We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act A1 service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Class Act A1 service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to check out the hospitality of the entire staff was amazing. Valet, bellman, front desk staff, and especially Shayla, the server in the lobby.
I would have rated cleanliness of the room higher however there was hair (pet peeve) throughout the bathroom. Not mine. Ugh!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the positive remarks about our service. Shayla was excited to hear them. I would like to apologize for the lack of cleanliness with your room. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Leadership Team. Thank you for your business and for the opportunity to improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    367
    113
    43
    29
See reviews for
144
204
51
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a concert. The location is great. You are a block away from the Tampa Bay Times Forum. The hotel is very clean, very nice and very welcoming staff. The only inconvenience is that the restaurants are not open all day except for the sports bar. Room service was great, but very expensive. We would stay here again when attending a concert next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments with regards to our welcoming staff, and the hotels cleanliness. I was very sorry to learn that you were not able to enjoy the food and beverage outlets in the hotel. We will certainly review what outlets need to remain open at the hotel particularly during events at the Times Forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Rooms were nice. However, some staff lacked a little. I was staying at this location for a week, so I asked for a refrigerator. We then went to the grocery to stock up on breakfast and snack items to put in it. When we got back, no refrigerator. I called again and was told they would not enter the room if we weren't there (what?? housekeeping does it every day, other hotels do it??). We apologized, said we didn't realize, and asked for it to be delivered. Another 30 minutes, no delivery. So, husband goes to get ice, and lo and behold, what is outside the door, but the NASTIEST refrigerator ever! It was filthy and smelled horrible. I cleaned it well and used it, but I did not ask for anything else, and given a choice, I will not stay here again. Too pricy, plus valet parking only at a neighboring location, for the lack of service.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for what you experienced and reassure you that I have shared your feedback with the relevant individuals so these issues can be addressed. Should you decide to return to our hotel, please contact me directly at bill.heitzig@marriott.com so that I can ensure your stay is a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very efficient and friendly service from everyone. Loved the sports bar for watching the Belmont. Room was spacious with great views. Just can't get over the daily Internet charge. My husband and I needed to print an e mail for meeting we were attending. The cost of using a business center computer/printer was ridiculous.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on how friendly our staff is. We are currently reviewing the addition of complimentary computers with internet access in our lobby. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port orange
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was the closet hotel to the Forum. Just walk across the street, through the well lit parking lot and you are there! The hotel was very nice. $22.00 for valet parking. Very crowded with concert attendees. Hard to catch an elevator after the concert. The bar that served food had a waiting list so we sat in the lobby and was served our dinner there. The room was big and clean. The pool was on the third floor and quite large. It wasn't heated, though. Plenty of places to sit. It was an excellent stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. We were pleased that you had an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Came here for a Conference. Beautiful lobby area - comfortable and plenty of room for working on a laptop (free wi-fi available ONLY in the lobby) or meeting with friends. Right next to trolley stop that will take you to many locations for shopping & eating. HUGE outdoor pool - very clean and nice. I agree with another reviewer that we were surprised that we were forced to use valet service (we needed our car every day and hadn't planned on that much tipping). I also can't believe when huge hotels like this charge $15 / day for internet service.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room overlooking the bay!! Beautiful. Right next to the elevators but only heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please know that there is self-parking located within the vicinity of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice attractive lobby and welcoming staff. Room was comfortable and roomy. When I tried to call the front desk I was on the phone for 3 minutes with no answer. The only location to pick up was the valet and they did not know where the exercise room was located. When I went to workout room the water holder had no cups and no one was around to help.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about the hotel and staff. I would like to apologize for the delay with the telephone. Moving forward I will monitor our schedules to ensure proper staffing. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Green Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.