We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Going to show at the Straz Center and this was the perfect place. Quick walk. Made to feel welcome minute we walked through the door. While I parked the car they directed my girls to the evening lite meal... Just coming from the airport and rushing to a show. Very friendly staff. Clean. Helpful. Good buffet breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sebastian22013,

Hospitality is all about our dedication to making sure that you and your family are well taken care and put in the forefront of anything else while staying with us. We are so happy to hear that we were successful in taking good care of you and your famiily. We hope to have you come back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    28
    20
    17
See reviews for
56
29
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I believe that by looking at the pictures you get the idea. Feel free to add the unprofessional staff and the dirty room.
It was probably the worst hotel experience in my life. And I spent more than 300 nights in various hotels around the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
LiliamTrusky,

I has been 3 months since you have stayed with us we have made changes in management in our housekeeping department and if you look at the recent reviews, you can clearly see that we have done a good job with those changes. I do apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us while you were here. I hope that you had given us a chance in coming to talk to us as we know that we can't always please every guest but we do our best to accomodate each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. The staff were the best part. I definitely couldn't have stayed all this time without their support. Especially Shab Sachedina the Director of Sales who went the extra mile to get the rooms I needed. If something was not right in the room, make a call, and housekeeping is right there.
Only down side is the slightly expensive parking that all guests have to pay. But that seems to be the norm in that part of Tampa.
Will stay there if and when I get back to Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Al R,

Wow! Thanks so much for the kind words and recognizing our staff and myself. It is our absolutely pleasure to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure that they have the best time they can while they stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to have you come stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Residence Inn downtown and we were very impressed with the staff. It is a standard Residence Inn, but the staff made our visit better. Hence, the strong rating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Shacker06,

We strongly believe that individuals have such a strong impact on our guests. We treat our guests like family and we are so happy to hear that our great team is doing a good job of making our guests feel that warmth and hospitality that we are here to provide!

Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were here for a conference. The staff was pleasant but clearly stretched The hotel is dated and frankly dirty. The rooms were shabby, and in need or repair. the bathroom had mold and stains .The outdoor space had cigarette butts littering the ground and trash. The positives, A shuttle to Ybor City. A nice staff, and you can walk to a few restaurants and a CVS, Needs a clean up. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Gracielulu10960,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review to let us know what we can do to ensure that we provide better service for our guests. I would appreciate it if you would please email me and let me know what room you were staying in. Please email me at shab.sachedina@marriott.com. I would like to apologize for the state of your suite which is rare as you can see by so many of our other reviewers. We are always looking to improve and do our very best for each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last weekend. The room/suite/apt. was perfect...attractive and very clean. Every amenity was there. Had a free shuttle that took you anyplace within a few mile range. Very nice not to have to get the car and try to find parking on the other end: restaurants, etc.

Best of all, however, were the employees. They could not have been nicer or friendlier or more helpful. A wonderful experience! Thank you, Residence Inn Tampa Downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Well, THANK YOU KarenX26! We truly appreciate you staying with us as we know that you have plenty of options and we hope to be able to have you come and stay with us again. We truly believe that each individual can make a huge impact on our guests while they stay with us and we love what we do and are so happy that it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is absolutely awesome near the waterfront where it's all lit up at night and near great coffee shops and restaurants like Pizza Fusion. The hotel is very clean. What made it really unpleasant is that the AC unit roars on every half hour all night long, and it blows very cold air directly on your head when you're in the queen bed. It feels like torture all night long.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Beach876,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in regards to our clean hotel and we appreciate that you liked our location as well! We are so sorry to hear that you had issues with your AC. I wish that we had an opportunity to speak with you. Every single room has its own unit and so you control everything! It is very simple to turn up the temperature so that it wouldn't continue to cool the room down below your comfort level. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again and please remember that our # 1 concern is to make sure that each guest truly enjoys their stay. Always let us know while you are here so that we have the opportunity to help you fix the situation instead of you feeling like you were being tortured all night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.