We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right in downtown Tampa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #51 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right in downtown Tampa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel before leaving on a cruise out of the Port of Tampa. Check-in was a bit dicey with the staff being cool, yet polite, but not helpful at all with checking on room status, etc. Parking is across the street and there is a fee. The check-in staff became much more friendly and attentive once they realized we were Marriott Gold Rewards members, but that should have not made a difference in their attitude or demeanor. The room/suite was fairly small but comfortable and clean. A breakfast buffet was included the next morning and was adequate and what one would expect. If at all possible, request a room on the backside of the hotel away from the street. Our room on the front experienced a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for writing and staying with us prior to your cruise. I wanted to follow up and apologize for the check in observation you had. I will forward your comment to the appropriate staff. You did mention being a Marriott Rewards Gold Member and wanted to specifically thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels.

Safe travels,

Stephano Anamisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    92
    33
    24
    23
See reviews for
71
42
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had! First of all let me say that the assistant GM tried very hard to make things better but he was clearly working with a bunch of incompetents (particularly house keeping!). First of all when we checked in we were informed that there were no cribs or pack n plays left for our infant daughter nor were there any rooms with 2 beds. At this point we knew that none of us would be getting any sleep in the dbl bed we were stuck with. Our room was filthy! Body hair all over the bathroom floor, finger prints on mirror and windows, pubic hair in bathtub, groceries left in cupboards... I could go on! I called and complained and assist GM was very apologetic and offered to send housekeeping immediately to clean room. I asked that they wait and come while we were out to dinner. On our way out I stopped at desk and gave diff agent our room # and she assured me she would send HK immediately. We were out for over 3 hours and upon returning bathroom still filthy. Dirty diapers left in garbage, hair still on floor and in tub. I called front desk and lady apologized stating she had told them to come. She offered to send us some milk from the market! Seriously??? HK came a short time later with a rag and a spray bottle. I asked about vacuum and was informed that they dont use vacuums on floors only carpet. A mop maybe? Instead she persisted to spray floor and wipe hairs onto carpet!! Then asked me to check the floor. I pointed out several hairs still on floor which she hastily swept away again onto carpet. I had to ask her to change garbage and didn't even get into dust and fingerprints. I'm ready to cry!! I'm so disgusted as I lay wide awake with my 7 month old beside me. This isn't even safe. I've stayed at Marriott more times than I can count and never was told they have no pack n plays. This stay has been a nightmare since we walked in the door!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We reserved a "suite" for two weeks. After two hours of our 14-night stay, here's what I know:
1) The "suite" is bedroom with a couch, chair and mini-kitchen jammed into it.
2) At a glance, the dishwasher is obviously falling apart.
3) The sliding closest doors are also falling apart and open only with lots of muscle.
4) The lounge chair appears to be 50 years old.
5) The Internet connect is s-l-o-w, but it does work.
6) No ice tray in the freezer, no ice bucket. After waiting an hour for an ice bucket, we used the laundry bag.
7) A shelf on the wall droops at about a 15% angle.
8) The drapes and pictures are nice.

I am currently shopping for another place to stay for the remaining 13 nights. I'll update this review if anything changes.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

These Property was easily the best 3 Star Property I ever stayed at. Bordering on a 4 star except for Property Type. The 1 bedroom suite I had was spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen, excellent desk area for working with your Lap top, excellent wifi offering both wireless and ethernet connections, one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept on, great shower heads, excellent, one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had in this type property. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask for your preference fro a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We arrived in a chilly night about 8:00PM with exausted infants and it took a while to the frontdesk staff on duty open the door to us. Helpfulness was a missing issue in that hotel. We were by your own to carry your luggage to the room. Room was large and comfortable but needs repairs and a better cleanliess. There was no safe in the room and bathroom needs a retrofit. Common areas were dirty and showed signs of deterioration as well. Complimentary breakfast was below average but coffee was fine. Internet access worked fine. It was a good deal, one room fits our family of five and it was fairly close to Busch Gardens, but we probably will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and staying with us. I am happy to hear that our larger suite size and complimentary amenities overall made us a good value. You did mention some items that included not having a doorman to assist with bags. We typically have several staff members on duty at all times which are able to assist in cases like yours. I do apologize if this was not the case or communicated to you during your particular stay. Thanks again for staying with us while visiting Busch Gardens.

Sincerely,

Stephano Anamisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The staff at this hotel is great to work with. We brought a large group on a very busy weekend, and they were nothing but pleasant all the way. Every one of the staff members was cheerful and helpful (and I know they were stressed, but, it didn't show). The rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is good, too. Thanks for another enjoyable stay - we'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Just ask, they will give you the best one available. Also, rooms overlooking the courtyard are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding your stay. Please let me know if I can be of service during a future stay.

Stephano Anamisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel room was very quiet, clean and comfortable.
The complimentary breakfast was good.
The shuttle has too many runs in the AM. We waited 45 min. and finally walked to the convention center. It was good any other hour of the day.
They fixed a sink drain problem the same day I reported it .
The area seemed fine in the daytime, but would not walk alone at night. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#73 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#26 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Floridan Palace Hotel
#93 of 159 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.