We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in downtown Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are updated. The pool area is beautiful, they also have a nice workout facility. Good restaurant and sports bar. Convenient downtown location if you need to be in this area. It is very close to the University of Tampa and right by the arena. Close to Channelside an area of some small shops, restaurants and movie theater. Do be aware that almost all hotels in downtown Tampa only have valet parking. So you do need to wait for your car which can take a while if they are busy. I believe the cost of valet parking was included with my room rate or if it wasn't the daily charge was minimal compared to other cities. Also, know that this hotel is not close to the airport. About a 15 minute drive with light traffic. During rush hour definitely build in extra time which can really vary. I do recommend taking the highway during rush hour, even with traffic it is still better than the city streets.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    328
    105
    42
    27
See reviews for
118
183
51
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A large, upscale Marriott along the Channel Riverwalk. Great views of the bay. Be sure to ask for a high floor. A warning -- not close to the airport at all. Figure a good $25 for a cab ride. But, it is right by the Convention Center.

Was on business and stayed here Sept. 13-16th 2010 and had a very enjoyable time. My flight arrived earlier than the 4pm check-in time, but they had no trouble getting me into a room, which I appreciated.

My room was large and spacious -- it had two queen sized beds in it but still felt like there was room to move and stretch. All of the fititngs and linens were crisp and new, the room was very clean. Nice big desk for working, and a 37" flat-screen TV for lazy evenings. Best part -- you could set the thermostat all the way down to 62deg. to fight the hot Tampa humidity. Loved it.

The restaurant off the lobby -- Champions Sports Bar -- had good, reasonably priced food and plenty of screens to watch your favorite games.This hotel is close to everything, and is right at the end of the Trolly line that runs to Ybor City.

Great hotel, great experience. I will return should I ever travel to Tampa again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here recently on business. The hotel is large with a very nice lobby. The sports bar is nice and decorated well. The fitness center has free weights, treadmills, and other machines. The pool area is nice and on a balcony. The balcony rooms overlooking the water are great. The concierge lounge is pleasant and even has balcony to eat out on. The only complaint would be noise from other rooms. I could hear every word the folks in the room to me were saying, even with the TV on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with this Marriott. It was very well maintained. Great service from staff: doorman, bellhop, and front desk staff all provided excellent customer service. Open, breezy, calming atmosphere. Rooms were large, nice bathroom, walk out balcony. Great location for stroll on River Walk. Close proximity to good restaurants and the Aquarium. Yes, I plan to stay here on my next trip to Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Good hotel and a good stay while attending business convention with HQ at the hotel. Good Marriott quality and it should be for the price. Nice scenic location on the water with a nice outside deck to enjoy a beverage in the evening. Nice balcony overlooking the downtown skyline as well. Downtown Tampa is basically a no nothing area with few restaurants nearby. Publix within walking distance was a plus. Restaurant in the hotel was a "we gotcha trapped" rip-off for breakfast ($20+ for corned beef hash and eggs.)
When I first checked in I was assigned a room adjacent to the elevator bank (6 of them in this large hotel) and was able to be moved immediately away from the perpetual noise. Other than that, the bed was comfortable and I enjoyed the deck and my room balcony.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Let me begin by disclosing that I'm a Marriott Gold Elite member who stayed. Five days on accumulated points.
Having said that, it was one of the finest hotel experiences I've ever had. I couldn't have been more pleased!
We were upgraded to a luxury suite (photos on their website) which was a major plus. Housekeeping was exemplary. Service in general was above expectation.
Restaurants were average, so we at out most of the time. Wine sold at more than two times retail. (problem solved with a Publix supermarket half mile away).
Noise from the restaurant across the street was AWFUL weekend nights until 2:00 AM. The price of water view.
I loved the hotel and the experience. It may have spoiled me for other hotels, but it was a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Our room was ready when we arrived and they accommodated our request for feather free bedding by putting us on a feather free floor. Bedding comfortable and nice water view. Conveniently located across from trolley station into Ybor City and Aquarium. Walking distance to St Pete Times Forum and convention center. Near the Port of Tampa. Would definitely return although would probably wait for a resident rate special as the rooms were priced higher then others in the area when we visited.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina

Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott
Address: 700 South Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.