We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Channelside Marriott - a great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Channelside Marriott - a great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Channelside is a popular area of Tampa Bay. The Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina is perfectly situated in this district and is a great choice if you want to enjoy the nightlife, catch a Tampa Bay Lightning hockey game, are going to an event at the Tampa Bay Times Forum or if you're just looking for a romantic weekend getaway. We always stay at this hotel during hockey season because it is literally right across the street from the venue. After the games, we will either take the trolley to the restaurants and bars in Channelside (about a 2 minute ride) take the trolley into Ybor City (another popular nightlife Tampa Bay destination (about a 10 minute ride) or just enjoy the view from our waterside balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high room with a balcony. Standing outside looking over the channel and Tam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    454
    134
    46
    30
See reviews for
193
265
61
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed with a high school group attending the State Thespian Convention. Great location close to the convention center and theatres. If not the trolley was right out front. The view from our 8th floor room was beautiful and the room was lovely. No major complaints except for the poor job the food and beverage dept did at the lobby bar and sitting out on the patio. Our first impression of the older female bartender was that we were bothering her- not a warm welcome at all. She was more involved with other guests for us to get decent service.
Later that evening a bunch of us went to the patio for some drinks and we found tables full of beer bottles and wineglasses and I literally had to go inside to find the cocktail waitress who was standing at the computer texting away. I placed the order and waited 10 minutes for the drinks to come outside and then she never bothered to clean the table we were sitting at until another mom asked her to. She gave a shrug and walked back inside without cleaning or straightening any other tables to make it invitable for the many guests out walking around. Obviously she wasn't concerned with guest service or making any money. Not the Marriott way of training team members. This part of the hotel experience was very disappointing

Room Tip: One overlooking the river up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a 4-day stay and was very pleasantly surprised. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the bay. Bedding was first-rate. Everyone we came in contact with, from the concierge with excellent suggestions for dinner, and other staff throughout the hotel were very accommodating. The hotel is very well maintained. We didn't have a car but found this hotel to be extremely convenient to many different venues. If ever in Tampa again, I would definitely return. In fact, I may plan another trip just to stay here again. All in all, a very positive experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors with water views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is very close to The Forum and there's a trolley that you can take if you don't have a car. The hotel is clean and the pool area is very nice with a bar. A couple of small criticisms - I was surprised there was no refrigerator in the room and the towels are very thin. I would recommend a water view room over city view. I only ate at the hotel once and it was takeout from Champions (which was very good). The hotel was fairly quiet but the range of guests is extremely varied from families and young couples to convention attendees and the all day imbibers. Staff were mostly helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms are listed differently on the different booking sites so make sure you are booking the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The location has it all, it's nearby marina and the cruise port plus next to trolley stop that will take you for under $2 to some major attractions including Ybor City. We had a waterside balcony room that was "Marriott" and a little extra. Nice view but the real advantage of the hotel is all the great stuff nearby to walk or trolley to. We walked to the University of Tampa grounds and the Henry Plant museum. Great walk along the river and great destination. Trolley has you in Ybor City in 20 minutes and another 5 minute walk to the wonderful Columbian Restaurant. Will stay here again on next trip to Tampa.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I were at TB for a weekend for Lightning' TB game. The hotel was 1 min from the arena, which was very convenient. The hotel was also close to the main attractions (Ybor city, downtown). The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Very good value-for-money. We loved the buffet for the breakfest and the valet service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This property is lovely. Staff was very helpful and gracious. It was nice to be given a room location choice since some like higher or lower floors and water or city views. I was there for a convention and it seemed packed but it was very quiet. My only issue was that a fire drill was scheduled for the middle of our planned luncheon and at my checkout time. Although we did not have to leave the room, fire doors were closed that blocked access to our afternoon breakout meetings , staff kept directing us to the room that was blocked and I finally had to get staff to open the fire doors and some attendees missed the session. Otherwise a very nice stay except for the overflowing toilet in my room. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.