We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed at the Marriot Waterside in Tampa with my wife, while visiting friends and seeing some Spring Training baseball in the area. From the moment we walked in, we were overwelmed with how beautiful and cool this hotel is. Plus the room was very lovely and the services throughout our stay were outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    451
    132
    46
    30
See reviews for
193
265
60
660
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Sunday through Thursday end of March. The hotel appears to be the largest in the Tampa skyline. It is on the southern part of downtown just across the convention center and north of harbor island. Check in on Sunday evening was fast and efficient, bellman Sam was friendly and very efficient, same with Valet Octavio, who held our car while we moved in. Our room was on the 25th floor with a view of downtown and front of hotel. If you are on a high floor (this hotel has 27) you should expect elevator delays during conventions, everybody seems to go at the same time, the hotel has six elevators and we did have some delays if we hit the peak traffic time for the ongoing meetings, otherwise it was fine. I walked through the fitness center (24/7) it looked adequate, several people working out in the evening. I wished somebody would have cleaned up the piles of used towels.
We did not eat at the hotel restaurants, used the concierge level, it was ok, nothing spectacular. Had room service one evening late, service was very fast, food was below average and as expected overpriced, typical Marriott room service.
Overall price was on the high end, our room rate varied between $279 and $389 depending on night, valet was $20. Valet was fast and efficient, we like to have a car and needed one for the trip. If you are here just for a convention you can use a trolley that stops right I front of the hotel or a taxi to get to downtown, ybor city, or channel side district.
I would definitely stay here for a convention if it fits the budget. Nothing romantic or luxurious here though, good place to do business.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor and for your kind words about Sam and Octavio. I have personally shared this feedback with both of them. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone for the condition of our health club. I have shared this feedback with our Housekeeping Team so that this does not happen in the future. We appreciate your comments and the opportunity to improve on the overall guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Loved it so much, we got married here! Always try to go back whenever we can! Definitely a convention / event hotel, and unless you get an upgrade, the rooms won't blow you away. But it's within walking distance to a lot of great places like Channelside and the Hockey Arena, had a great bar in the lobby, a sports bar off the lobby.... just a great hotel! Oh, and the pool and pool bars are a blast! Not a big fan of always having to Valet, but oh well.

Room Tip: Obviously, balcony with a water view is best, but definitely an upgrade. The suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Closest hotel to Tampa cruise terminal. Reserved on Hotwire, got a great deal, and returned our rental right threat the hotel- simply pulled up front, gave the keys to the valet and the car was done! Then the rental agency's shuttle took us the block to the Carnival terminal In the am.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this fabulous hotel on March 24, 2012 for two nights. The location is very close to the convention center which makes it very profitable for the hotel. Yes, it did get busy while retrieving and returning your car but that comes with the territory. Valet staff and front desk agents were very courteous and personable so that made up for the wait. The room we were in had views of the bay and the city so it was lovely. The beds were very comfortable. I did not eat at any of the restaurants on property but just 2 miles from the hotel is Ybor City. Cool little town with bars, shopping and nightlife. Samurai Sushi was very affordable and the building was very neat. The Bricks of Ybor is also a great place was very creative dishes and awesome staff! I recommend this hotel and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed for business. The rooms were beautiful; had a good view of the bay. The food was very good. No issues at all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Let's get one thing straight. This is a convention hotel. If you're with a group or a special event, you'll probably be okay with the crowds, the confusion... the sheer scale of the place. And, of course, the tiny rooms. It all comes with the territory. But I made the mistake of checking in as a single family Tampa visitor, looking for a hotel near my mother in law's condo. The fun started with being grid-locked in front of the hotel for 30 minutes in my car upon arrival. There were numerous conventioneers checking in, as well as several events being held that evening in the arena across the street. A nightmare. And this seemed to be a regular occurrence every time we went to either retrieve the car, or return to the hotel. In fairness to the hotel, the valet parking staff were courteous and professional.

Other indignities we endured where the surprise closing of one of the restaurants to accommodate a group, the closing of the outdoor terrace to accommodate an event... and of course the endless crowds. Oh... and the closet-sized room... It was a typical convention hotel cube. Under 300 square feet. Windows sealed. Spotty house keeping service. Smelled like disinfectant.

My advice is this. If you're looking for reasonable accommodations as a single visitor to Tampa, avoid the convention hotels like this one. The Hyatt Bayshore is probably a better bet. It's big, yes, but a little more "personal." And in my experience, they seldom close off major sections of the hotel to accommodate groups.

Note to Tampa. Can't you attract some upscale hotel operators? I mean, you're a big city with lots of picturesque scenery. Where are the Ritzs'... the Four Seasons?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere... or pay a fortune and get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel staff for what you and your family experienced. I want to assure you that I have shared your feedback with our Valet Company and moving forward I will be reviewing their staffing levels so that every guest’s arrival experience is excellent. Additionally, I have reviewed this feedback with all front line staff in order to ensure that we effectively communicate outlet closures with all arriving guests. Thank you for this opportunity to improve on the overall experience we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.