We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to rave about. Clean and staff perform adequately. When I checked in I requested a water view and was told well you have a city view from the 8 th floor which was nothing to be excited about. Just seems that my request should have been considered.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was disheartened that we were unable to provide you with a water view room. Should your travels bring you to Tampa in the future please contact me directly at bill.heitzig@marriott.com. I will ensure your stay is memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    411
    125
    45
    28
See reviews for
180
236
55
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms were nice, the pool was a very nice size, and had a hot tub. Location was good because you can walk to the convention center. We had a view of the channel from our room and we watched the dragonboat races from the outside of the hotel. Three restaurants to choose from - the poolside food came from the Waterside cafe, which also serves breakfast. Salad and sandwiches from there were delicious. The Italian restaurant is good but overpriced. Service was great. There isn't a whole lot to do in the area. We took a trolley to Ybor city, and a segway tour around downtown Tampa.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (#27) very quiet, but we had a little bit of a wait on the elevators since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback and for mentioning how great our service was. Next time you are in Tampa please stop by the Front Desk. We can highlight some fun things to do in the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Typical higher end Marriot Hotel with excellent rooms and decent resturants. We enjoyed a great breakfast in the Waterside Grill and Happy Hour in Champions Sports Bar. Nothing real special in either, but they were nicely appointed and convenient.
Our hotel rooms were spacious and imaculate. The staff was helpful and knowlegable: they gave us great recommendations for dinner and gave us really good directions.
This hotel is downtwon, so not particularly convenient for visits to McDill AFB etc.

Room Tip: The views are nice from the Marina side. Really no bad rooms - no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting. Our housekeeping team was pleased to hear your description of the room as “immaculate.” Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel while at a conference at the Tampa Convention Center. Location was great... Just across the street. I had a beautiful view of the bay from my room on the 11th floor. My
room was nice although an odd shape... Long and somewhat narrow. Great beds... Everything you'd expect from Marriott. Even the elevators were quick.

The lobby bar was very good. Loved the avocado dip and chips. It rained so I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice.

The food was okay...nothing great.

My only complaint was that there really wasn't anything close to walk to for food alternatives... One night we did wall to the history museum to eat at the Columbia... Which was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was sorry to learn that the shape of the room did not meet your needs but that you were still able to enjoy the view. Should a future convention bring you back to Tampa hopefully Mather Nature will cooperate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after a 5 day cruise and it worked out to be a great spot for my husband, two kids 4 & 6 and mother. Rooms were available much earlier than expected,drive over from cruise terminal was a breeze,extended check-out was a great perk. I didn't like that the balcony was really dirty, we had a city view. Not really a great view but what can u do. Food was great at the breakfast buffet. Walking distance to great food and the river walk was fantastic for the kids. The pool is nice but located on the 3rd fl so it got really windy, there is plenty of shade in the morning due to the location of the hotel but in the afternoon the sun is tough to get out of, there were not many places to duck out of the sun and it proved to be hard for my fair skinned family to deal with. All and all - I would stay here again and recommend it for families with small kids.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your visit. I will look into supplying the pool area with umbrellas in order to create more shade. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent the weekend here and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. Initially we were given a street view room and asked for a waterside room instead. Without hesitation we were upgraded to the top floor and a beautiful view. The staff couldn't have been more helpful!!! A nice time was had by all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your positive remarks about our staff. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a wknd at the marriott waterside hotel in tampa. the location was perfect since we were there to see a hockey game. The hotel lobby was quite nice and the staff was friendly and efficient. The room itself was just average and when we arrived there was a towel in the middle of the floor. the bed was small for a "king" but since we were only there for 1 night we didnt care. The pool area was small and crowded. although the staff did their best to keep the chairs vacant we had a hard time finding a chair. a bright spot was the gym. It had all of the latest equipment and was very nice. The one thing that really irritated me was they put a charge on my c.c. for more than the total bill and didnt tell me beforehand. It was later corrected but they should have said that it was their policy. overall lite the title states, it wasnt what i expected and im not sure if i would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for kind words about our hotel staff. I would like to apologize for what you experienced. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Leadership Team. Should your travels bring you back to Tampa in the future, please contact me directly at bill.heitzig@marriott.com. I will ensure that you and your wife have a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#2 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.