We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tampa !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Tampa !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We came to Tampa for a FLA getaway and then to visit family. Phase One was to find a nice hotel in Tampa. Check. The Marriott Waterside was a great hotel in a great location on the edge of Downtown, right on the River Walk. The hotel lobby is a wonderful 3 story space with tall palm trees that say "Yes, you are in FLA." At night we sat on the rear patio with fire pits sipping our cocktails next to the water channel. We stayed for 2 nights. The room was fine and up to date. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Phase Two was to roam around Tampa. We had a rental car, but if not the trolley across the street will take you to the Ybor district. Easy to get a cab to go anywhere. In our travels we checked out the Hilton and the Embassy, and we were glad that we chose the Marriott Waterside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for recent comments regarding our hotel and for mentioning how helpful our staff was. We are glad that you chose to stay at our location. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    430
    129
    46
    30
See reviews for
186
249
58
646
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Exactly what I expect from Marriott. Perfect in every respect.

We burned some points for an overnighter. Got their worst room (place was packed... hard to blame them for selling the good rooms and giving away the less nice ones). Still very nice. Bed was soft. Ample hot water with adequate pressure. Plenty of pillows. Plenty of towels.

Got a little snack from the bar. It was tasty, and reasonably priced for a hotel.


Valet parking at $22 is steep, but, frankly, only $2 more than on-street parking in the area. A wee bit hectic to get in and out, but there was a hockey game, and several other events.

Nicely located a nice walk from Channelside and The Forum.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your loyalty to Marriott. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Was here for a conference, which is convenient, since the convention center is across the street. Room is decent sized. Bed is fine, but I like a more firm mattress. Products are Bath & Body Works, citrus scent. Towels are not plush at all; kind of thin. Only one set of elevators for entire complex - six elevators. I was on 24th floor, and in the morning, would stop on a lot of floors to get to the lobby. There is a safe in the room and they deliver the local paper in the morning, with WSJ available in the lobby.

The Starbucks is a franchise; they don't take the Starbucks cards or the Starbucks app as payment. AT&T wifi is not available at the Starbucks at this hotel nor at the Embassy Suites across the street.

Internet access is $15 a day. For a business hotel. Really. However, they comped by Internet access for the entire stay because the toilet overflowed in my room, and they came to take care of it right away.

The bar is ok, but it is kind of a cheesy crowd. If you want a quieter hotel, check out the Westin up the street, which is much more subdued.

Grabbing a cab is easy because there is a taxi stand nearby, but there is not much pedestrian activity on a daily basis around this area.

Room Tip: I booked for a king and they were going to try to give me two doubles, with a water view, and I insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to learn that we fell short on some of your expectations. Should your travels bring you back to Tampa in the future please know that we offer complimentary internet service in the lobby. Thank you for your feedback and for the opportunity to improve on the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wife & I stayed here for 2 nights pre cruise. They allowed an early check in, and we were in our room on the 24th floor by noon. Spent the first afternoon at the pool, and afterwards had cocktails and canapés in their beautiful concierge lounge on the 27th floor. We then walked to the nearby Tampa Forum for that evenings Tampa Bay Lightning-Pittsburgh Penguins hockey game. So very convenient and very safe.
We had a breakfast package, which I can highly recommend. Another day of lounging at the pool, an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant, and then drinks and a cigar on the patio overlooking the river.
The hotel property was immaculate and every staff member we met was helpful & pleasant. The cruise terminal was a very short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank for your generous comments about our hotel and for commenting on how pleasant the staff was. We look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

1 night while in Tampa for work. King room reserved and upgraded to executive level overlooking water.

Valet parking only here and plan to wait as the garage is a short run away so the valets get their exercise for sure.

Lobby big bright a bustling with people as convention center is just across the street. Popular place for events I assume. Staff all very nice and welcoming, recognized my Gold status.

Room was dated and not new by any stretch but more than ample for a single nights stay, requested a mini fridge which they provided. HVAC seemed to be working but always felt a dampness in the air, had maintenance come for a look but nothing apparently wrong with it.

Gym and pool both excellent, large with lot's of stuff to use and lot's of chairs at pool. Big scene later in the day.

Executive lounge was nice, went up at night and morning for snacks.

All in all a good stay but needs a bit of a facelift in my opinion, it isn't newer and isn't ancient ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

what a great way to start a cruise!! the staff is so helpful and nice! they gave us a 24th floor room with a balcony that was as llarge as the room! with the package there is champagne, chocolate strawberries, breakfast (in the room if you like), and late check out at 2pm---perfect timing for going to your cruise ship!! the port is only a few blocks away.....very very pleasant!!

Room Tip: the balcony room on 24 is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First I would stay there again. It's truly a beautiful place. I was there for a conference before boarding a cruise ship. It's less than a mile to the ships. I was with a group of 25+ people. I gave it a four star for the following reasons... When leaving for the cruise, we had help loading the luggage. The guys helping us was not shy at all about asking for a tip. I found this rude. Then he went on to ask the shuttle service I contacted how much they were charging, it was really none of his business. The front staff gentlemen was new, very nice but clearly didn't have it together yet. He didn't charge my room correctly and I didn't get an ocean view as promised. They have several restaurants within the hotel. Champions was great food and recommended. You can't beat the location if you are looking for something close to the cruise ships.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.