you don't want to walk anywhere hangout outside by the fire pit and look at the water. They have their own garden and use the fresh vegetables in their restaurant which I love, love, love!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The professionalism at this establishment is among the best we have ever experienced... Every and I mean EVERY staff member goes out of their way to greet you with a smile and to ensure your stay is pleasant.

The hotel is beautiful, the accommodations are above par, the hotel pool and deck area is amazing you would swear you were spending the day somewhere exotic.

We stayed in a King Suite and it was just amazing... Beautifully decorated, very comfortable, and never heard a sound any where around us. Very relaxing!!!

A true GEM!!!

Thank you to the Fine Staff,

LTC Mike and Danielle Price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We found this place at
1am after checking out of the sailport hotel that same day! This place is amazing. Gorgeous!!! Very clean,modern,
Convinient and family friendly! The room, the service, the pool everything was just perfect! They're bed linen is amazing hight thread Count which is what I like to sleep in. Not to many hotels have this. The view of the marina from our room was AMAZINg! It looks even nicer at night with all the lights!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.