We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Business or Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free +$25 Credit
Ranked #19 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location for Business or Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This property is lovely. Staff was very helpful and gracious. It was nice to be given a room location choice since some like higher or lower floors and water or city views. I was there for a convention and it seemed packed but it was very quiet. My only issue was that a fire drill was scheduled for the middle of our planned luncheon and at my checkout time. Although we did not have to leave the room, fire doors were closed that blocked access to our afternoon breakout meetings , staff kept directing us to the room that was blocked and I finally had to get staff to open the fire doors and some attendees missed the session. Otherwise a very nice stay except for the overflowing toilet in my room. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    360
    113
    43
    28
See reviews for
141
200
51
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed there for a medical convention recently and loved the place. The staff, especially the front desk, were very helpful. All of the staff was very respectful to guests. It was very alive and lively but not to much so. Lots of young people having fun but not causing a stir. I loved the buffet for breakfast. The menus itself was overpriced so it almost forced you into the buffet, but it was very good. The view of the harbor from the room was great. The price was not cheap, but was reasonable for what the offerred. I would likely stay there again.

Room Tip: look for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My sister and I flew down to meet the family for a weekend of fun in Tampa and Clearwater, and I cannot say that I have ever had such a nice hotel stay. The breakfasts were huge with great fresh fruits and many choices for our family! The pool was a hit and the pool bar was great! Walking around downtown Tampa was a joy as it was totally clean and relaxed!
We will return here in a heartbeat! Marriott hotels are always our favorites!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view! The sunrises are a great thing to wake up to! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Travelers without a car will enjoy this location within walking distance of the convention center, art museum, children's museum, River Arts district, and downtown. A trolley, which stops across the street, takes you to the Aquarium, Ybor City, and places in between. Step out of the hotel on the water side and follow the enjoyable riverwalk to the right along the Hillsborough River. As with many downtown hotels, parking is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What can I say. If anything, Marriott is consistently good. The lobby and rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is excellent.
A definite plus is that there are rooms with balconies. You can choose from City or Water (canal) view.
If you are looking to go to the Tampa Bay Times Forum (Tampa Bay Arena) this hotel is in walking distance, and the hospital is a 5 minute car ride from here as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend while we were in town to attend a family function. We chose the hotel based on a convenient location and family recommendations, and were extremely pleased with the choice. We had been expecting a generic hotel experience, but we were pleasantly surprised and our expectations were exceeded. There are several hotels in this area, and this one appears to be the best choice. The hotel is right on the water, with the boats docked just outside the outdoor eating and bar areas, creating a perfect atmosphere to enjoy a drink or a meal, or even to go for a walk after dinner. The lobby is gorgeous and welcoming, and it feels much like a high-end luxury hotel, encouraging you to linger over drinks or a nice meal. The room was a nice size, and the bed was extremely comfortable; the bathroom was adequate but very clean. The spa is also quite nice and the spa experience also delivered more than expected. The location is perfect -- a quick, $25 cab from the airport, and many restaurants and attractions are within walking distance. The trolley also stops outside the front door, so we were very comfortable without a car. We highly recommend the hotel and will make this our first choice when we return to Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, facing the water if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
1,712 helpful votes 1,712 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We flew in a day early for a cruise and stayed at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. The hotel was gorgeous. They had everything you could possibly want, including a good fitness center and an excellent breakfast buffet. The location just half a mile from the cruise port was great, although driving in the area was a bit of hassle at night because so many downtown streets were blocked off for events. The hotel is walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the trolley stop. Our rooms all had balconies and lovely waterfront views. The bed was comfortable, and the front desk was able to supply a toothbrush when mine broke.

I was disappointed that the hotel failed to provide the medical refrigerator I had requested for a member of our party, even though I had confirmed the request with the front desk and was told it would be no problem. Also, my in-laws had to deal with several staff members who didn’t seem interested in helping them unless they were tipped.

I would recommend this beautiful hotel due to its location, amenities, and ambience, but the service could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about the hotel and amenities. I was very sorry to learn about what you experienced with our staff and I want to reassure you that I have shared this feedback with my leadership team. Additionally, I would like to apologize for our inability to provide you with the medical refrigerator. Moving forward we will monitor our refrigerator inventory more closely and make the necessary purchases. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.