We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but needs some maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Melbourne Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not bad but needs some maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed for a convention. Shuttle was great parking across the street from hotel was not to bad.Our room was in need of repair. Calk around the base of the toilet was dirty. door handle fell off the door. House keeping did a subpar job of cleaning the room. The front desk staff was great would get anything that you asked for.always helpful and greeted you when we came in. Breakfast was great and the staff worked hard at keeping the bar full. Over all stay was OK but I have stayed at many Marriott hotels and this one did not meet their usual high standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    28
    20
    17
See reviews for
56
29
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed here on New Years eve and they offered a free buffet with beer and wine !!
Hotel room was HUGE extremely clean and modern it had a kitchen area with a table fridge, dishwasher etc.
Basketball court with pool/spa area. Nice lounge area with couches, TV and fireplace.
Free shuttle will take you downtown but you can walk back if you feel like it, it's not that far.
Will definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it,especially if you are going to a concert/game to the Forum, perfect location. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

The purpose of our trip was for my brother in law to go to a conference and for my sister and I to have leisure time in Tampa between 30th May 2010 and 8th June 2010. We are from the UK.

The check in was extremely smooth even though it was a late check in. The reception staff, Briana was extremely polite and sensitive to our long journey. No porters to assist with luggage. We went to the Dominos for dinner which was literally 50 yards across the street. One of the managers took my bro in law with him on a delivery so we could get some essentials like bread, sandwich filling and soft drinks and water and brought him back to the hotel.
The rooms were kitted out well with a large fridge/freezer. There was a dish washer (which wasnt upto scratch and left items smelling of sour milk), however we used the disposable cups provided in the reception area.
We were 3 adults in our 20s. The room was adequate for us. The sofa bed was extremely easy to set up and required no force, it was a double bed and sheets and blankets were provided. The double bed in the master room was extremely comfortable and well presented. A very good full sized iron was provided along with an ironing board. The shower was excellent and all was very clean. Room service was done well and at various times throughout the day. The hotel allowed us to extend the check out time until 2pm free of charge. At one time we did some laundry and one of the machines took our money but did not dispense the detergent. I visited at the reception and they gave us ample amount of detergent and drying Bounce sheets for free. It cost $1 for each washer, $1 for the dryer, and $1 each for the detergent and drying sheets.
All of the hotel staff couldnt do more for us. The kitchen staff were extremely helpful as were the cleaners. The fresh coffee and hot water dispensers were kept topped up throughout the day.
The breakfast was served between 6.30 and 9.30 weekdays and between 7am and 10.30 weekends. Food was fresh throughout.
On a weekday evening, snacks were served as well as cans of soft drinks and wine, champagne and bud light. All complimentary in an effort to get guests to converse with one another.
A computer connected to the internet and printer was provided in reception for all guests to use without a password and for free.
Free wifi was throughout the hotel including in the hotel rooms.
The hotel room had 2 telephones and 2 televisions.

The only thing we found to be a bit of a problem was there was no kettle in the room and therefore we used a pan to boil the water.
The kitchen was well kitted out with pans and crockery and cutlery and utensils. We had enough utilities to cook meals on 3 or 4 nights.

As mentioned in my title, the breakfasts were great. There was a selection of muffins, bagels, buns, bread. scrambled egg, sausage, croissants, potato. Fresh fruit cocktail. Yoghurt, granola, chocolate milk, fresh milk, fat and non fat. Cereal, fresh waffle batter and waffle maker. Oatmeal. A toaster was provided. As well as condiments of brown sugar, cinnamon, icing sugar, raisins, chocolate drops, syrup, jams. Unbelievable spread. Tea, coffee, orange and apple juice. vanilla, hazelnut and regular milk portions. We had a big breakfast and skipped lunch every day.

On the first morning we went for an exploration by the riverside. We saw dolphins in the river. We came across some locals and down and outs in the park but found every one to be helpful.
Upon our return to the hotel we were met by Delores on the reception. She was really friendly and advised us where we could go for a day and what to be careful of.

We found that there wasnt much to do close by for low funds. There was a shuttle bus which could take us anywhere for free for 2 miles. Some of the drivers were extremely friendly and we found Mitch to be the best help. We never had to wait very long for the shuttle, perhaps 30 minutes maximum. Im not sure if the driver expected a tip, every now and then we gave the drivers a tip.

We took a trip to Channelside. There werent many shops to visit and we exhausted it within a short time. We visited Ybor and we found again that there werent that many shops there.
At evening times, both Channelside and Ybor offered some excellent eating places. Carmines at Ybor was very good. Bennigans at Channelside was ok, but the most excellent was Stumps Supper Club. We found the food to be of excellent standard and decently priced.

We found a Walmart, starbucks, mcdonalds, kfc and wendys within 2 miles using the shuttle bus.

We were advised that a ride by taxi to and from Clearwater Beach would cost $100 return. Unfortunately this wasnt a price we could justify.

We had a great time at International Plaza and Westshore Mall. These were a $35-$40 return taxi ride.

We spent a day at the Aquarium at Channelside. It cost approximately $50 per person with a boat ride added. It was a great day and well worth the money. We saw dolphins several times on the boat ride. The staff on board were extremely helpful. The Aquarium itself was well worth spending the money for. Truly brilliant and took approximately 6 hours to get round. We found the cafe there to be reasonably priced and they did great pizza.

We spent a day at Busch Gardens. It was brilliant but very expensive day, but well worth the money. We got to the theme park in time for it opening and left at the closing time. This cost a $40 return taxi fare inc tip. There were many rollercoasters and the staff were helpful and the rides were clean. They had a rule that drinks and food could not be taken in from outside. However we found the cafe we chose to be very reasonably priced. I was a bit perturbed that lockers were provided but for 50c and this was not returned (in the UK it is practice that the money be returned).

All in all it was a great holiday. Perhaps a little too humid for sun bathing. Would i visit Tampa again? i would certainly visit the hotel again and it was certainly value for money. I would hope all people are as helpful in any part of the USA as they were there. But i didnt think there was enough to do for little cost there and we were too far away from the beach for my liking.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My husband had a conference and I accompanied him with my teenage son. Nice room. (We had the king suite). The breakfast was a plus and, even if it was almost the same every morning, we enjoyed it: Eggs, sausages, muffins, croissants, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, toast, coffee, juice... and let's not forget the waffle station. The hotel also offers a free "snack" around 6h30. Well, we were surprised by what they called a snack: hamburgers one night, chili, nachos and chicken wings the next, submarines... Wow!
Nothing much to do around the hotel, but it's only about 5 minutes from the downtown area and we used the trolley, or the free shuttle to get downtown. My husband also walked from the hotel to the conference center (15 minutes) since the shuttle isn't always available or reliable. I used the public transit system (Hart), with my son, to get to Busch Gardens and The Big Cat Rescue. It's a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the transit station and it gets you everywhere. The inconvenience is the time it takes, but on the plus side, it doesn't cost much.
The staff at the hotel is great. Special thanks to Dolores, front desk, for all the help and advice she gave us. Nice lady with a big smile!
The pool could use a new filter, but is still nice. Though the hotel is surrounded by passing traffic, the courtyard is very well isolated. It's like a little oasis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed at Residence Inn for total of 4 nights. My wife was off to a conference and the 5 year old and I hit the aquariam and the hotel pool and spa. Have seen other reviews mentioning crappy neighbourhood, didnt go out at night but went to the Domino's across the street, made fort knox look like Disneyland! Lots of homeless people in the park near the hotel and especially in and around the library, kept to themselves but very visable. As for the Hotel, breakfast was great, hot and cold selection, mixed it up little for weekends and the managers reception was awesome. We had wine, soft drinks, bud light on tap and got fed as well (Mon to Thurs) we had hotdogs one night and spag and meatballs with garlic bread and salad, very yummy especially considering if like us you didnt have a car, so staying in to eat with a 5 year old was very convenient. Complimentary shuttle got you around to aquarium, cruise ship terminal, train station etc. call them and they pick you up, the 5 year old and I were forgotten only once but the wonderful Dolores fixed all that. Now speaking of the wonderful Dolores, when you stay here you better behave or else LOL. This woman was magnificent couldnt do enough for us and my 5 year old loved her. More big chain hotels need personalities like Dolores.Good one Marriott. Would probably stay here again and would recommend to others especially if you are heading out on a cruise. Pool was excellent, well heated and 2 spas were great. Room was a little small but we made do. queen bed and pull out sofa with full kitchen, housekeeping were excellent.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night prior to taking a Carnival cruise. Hotel was a great choice and you have the option of a free shuttle anywhere within a 2 mile radius or it is possible to do some walking. If you aren't sure where something is or need a recommendation, ask the front desk staff..they have directions available to a variety of places. Close to channelside and Ybor city.

Free shuttle to dock, just make sure you sign up when you check in to avoid having to wait for the next shuttle time. We didn't have any issues and were at the dock quickly.

Definitely like the free breakfast and the pool area was nice..although too cold for us to use when we were ther.

Would recommend this hotel and would consider staying here when in Tampa again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

The bedroom and living room spaces are not well separated so this works much better for a single traveler if significant work time must be done. The free breakfast was good, the managers reception is not worth attending, the staff is friendly, the free internet and computer use in the lobby is a great touch. What makes this slightly out of the way location is the free shuttle and the drivers are very accommodating.

My conference was in the Marriott Waterside and the shuttle made it convenient to stay here and get to the conference quickly, free and on time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.