We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you're going to convention center!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgetown
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great location if you're going to convention center!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel while at a conference at the Tampa Convention Center. Location was great... Just across the street. I had a beautiful view of the bay from my room on the 11th floor. My
room was nice although an odd shape... Long and somewhat narrow. Great beds... Everything you'd expect from Marriott. Even the elevators were quick.

The lobby bar was very good. Loved the avocado dip and chips. It rained so I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice.

The food was okay...nothing great.

My only complaint was that there really wasn't anything close to walk to for food alternatives... One night we did wall to the history museum to eat at the Columbia... Which was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was sorry to learn that the shape of the room did not meet your needs but that you were still able to enjoy the view. Should a future convention bring you back to Tampa hopefully Mather Nature will cooperate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    365
    113
    43
    29
See reviews for
143
203
51
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after a 5 day cruise and it worked out to be a great spot for my husband, two kids 4 & 6 and mother. Rooms were available much earlier than expected,drive over from cruise terminal was a breeze,extended check-out was a great perk. I didn't like that the balcony was really dirty, we had a city view. Not really a great view but what can u do. Food was great at the breakfast buffet. Walking distance to great food and the river walk was fantastic for the kids. The pool is nice but located on the 3rd fl so it got really windy, there is plenty of shade in the morning due to the location of the hotel but in the afternoon the sun is tough to get out of, there were not many places to duck out of the sun and it proved to be hard for my fair skinned family to deal with. All and all - I would stay here again and recommend it for families with small kids.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I was pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your visit. I will look into supplying the pool area with umbrellas in order to create more shade. Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent the weekend here and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. Initially we were given a street view room and asked for a waterside room instead. Without hesitation we were upgraded to the top floor and a beautiful view. The staff couldn't have been more helpful!!! A nice time was had by all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your positive remarks about our staff. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a wknd at the marriott waterside hotel in tampa. the location was perfect since we were there to see a hockey game. The hotel lobby was quite nice and the staff was friendly and efficient. The room itself was just average and when we arrived there was a towel in the middle of the floor. the bed was small for a "king" but since we were only there for 1 night we didnt care. The pool area was small and crowded. although the staff did their best to keep the chairs vacant we had a hard time finding a chair. a bright spot was the gym. It had all of the latest equipment and was very nice. The one thing that really irritated me was they put a charge on my c.c. for more than the total bill and didnt tell me beforehand. It was later corrected but they should have said that it was their policy. overall lite the title states, it wasnt what i expected and im not sure if i would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for kind words about our hotel staff. I would like to apologize for what you experienced. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Leadership Team. Should your travels bring you back to Tampa in the future, please contact me directly at bill.heitzig@marriott.com. I will ensure that you and your wife have a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is one of the nicer Marriotts I've been to....reminiscent of the San Diego Marina Marriott, or the Baltimore Inner Harbor Marriott. Great area - right on the waterfront, with the walkway along the docks that leads to area attractions and restaurants, nice patio and lobby, great rooms, etc.
There are a few drawbacks....expensive parking, difficult to drive to, expensive morning coffee....but these are expected in the nicer places.
Waking up and going outside here on a sunny morning, though....quite sublime. Don't hesitate to book a room here.

Room Tip: Ask for water view.....it looks out over the channel between Tampa and Harbor Island, quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting about our hotel. I live close by and like you, I enjoy walks around the water and the hotels proximity to the many amenities Tampa has to offer. We very much appreciate your comment encouraging guests to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We came to Tampa for a FLA getaway and then to visit family. Phase One was to find a nice hotel in Tampa. Check. The Marriott Waterside was a great hotel in a great location on the edge of Downtown, right on the River Walk. The hotel lobby is a wonderful 3 story space with tall palm trees that say "Yes, you are in FLA." At night we sat on the rear patio with fire pits sipping our cocktails next to the water channel. We stayed for 2 nights. The room was fine and up to date. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Phase Two was to roam around Tampa. We had a rental car, but if not the trolley across the street will take you to the Ybor district. Easy to get a cab to go anywhere. In our travels we checked out the Hilton and the Embassy, and we were glad that we chose the Marriott Waterside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for recent comments regarding our hotel and for mentioning how helpful our staff was. We are glad that you chose to stay at our location. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Exactly what I expect from Marriott. Perfect in every respect.

We burned some points for an overnighter. Got their worst room (place was packed... hard to blame them for selling the good rooms and giving away the less nice ones). Still very nice. Bed was soft. Ample hot water with adequate pressure. Plenty of pillows. Plenty of towels.

Got a little snack from the bar. It was tasty, and reasonably priced for a hotel.


Valet parking at $22 is steep, but, frankly, only $2 more than on-street parking in the area. A wee bit hectic to get in and out, but there was a hockey game, and several other events.

Nicely located a nice walk from Channelside and The Forum.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your loyalty to Marriott. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Green Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.