We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #54 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
vancouver bc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Three family members stayed here for 4 nights this week while one of us had an operation at Tampa General. This is one of their recommended hotels with a special, very fair rate for patients. We had two rooms - a two-bedroom unit with a full kitchen and another studio apartment again with close to a full kitchen. Both suites were absolutely quiet and the most comfortable of their type I have ever seen - everything was new, well-thought out for hotel-style cooking and the housekeeping was excellent. Beyond this the hot breakfast and evening light meal and drinks (for Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights only) were a big plus and very good. The shuttle service is truly available and one is made to feel very comfortable asking for very personal service. The staff is first class and genuinely interested in ensuring that each guest is having his or her needs met.

We found the pool area to be very clean and attractive, given the location and type of hotel property. There is a barbeque area for guests which would be great for families who do a little planning.

We easily found good restaurants in the area and if you want to dine on the water, the shuttle is pleased to run you there and back. We heartily recommend this well-run facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for letting other possible guests read about your great experience! We are here to always do our best to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thanks again and let us know if and when you are coming back.

Thank you for your great review,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    26
    19
    15
See reviews for
48
28
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Between the staff and the cleanliness i would say this is one of the best hotels i have stayed at in Florida easily on this level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonet Point, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Horrible experience with the accounting department. Paid once through hotels.com. Got charged again from Marriott. When brought to the attention of the clerk at the desk was basically told " oh well, maybe you can talk to the manager tomorrow and see what can be done, if anything". Spoke with hotels.com and was told "oh well, just wait until tomorrow and see what the hotel will do". I say " oh well Marriott, never again, oh well hotels.com, never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I am so sorry that you had the experience that you did in regards to your billing issues. I want to make sure that your issue has been resolved. I hope that your stay with us was enjoyable otherwise. Sometimes when a third party booking company is involved it takes a couple extra steps to get the information that you were looking for. Receiving the information that you have shared will give us an opportunity to train our front desk staff to be able to answer these questions next time. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We are here to help if there are any unresolved issues.

Thank you,
Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love staying at any hotel that is in the Marriott family -- from Egypt to NYC, I have been pleased. This hotel is not on par with other Marriott hotels in some ways, but excellent in others. Here's the scoop:

-The location is good for many activities.
-The room was a bit ragged around the edges.. bedskirt and linens really wrinkled. Paint was chipped and not super clean. In fact, the trash can and freezer hadn't been cleaned when I checked in. There was hair in the bathtub, etc. Just general cleanliness issues.
-Breakfast and Happy Hour food was average.
-The SERVICE was excellent!!! The staff was friendly, very helpful and worked hard to make guests happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I am so happy to hear that our service was impeccable and that you enjoyed our location and food! Thank you so much for sharing those great points. Our hotel is under new management and your review will help us to make sure that we are providing not only great service but a clean environment as well. There will be upgrades done as times goes by so please try to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We went to a wedding at the Straz Center and stayed here. The hotel was within an easy walk, even in high heels! The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff is so pleasant! There were couple of worn furniture items, but the rest of the experience made it okay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us! It is always great to hear that we are doing well and I will make sure to share it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Im surprised to read the negative reviews. I spent several weeks here last September and one night in January. I'll be checking in again this Friday. This is a very nice Residence Inn, and I saw no cleanliness or service issues during my extensive time there.

The rooms were quite nice, with good furniture and decor. The kitchenette was beyond adequate, and the bathrooms quite clean.

I used the small, but adequate, gym daily. Newspapers were also always available, although they did run out of the local edition quickly some mornings in the lobby.

Check-in/out was always easy. The courtesy shuttle was nice, but not always timely. It just took some planning ahead to use effectively.

The nightly manager's reception was very adequate. Free beer, wine, soda and a light meal was offered around 6-8 each night. When the staff saw a coworker and I arrive back from a long day at work just as they were cleaning up, they offered to let the beer flow until they were through cleaning up all else.

Breakfast was very good each morning. A nice selection of healthy foods as well as some hot items were available along with juice and coffee.

Several restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. Taps is a little trendy specialty beer bar/restaurant. Nixies has the best lunch sandwiches on earth, and Hattrick's, the best hockey bar south of Quebec, is just a few blocks away. You can take a 15 minute walk or the shuttle to the Times Forum for events or Channelside for more restaurants. For a classier meal, Malios is just a few blocks down Ashley street and has great steaks and atmosphere.

This hotel shares the block with the Courtyard downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Taking the time to write a review of this length is incredible! Thank you for taking your time to let our possible future guests know the kind of experience that you had with us. It is so important especially since you were with us for a length of time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights on a recent business trip. I wouldn't stay here again as I found Tampa offers better options near the water downtown.

Pros:
Front desk staff
Shuttle -it'll take you within two miles of the hotel so it's convenient getting to the water-side area
Breakfast
comfortable beds
Cons:
Rooms need updating - furniture was faded and slightly dirty
Room smelled like old cleaning solution
A/C vent in room blows directly on you as you sleep so you're either freezing cold or hot if you turn the air down
Shuttle should go to the airport considering how close the hotel is to the interstate

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.