We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place in the heart of Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very good place in the heart of Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked with free night certificate via Marriott.com.

Arrived mid afternoon to this place on a Saturday so plenty of street parking. Did not use their parking (14$ valet). Check in was courteous and fast. Got a nice 1 bedroom suite on 5th floor. The place is fairly new, with a nice kitchen/dining room and living room with LED TV. The bedroom was decent sized with queen bed, LED TV and separate sink/bathroom configuration. Good curtains keep sun out for late risers.

The gym was smallish with decent equipment (1 elliptical, 1 treadmill, 1 bike) and weights. The pool and jacuzzi is shared with Courtyard next door, very nice. They do have a small basket ball court! Breakfast was standard residence inn fare, decent, varied: eggs, waffles, potatoes, biscuit and gravy, fruits, oatmeal, etc...

The location is good, as it is easy to walk downtown and to the hockey arena. Shuttle is offered within 3 miles radius (airport excepted).

Overall, a great option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Lubiere,

Thank you so much for taking your time to let everyone know that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for staying with us! We hope that we have the opportunity to have you come and stay with us again. Just a little correction if you don't mind...the shuttle service that we offer is within a 2 mile range of our hotel but we do also use a local transportation company if you need to go further!

Have a great day,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    24
    19
    15
See reviews for
45
26
12
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As others have said the staff are incredibly friendly here from the front desk, to the food service staff to housekeeping and the shuttle van driver.
The room was clean and had a microwave, ceramic stove top, dishwasher, real plates and silverware as well as stem glasses. They do have a recycling policy, so they do not change the sheets every day unless you ask them, ditto for the towels.
There was good WiFi reception in our room
The breakfast was not fancy, but good.
There did seem to be plenty of parking but if it was a busy time, then I suppose parking could be a problem.
The location is great for downtown Tampa, with a short walk to the Straz Performing Arts Center, and the waterfront.
As with all Residence Inns it is not a fancy hotel, but if you want a clean, friendly suite with all necessary facilities for a few days stay, I don't think that you can do better than the downtown Residence Inn
We would definately stay there again

Room Tip: The rooms face north and south, so depends on if you want sun during the day or not. The south facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Bexley girl-111,

Wow! Thanks for your awesome review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time while you stayed with us. Nothing matters more than making sure that all of our guests are smiling from the moment they walk in the door. We are so happy to hear that you did just that. Just to let you know, since January we have gained more parking spots. Good news is that once you have a parking ticket, you will always have a spot! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Have a wonderful week,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

*** Good and friendly service, awesome free services and food, average but fast internet, great atmosphere.

I'll keep it short. Mon, Tues, and Wed had free food and drinks at a social in the evening, free breakfast - nice pool, hot tub, basketball area, and outdoor seating area were great. Service was quick and courteous and the free shuttle bus was extremely handy. There is also a free grocery pickup though we liked walking so never used it. The place was clean and welcoming. The internet was sometimes hard to connect to during the busy hours of the night, but not horribly so and as it was free, we couldn't complain. When connected, it was fast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
JustAnExplorer,

Thank you so much for such a great review! It means so much to us when we have the opportunity to hear from our guests. We really hope that we have the opportunity to have you come and stay with us again. Also, just to let you know that we have completed our full 25Mb Fiber internet upgrade! That means that all guests will have a very fast internet connection! Can you tell how excited we are?

Hope to see you soon!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for a night in april. I typically choose the residence inns because of marriott points and i have a special diet where its good to have a fridge and stove.

first off, parking is not good. they have two very small lots, and i was lucky to find a space coming in late in the evening. The hotel was clean and neat, but the rooms were quite worn. All the chairs had significant wear marks, and the rugs were definitely wearing out. My room was way overdue for new furniture! Besides this point the hotel was nice, the staff was helpful, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was the typical fare and it was hot and tasty! It was a short stay so i don't have much else to say about it. The location is great, central to downtown and very easy to get on and off the highway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Mike_7_7,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us though it was short. We hope that we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Did you know that about a block down the street from us we have a great local market that provides food for all different diets? If you come back to town, you have to check it out. We are always working to improve our hotel for our guests and we thank you for your feedback.

Enjoy your week!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Shab was our meeting planner for a conference that we held in Tampa - and she was terrific. Right from the beginning her communications were clear and accurate. And, when unexpected things came up, her response was always the same "we'll take care of that, I got this, don't worry.' And she always delivered against that promise to take care of things and to go out of her way to make our conference special and successful.

Great job!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Devo794,

Wow. That's all I can say. Thank you, thank you, thank you for your words! We, as a team, work very hard to ensure that your groups and every single individual truly gets what they want out of their stay. Whether it is a business traveler coming through town needing a good nights rest and a close proximity to their job or a family coming for their vacation. Having our groups here at our hotel is also so very important to us and it was my absolute pleasure to do all that I could do have your stay be a success. We know we aren't perfect but if something comes up, we'll do all that we can to make it right. Thank you for your kind words, it personally meant a lot.

Enjoy your week!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

As someone who does not typically write a review, I felt differently for my most recent Drama Troupe's accommodations during the 2014 Florida Thespian Festival. In providing services to 20+ students and 4 chaperones was a difficult task at hand but Shab and her team met the challenge without missing a beat. We had all we could have asked for during our stay and more. From the amazing rooms we were provided (ready when we arrived), to the filling breakfast buffet eaten every day, and last but not least, the shuttle services made available for our troupe at our beckon call. Our students and chaperones from Coral Glades High School Drama Department would like to say a big thanks to all who assisted in making our stay a most pleasant one and look forward to returning next year when we hopefully can return for the 2015 Thespian Festival.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Michelle A,

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. I blushed! I made sure that our whole team was able to hear the review that you were so kind to write. THANK YOU and we can't wait to have a new group come through in 2015!!!!

Have a great week!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stay approximately 50-60 nights yearly in Marriott properties. I can say honestly that I have never met a friendlier accomodating staff. The property is a bit worn, but all in all a great place that if circumstances warrant I would return too. The location is very convienient to highways and downtown. Not sure I would use this property for a vacation, just based on location, but would certainly return for another business trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.