We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thanksgiving Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #61 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Satellite Beach, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thanksgiving Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to spend Thanksgiving in Tampa this year. The staff could not have been more accomodating. It's a good location on the North edge of downtown. The library and performing arts center are across the street. The art and children's museum just a block away. The entrance to I275 is less than a block away. There is a complimentary shuttle for the downtown area.

Rooms were clean and spacious, and the kitchen had all the necessary utensils to prepare a meal or two. Great for families or a quick get away.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side. It faces the courtyard with the pool and nicely landscaped area. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
SybilB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time while you stayed with us. Also, thank you for letting future guests understand from your perspective the area that we are in and how accessible we are to so many great things!

Have a great weekend,
Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    64
    24
    19
    15
See reviews for
45
26
12
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great service by the front desk staff throughout my recent stay. Walking distance to several newer restaurants/bars, and conveniently located off the highway in the heart of downtown. Would recommend staying here if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
lawrencemon,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review about our hotel. I made sure to let our front desk staff know that they got mentioned and they were delighted to hear it! We hope to have a chance to have you stay with us again.

Have a great weekend,
Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this downtown Tampa hotel overnight before our cruise. Location was great in terms of being downtown, close to cruise ships and walking along the river. Our room was clean, well maintained and provided lots of room. Small kitchenette was a bonus especially if you are travelling with children. Staff were busy but helpful. Free breakfast was typical but fine. Our only concern was a lack of restaurants there or nearby especially later in the evening. The other Marriott Courtyard Inn right next door did, however, provide a quiet bar for a glass of wine. Lots of good things to recommend here, especially for the price and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this particular hotel because one of us was having surgery at a nearby hospital. We wanted somewhere to stay with a homey atmosphere. Given the purpose of our visit, we knew we would be spending more time in our room than the average tourist and wanted the ability to do some minimal cooking in a comfortable atmosphere. We found the perfectd place with the added benefit that the hotel environs did not have that typical “hotel” smell; it was really almost like a home.

When we left, we both agreed that we could not possibly have made a better choice. From the initial reservation contact with a very helpful sales manager, through daily encounters with staff including effective housekeeping; from the comfortable sofa and chairs in the living area to the separate bedroom (we had a suite), from a full-service kitchen (microwave, oven, dishwasher plus bowls, plates, cups, glasses and silverware; to the modern bath/shower, this hotel is well-above standard accommodations. As a plus, we found the best and most responsive temperature control we have ever seen in many, many years of hotel visits.

A nice touch were the “social hours” Monday through Wednesday from 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM, with a complimentary buffet and wine and soft drinks bar. There was a different theme each night for food. I particularly enjoyed the Italian and the BBQ nights. The complimentary morning breakfast, served from 6:00 AM to 9:30 PM, consisted of three hot dishes—scrambled eggs, a varied type of potatoes, and some form of turkey sausage or bacon—plus the usual oatmeal, cold cereals, yoghurt, waffles and pastries. There even were fresh blueberries for the waffles or cereal. The lobby has snack-type vending machines including microwave meals, even to my surprise, frozen White Castle cheeseburgers! These are not coin-operated, which I liked, because I could just pay at the desk.

There is a small bar area in the hotel but no restaurant, understandable given the purpose of a residence inn. However, a short walk across a courtyard takes guests to a Marriott Courtyard hotel, with a “bistro” type restaurant, open for breakfast and dinner, with hearty appetizers, specialty sandwiches and cocktails in the evening. Having this option, when you are not in the mood for an expedition to a formal restaurant, was an additional benefit. As an aside, grilled chicken quesadillas with salsa and sour cream seems to be a Marriott specialty; it has been delicious in every Marriott sports bar/bistro eatery we have visited.

Overall, I give the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Tampa my highest recommendation, particularly if you need the amenities described.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed two nights for a trip with friends and was not disappointed.

Here's what you'll get:
* clean/large rooms
* free breakfast
* small store (food/toiletries)
* gym
* pool/hot tub
* basketball hoop
* downtown location
* parking (across the street for a fee)
* friendly staff

The price is very reasonable for the location and quality of accommodations.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite sleeps 6 very comfortably (even sofa bed was comfy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
LittleCristy, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Giving our guests a great experience at our hotel is our top priority! We hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was skeptical about staying here because of some of the older reviews but we were not planning on being in the hotel room much. The front desk staff Maria and Pierre were pleasant and the General Manager is always there. The Breakfast was good and constantly being refilled with fresh items. The General Manager walks around, checks everything and even cleans up. The hotel rooms, kitchens and bathroom were clean and everything was in order. When we checked in at 7:30 pm and we asked if someone could make the sofa bed up for our daughter and they sent someone up. They usually make it up with a blanket but I asked for a comforter like what they have on the beds and they accomodated our request.

They also have free internet.

Now for the parking, they charge 11$ but they only have a small number of spots, (40 I think) which of course get filled quite quickly. We were there on Friday till Sunday so it was easy to find parking on the street by the hotel and there is a city parking lot around the corner which is 7$ but with no in an out privileges so you're better off parking on the street which is free on the weekend. On Saturday morning I asked the front desk if a spot opened up and fortunately for us there was one single spot that opened up which we they gave us. It wasn't an issue for us but if I was traveling alone during the week I would not have liked having to park a block or 2 away and walk back to the hotel.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you want a parking spot try to get there when it's check out time for current guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
MyOdyssey2001, we really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. Thank you for choosing our hotel! We care about our guests and making sure that your accomodations and experience are great while staying with us. We hope that we get to have you stay with us again. We are working on our parking and will soon be able to offer valet service for our guests so that parking won't be an issue moving forward. Thank you again for your review and hope to see you in Tampa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This is my second and last stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, toilet was clogged. The exterior of the refrigerator was dirty, and the refrigerator was inoperable. The arm chair looks like it was found next to a dumpster. The carpet was fraying by the door. We stayed in room 318 which is in corner of Ashley and Tyler. The road noise was loud and continuous throughout the night. On a previous stay, we had a courtyard room which was much quieter. The a/c air handler is located in the bedroom and is loud when it kicks on. Since our last stay, the hotel's parking had been changed so that residence inn and courtyard have designated sections of the parking lot. Unfortunately, the exit for Residence Inn is extemely close to Ashley drive. This makes it extremely difficult to leave to hotel and make a left on Ashley dr. The bed pillows are very small. This seems to be something that is happening across all Marriott brands as I found the same type pillows at the Springhill Suites I was in previously. I will attempt to upload pictures to tripadvisor for those that are interested.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Upon reading this we have immediately went to that room and have resolved all of these issues. I can't express how terrible we feel that you had a negative experience while staying with us. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our first priority and we want you to know that we have taken your comments very seriously. Not only have we fixed the issues in this room but we have taken an additional training course with our housekeepers so that these kinds of cleaning issues will be completely eliminated. We are also a new management company that has taken over this hotel and we are working on making sure to refresh and renew the furniture! Lastly, we have been known for being a convenient hotel for our location and we are sorry that you experienced so much noise. Please call our Director of Sales so that we can try to show you that we can be better than what you have experienced: Shab @ 813-227-4388
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.