We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel. Outsatnding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel. Outsatnding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While attending a concert at the Tampa Bay Times Forum we had the opportunity to once again stay at this beautiful hotel. This was our second stay here (we also stayed while attending my daughters wedding a couple of years back) All I can say is great service, beautiful hotel with an outstanding location for downtown activities whether it be for business or pleasure.There are 3 restaurants on premise from fine dining at IL Terrazzo ($$$) to Casual dining at Champions Sports Bar or the Waterside Grill ($$) There's something for everyone. There is a plaza on the waterfront for relaxing or having a nice glass of wine or a cocktail at the end of the day. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is valet parking and concierge service. The downtown Trolley stops just across the street so you can get to many downtown venues as well as Ybor City very easily. Very good hotel for a stay in downtown Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    399
    121
    45
    29
See reviews for
175
233
53
587
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While visiting Tampa at past volleyball events, we were always envious of those staying at the BIG hotels close to the convention center. This time we decided to splurge since it was also my daughter's birthday, so I decided on Waterside due to the great reviews and the great views of the water.

I reserved a waterside with balcony. A few days later I got an email welcoming us and asking us if we needed anything special. I did request a room on one of the higher floors and got an email back almost immediately verifying the request. I was hopeful, but didn't count on it from past experiences at different hotels.

Then a day before our stay we had an unexpected visitor. Rather than cancel our reservations, I sent an email asking if our room could accommodate an extra person. Not only did they let us do that, they gave us one of the larger rooms with a "cot". I'd actually call it a twin bed on wheels, much better than any cot I've seen before It was very comfortable. And they gave us a room on the 19th floor!! My daughter was ecstatic.

Everyone we came in contact with was wonderful and so polite: the valets, the belhops, the desk clerks and our awesome housekeeper, Julia. But especially Mo. He's the one that made the experience so good before we even got there.

We took the trolley to Ybor City, we walked to Channelside and the aquarium on the path from the hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to the convention center and the Forum. There are plenty of restaurants close by, but we liked the grill in the hotel the best!

The views from our corner room were gorgeous. We watched three cruise ships come in and one leave. This would be a great hotel for before and after a cruise.

The pool looked nice, but was full up by the time we got there at 2pm. And we didn't have time to even look at the spa or gym this time. The beds were comfortable and the shower had a really great rainfall shower head with lots a pressure.

For all you get at Marriott Waterside, the price is amazingly affordable. I would recommend you find a reason to visit Tampa just to stay there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a balcony have two views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Channelside is a popular area of Tampa Bay. The Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina is perfectly situated in this district and is a great choice if you want to enjoy the nightlife, catch a Tampa Bay Lightning hockey game, are going to an event at the Tampa Bay Times Forum or if you're just looking for a romantic weekend getaway. We always stay at this hotel during hockey season because it is literally right across the street from the venue. After the games, we will either take the trolley to the restaurants and bars in Channelside (about a 2 minute ride) take the trolley into Ybor City (another popular nightlife Tampa Bay destination (about a 10 minute ride) or just enjoy the view from our waterside balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high room with a balcony. Standing outside looking over the channel and Tam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed with a high school group attending the State Thespian Convention. Great location close to the convention center and theatres. If not the trolley was right out front. The view from our 8th floor room was beautiful and the room was lovely. No major complaints except for the poor job the food and beverage dept did at the lobby bar and sitting out on the patio. Our first impression of the older female bartender was that we were bothering her- not a warm welcome at all. She was more involved with other guests for us to get decent service.
Later that evening a bunch of us went to the patio for some drinks and we found tables full of beer bottles and wineglasses and I literally had to go inside to find the cocktail waitress who was standing at the computer texting away. I placed the order and waited 10 minutes for the drinks to come outside and then she never bothered to clean the table we were sitting at until another mom asked her to. She gave a shrug and walked back inside without cleaning or straightening any other tables to make it invitable for the many guests out walking around. Obviously she wasn't concerned with guest service or making any money. Not the Marriott way of training team members. This part of the hotel experience was very disappointing

Room Tip: One overlooking the river up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a 4-day stay and was very pleasantly surprised. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the bay. Bedding was first-rate. Everyone we came in contact with, from the concierge with excellent suggestions for dinner, and other staff throughout the hotel were very accommodating. The hotel is very well maintained. We didn't have a car but found this hotel to be extremely convenient to many different venues. If ever in Tampa again, I would definitely return. In fact, I may plan another trip just to stay here again. All in all, a very positive experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors with water views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is very close to The Forum and there's a trolley that you can take if you don't have a car. The hotel is clean and the pool area is very nice with a bar. A couple of small criticisms - I was surprised there was no refrigerator in the room and the towels are very thin. I would recommend a water view room over city view. I only ate at the hotel once and it was takeout from Champions (which was very good). The hotel was fairly quiet but the range of guests is extremely varied from families and young couples to convention attendees and the all day imbibers. Staff were mostly helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms are listed differently on the different booking sites so make sure you are booking the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The location has it all, it's nearby marina and the cruise port plus next to trolley stop that will take you for under $2 to some major attractions including Ybor City. We had a waterside balcony room that was "Marriott" and a little extra. Nice view but the real advantage of the hotel is all the great stuff nearby to walk or trolley to. We walked to the University of Tampa grounds and the Henry Plant museum. Great walk along the river and great destination. Trolley has you in Ybor City in 20 minutes and another 5 minute walk to the wonderful Columbian Restaurant. Will stay here again on next trip to Tampa.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.