We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on Oct. 14, 2011. I was attending the Women of Faith conference at the St. Pete Times Forum and wanted a hotel downtown. I was able to park at the hotel and walk to the conference. It took about 15 to 20 mins, depending on how fast I walked. I encountered several different people working the front desk and all were cordial and helpful. The room was very clean and had plenty of space. It had a queen bed and a sofa sleeper. The breakfast buffet was free and was really good! 4 different types of cereal. Oatmeal and lots of toppings. Waffle station. Eggs with toppings. Potatoes. Juices. Pastries. It isn't inexpensive, but at least you get good service for what you pay. There was a pool and fitness center, but I didn't use either of those.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    90
    32
    24
    23
See reviews for
68
41
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford City, In
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were treated very good. We had a great check-in starting with Delores and it just stayed good.
Delores was most helpful as well as informing.
We had a very good experience at this Residence Inn Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I checked in to Residence Inn on Wednesday. Checkin was fast and easy. Suite was clean and exactly as described. Area was quiet for week. Shuttle ran within 2 miles of hotel and easily accessible. Morning breakfast was good, I was not there for nightly event. Fitness center is 24 hours and what a benefit. Pool was clean. Everyone was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although I booked at the last minute and did not get any kind of discount rate (I thought the price I paid was rather high), the Residence Inn itself was perfect. The folks were incredibly nice -- they even allowed my to check in way before noon! The room was great, the breakfast yummy and the overall stay was wonderful. Sometimes you do get what you pay for! As a side note, downtown Tampa was rather desolate when I was there. Everyone told me it was safe (as a woman traveling alone, I was concerned about that issue, for sure), but still the ghost town feel left me a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

They Treat the guest really well. I checked in late night. Person who checked in was really great and helpful. i am going to put together the names and great people who work and help out are :
1. Stephano Anamisis - he is one of the best managers i had come across.
Very simple, truthful, honest and plain speaking. He is quick, smiling and ability to resolve or handle is extremely great. He has a passion for Marriott property. He enjoys his work too and has a great staff-very protective person as well
2. Dolores- she is quick, trustworthy prepared to travel extra mile-can make quick decisions.
3. Cynthia-very nice and helpful
4. Benita- was caring took time to find more informaton and help out
5.alison-very nice, smiling and great person to work with
6.Lady who helps out for evening snacks for customer-great attitude. she wanted to help i did not get her name, i guess she speaks spanish..

The above people need to be recognized and put a GREAT note for such a best hotel.
I stay in Marriott everyweek..this matters a lot

Thanks & Regards
sri
Was there meeting for a Non profit organization

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to leaving for a cruise. This hotel is VERY nice, inside and out. Our room, a 2 BR, 2 Bath was very comfortable, clean and at a great value. A living area seperates the two BR's with a pull out sofa, kitchen and dining table and chairs. The free breakfast in the morning was very good and well prepared. There are a few bars around the area, and the area is clean, but not in the heart of a big restrurant district, but an area undergoing revitalization. WHICH DOES NOT MEAN THE AREA IS RUN DOWN, just the opposite. The Courtyard by Marriott joins the Residence Inn and a couple of hot tubs and pool seperate the two, but are used by both and very nice. A shuttle takes you anywhere within a two mile radius which includes the cruise ship port for free. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I both travel extensively for work and have been staying at this hotel consistently for the past 5 years (sometimes weekly). The service is AMAZING and they always make us feel like we're at home when we walk through the front door. I have to give a special recommendation to both Kenny and Bonita, although everyone we've encountered is outstanding.

The hotel: They updated their rooms a couple of years ago - new paint, furniture, bedding so it has a more modern feel than some of the other Residence Inns we've stayed in. There is a charge for parking in the gated lot directly across the street . For those who enjoy swimming there's a nice pool and hot tub that is shared with the Courtyard Marriott. The free breakfast is nice. They also offer "happy hours" in the evening with free wine and beer, however, we've never had the opportunity to attend. The fitness room is tiny. If you plan on getting in a good workout I'd recommend going to Choice Fitness on South Howard - their day rate is $12.50.

The location of this hotel is a plus, too. It one block away from the Performing Arts Center and if you like to walk or run there's the Riverwalk that winds along the river downtown. The Tampa Art Museum and their grounds is one block away (with a great dog park). The hotel offers a free shuttle - Channelside (the cruiseport) is a fun location that offers a variety of restaurants. There are several good restaurants downtown, as well. Recommendations all within walking distance: Malios Prime (upscale seafood and steak), Taps Wine Bar (you buy a card that you insert into the self dispensing machines - great for sampling many wines!), Indigo's for coffee, Flye (great tapas restaurant with hip vibe and outdoor seating) and First Watch for breakfast. There's many more but these seem to be our favorites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard - much quieter than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for visiting the Residence Inn by Marriott Tampa Downtown and sharing your experience about the great service you experienced by our staff. You mentioned two associates in particular and thank you for recognizing them. You mentioned some great local restaurants and would also recommend seeing Ybor City by shuttle for its selection of restaurants and nightlife. Thanks again and please do give us a call when returning back to the area.
Sincerely,

Stephanos G. Anamisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Address: 101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.