We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value-for-money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
See our Special Offers
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good value-for-money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I were at TB for a weekend for Lightning' TB game. The hotel was 1 min from the arena, which was very convenient. The hotel was also close to the main attractions (Ybor city, downtown). The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Very good value-for-money. We loved the buffet for the breakfest and the valet service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    542
    167
    60
    36
See reviews for
247
311
67
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This property is lovely. Staff was very helpful and gracious. It was nice to be given a room location choice since some like higher or lower floors and water or city views. I was there for a convention and it seemed packed but it was very quiet. My only issue was that a fire drill was scheduled for the middle of our planned luncheon and at my checkout time. Although we did not have to leave the room, fire doors were closed that blocked access to our afternoon breakout meetings , staff kept directing us to the room that was blocked and I finally had to get staff to open the fire doors and some attendees missed the session. Otherwise a very nice stay except for the overflowing toilet in my room. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed there for a medical convention recently and loved the place. The staff, especially the front desk, were very helpful. All of the staff was very respectful to guests. It was very alive and lively but not to much so. Lots of young people having fun but not causing a stir. I loved the buffet for breakfast. The menus itself was overpriced so it almost forced you into the buffet, but it was very good. The view of the harbor from the room was great. The price was not cheap, but was reasonable for what the offerred. I would likely stay there again.

Room Tip: look for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My sister and I flew down to meet the family for a weekend of fun in Tampa and Clearwater, and I cannot say that I have ever had such a nice hotel stay. The breakfasts were huge with great fresh fruits and many choices for our family! The pool was a hit and the pool bar was great! Walking around downtown Tampa was a joy as it was totally clean and relaxed!
We will return here in a heartbeat! Marriott hotels are always our favorites!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view! The sunrises are a great thing to wake up to! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Travelers without a car will enjoy this location within walking distance of the convention center, art museum, children's museum, River Arts district, and downtown. A trolley, which stops across the street, takes you to the Aquarium, Ybor City, and places in between. Step out of the hotel on the water side and follow the enjoyable riverwalk to the right along the Hillsborough River. As with many downtown hotels, parking is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What can I say. If anything, Marriott is consistently good. The lobby and rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is excellent.
A definite plus is that there are rooms with balconies. You can choose from City or Water (canal) view.
If you are looking to go to the Tampa Bay Times Forum (Tampa Bay Arena) this hotel is in walking distance, and the hospital is a 5 minute car ride from here as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend while we were in town to attend a family function. We chose the hotel based on a convenient location and family recommendations, and were extremely pleased with the choice. We had been expecting a generic hotel experience, but we were pleasantly surprised and our expectations were exceeded. There are several hotels in this area, and this one appears to be the best choice. The hotel is right on the water, with the boats docked just outside the outdoor eating and bar areas, creating a perfect atmosphere to enjoy a drink or a meal, or even to go for a walk after dinner. The lobby is gorgeous and welcoming, and it feels much like a high-end luxury hotel, encouraging you to linger over drinks or a nice meal. The room was a nice size, and the bed was extremely comfortable; the bathroom was adequate but very clean. The spa is also quite nice and the spa experience also delivered more than expected. The location is perfect -- a quick, $25 cab from the airport, and many restaurants and attractions are within walking distance. The trolley also stops outside the front door, so we were very comfortable without a car. We highly recommend the hotel and will make this our first choice when we return to Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, facing the water if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#27 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.