We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4312 W. Boy Scout Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #45 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Estero, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice, will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed in a 2 br suite. Furniture and kitchen were a little tired, but everything was clean. I repeat clean (cant say the same for the other hotel I stayed at on this trip). There were 6 of us and used a blow up bed for the youngest in the group. Room is supposed to sleep 6, but unless 2 of the group are really young 5 is more realistic.

Staff was great, breakfast was just ok but it is free/included so it was good enough.

Mall across street provides a lot of dinner choices as well as Lee Roy Selmon's in the parking lot. Ordered pizza from West Shore Pizza one night and it was very good.

Construction across the street from the rear side of the hotel was very loud but started around 8am and was over by 5, so it really didn't bother us. If you plan to sleep in ask for a room on the mall side of the hotel.

If I need to be in this area again I will go out of my way to stay here again. If the kitchen and the furniture were newer would give 5 stars.

If I need to

Room Tip: Construction just getting started on lot at rear of hotel, ask for a room on the mall side if you pl...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Rob F

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore. I am very sorry about the construciton noise and am happy to learn it was not too much of an issue during your stay. I am confident that the next time you stay with us the noise will be over as they have almost completed the supports for the foundation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    60
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
59
27
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I always try to book a room in Marriott's Residence Inn brand when I can. Appreciate the space and a quick bite in the morning. This was one of the worst Residence Inn properties I've stayed in yet. Dirty stairwells, paint chipping from front doors, dated bathrooms, dirty furniture in the breakfast area, poor parking, breakfast was bad...cold "turkey Canadian bacon", cold eggs, "fresh" pineapple and melon looked old as though its been frozen then thawed a few times. Room was clean an OK aside from dated bathrooms and kitchen appliances. Phone in second bedroom dead. Appears as though management not quite as detail oriented as most other Marriott property managers. Disappointing property in a very high profile area near airport, stadium, and Intl Mall! Booked for 6 nights. Cancelling remaining nights and moving to Hampton Inn.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mike L,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at our property and please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting your, and our, expectations. This is no way reflects our properties high standards of service and cleanliness required by Marriott and will be addressed immediately with our staff as we do share all guest feedback. We strive to provide the highest level of service to ensure guest satisfaction before a guest leaves our property. I would love if you gave our property another chance to show you the kind of cleanliness and service we can provide. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.

At your service,

Charles A.
Operations Manager
ri.tpaws.ops@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was so disappointed when front desk didn't care about my clothes being stolen out of their so call secure laundry. Things were going Okay until then. Had front desk acknowledge and showed concern I would have given this hotel a better review. When my clothes were taken out of the dryer I immediately called the front desk. She said she would look into it and call me back.... she didn't follow up as she stated... then she showed no concern when confronted. If she would have offered to take $25 dollars off our bill and/or at least apologized that would have been normal...But in no way would this have compensated for three Boss shirts, but as least it was offered. I will never stay at this location again. I would not recommend washing your clothes if YOU decide to stay. So disappointed in the front desk agent. What happen to I'm sorry for what happen. AND no I don't want your apology now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Tanya B

It is always difficult when a guest leaves our hotel and is not satisfied with their stay. It is clear you are upset not just with the fact that your 3 Hugo Boss shirts went missing but more so how it was handled by my team. At this point there is no reason I could give that would not be viewed, by you, as an excuse. The lack of empathy displayed is simply wrong and for that I am sorry.

I am the General Manager of this hotel and I had the pleasure of being at the front desk when your husband and children checked out of my hotel. I spoke with your husband regarding his concerns. He informed me that 3 Hugo Boss shirts, valued at $400+, went missing from the laundry room. Mrs. Tanya B in the 5 years I have been General Manager of this hotel I have not had this happen. Unfortunately we simply are unable to monitor every area of the hotel all the time. It is unfortunate that there are people out there who are dishonest and clearly someone knew just how valuable your children’s shirts were and they chose to take advantage of the situation when your son left the laundry unattended. With only a few dryers on that floor people tend to get inpatient when they are waiting on a unit and the cycle has ended. I have even had a few guests, when the original user is absent, leave the clothes folded neatly on the table.

My team and I should have been more empathetic to your concerns however I support them in their decision to not offer compensation for the actions of another and not the neglect of our team. I know you do not want me to apologize now however I am sorry that this occurred to you and left you with a bad impression even though you enjoyed all other aspects of our hotel.

I sincerely hope that you can look past this incident and stay with us again the next time you are in the area. I will share this incident with my team and use it as a training energizer on empathy.

Sincerely,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel, in july. Very convenience, close to the airport and to international plaza. Rooms are nice and clean, good breakfast. Cable has good variety, good parking. My family really enjoy this hotel, defenetely come back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Fred G

Thank you so very much for making our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore the hotel for you and your family. Everyone has a choice and I am happy we were yours. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a two bedroom suite. The queen beds were quite comfortable. The fold out bed is really not for adults but adequate for children. The bathrooms are your average bathrooms but dated. The pool was small. There is not enough parking spaces. If you return to the hotel after 9pm you will not find a parking space. There is a problem with their policy. I don't understand why Residence Inn has a problem with Military and AARP discounts. This is the second Residence Inn that I have experienced that will have some regular rooms at a Military or AARP discount and I mean some. Every time I called or when I checked in and asked I was told "I am sorry we do not have any rooms available for Military or AARP discount. They have discounts for all rooms with Triple A and found they were always available. They do not offer any discounts for Military or AARP for their two bedroom Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello JYDV

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns. I can promise you that this will be shared with my team as we share all guest comments each and every week. I believe that if our guests can take the time to comment on our hotel than we can certainly take the time to share their experiences and to learn from them.

Our Two Bedrooms Suites are very spacious and we have been complemented on the comfort of our beds many times. In addition the full sized sleeper sofa has been a benefit to many families with small children. I do agree that parking can be a challenge at times and I am very sorry that this presented a problem for you during your stay.

In regards to your comments on our government and AARP rates please allow me to offer you some additional information which may change your mind. Government business is this hotels bread and butter. As I am typing this reply we have 112 rooms occupied of my 160 suite Residence Inn. Out of the 112 occupied suites 57 guests are here under the Federal Government per diem. This is just over 50%. This is almost the case every day of the week. The fact is we have such a great relationship with MacDill AFB and surrounding agencies that we could fill this hotel up at the government rate. However we do have to cut it off at some point as to allow others to stay with us that do not qualify for this discount. Although you are correct that we do not offer the government rate on our two bedroom suites this does not mean we never extend it to our government guests. We are an extended stay hotel which means that we cater more to long term guests. On many occasions we have government personnel staying with us for many weeks or months. Sometimes they bring their families and when we are able to accommodate them we offer the two bedrooms suites at the government per diem rate. We LOVE and RESPECT all of the men and women that serve this country and I assure you that we have no "policy" which would reflect otherwise.

In addition Marriott hotels replaced the AARP discount with their own Marriott Senior Discount back in 2003. This is based on availability, just like AAA, and offers 15% off weekday and weekend rates. Unlike AARP you do not need to be a member, which costs a fee. You simply need to show us a valid driver’s license showing you are at least 62 years of age or older.

I certainly hope this has shed some light on two of our programs and that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tampa.

Thank you,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've stayed here several times on business, and as always a great stay. The staff is friendly, rooms are very well kept and cleaned, and it's located near some great restaurants and shopping. My only concern was the very limited parking area, but not a major deal breaker. Great hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
trvlDoc1 -

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us on several occasions and we look forward to having you stay with our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore on many more. I know parking can be a challenge, at times, and appreciated your patience and understanding.

Thank you,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here on the way down to Sarasota and unlike the other RI nearby, this one had free parking. My kids really liked the basketball court and free balls available at the front desk. It is really close to the airport, but also in a great area for dining. We needed a lot of little things for the beach and there is a WalMart, Target and even KMart about 2 miles away. The pool area was good and there is a nice grill if you want to cook out. I believe a family was having a party as we were exiting the pool. It is supposed to close at 9, but they let them stay out longer---which was nice. The rooms were typical Residence Inn, kitchen with stovetop (electric), full fridge and sink. We had the 1BR suite and with two TVs (video game hook-up works), there was plenty of room. If you go during the week, they offer free dinner. We had to leave really early on a Saturday morning. Unfortunately, breakfast on Sat. begins at 7:00am--which I thought was rather late for travelers. But. The manager did let us grab some fruit on our way out. Overall, fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello momof3atl -

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay, at the Residence Inn Tampa Westshore, on Tripadvisor. In the short amount of time you were here you really took full advantage of the hotel and the area. I am very happy that we were able to provide you with a fantastic stay. If you should find yourself passing through Tampa again, and needing accommodations, I trust we will see you again.

Thank you again.

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport

Address: 4312 W. Boy Scout Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#52 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.