We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Beds Made Sleep Difficult” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #73 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Florida
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Beds Made Sleep Difficult”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First - This hotel is well located, reasonably priced, clean, and the desk staff was very pleasant. But the very uncomfortable beds added to freeway noise (we were on the freeway side) made sleeping problematic. This building used to be an Embassy Suites (A new Embassy Suits sits on the south side of the freeway) which has been updated in the last few years. The rooms are nice but the update falls a little short in areas like electric out lets, interior doors, and small details. But the real concern was pillow-top beds that have been used so much they are permanently indented and lumpy. I suggest the next upgrade be focused on the sleeping experience. I don't see us returning.

Room Tip: Make certain your room is on the Cypress side rather than the I275 side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Phil U,

Good news, Phil! We are in the midst of changing all of our mattresses. This project should be completed by the end of May. I look forward to your comments after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    173
    82
    40
    19
See reviews for
123
88
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night in March 2013. The suites are truly suites with two separate rooms. There are flat screen t.v.s in each room. All the amenities you could ask for are here. The hotel's restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. I got a very good rate from Booking.com of about $95. Great choice for a quick trip to the airport when leaving Tampa.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have city views and open onto the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear bobbyoh,

You hit on a couple of the big highlights here. All we have are suites so everyone feels like the VIP they are! And, great convenience with a complimentary shuttle bus ride to and from nearby Tampa International Airport, rated #3 best airport in America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for a weekend just to be close to attend our daughter's honor ceremony at USF. Was so pleased with the accommodations that we went back the two following weeks for another ceremony and also graduation.

Room Tip: Actually our first night was not pleasant. I'm very sensitive to noise and tossed and turned all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Dolores L,

Congratulations on your daughter’s achievement at the University of South Florida. I am sure you are quite proud! Thank you for allowing the Sheraton to be a part of these special memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I searched for a long time as there were so many properties to choose from. My decision was made to stay here because there were 3 of us, so we went for the "suites." We each had our own sleeping areas and shared the bathroom. I will second the notions about dim lighting in the bathroom, no biggie but the bed was the Best ever. Sleeper sofa, not so much. Mall very close for shopping, steakhouse, next door, but we just chilled at the hotel. We used the hotels restaurant for all three meals, as the port was evacuated due to a bomb scare. The hotel was VeryNice in letting us extend our checkout as we couldn't go to the port until all was clear around 4:30, but had to vacate room at 2:00pm. All staff were very nice, ambiance very pretty and food yummy. Complimentary Starbucks coffee at check in desk was a wonderful plus. They also offered a shuttle to the port, which they charged I believe 10.00pp, which wasn't offered due to bomb scare. They catered more to the airport, and port was offered at 11.30am and 12.30, which on this particular day, didn't work, so we arranged a shuttle with someone recommended by the staff from the hotel, as we stayed there until the port opened back up. Can't go wrong with this property! Enjoyed our stay, nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear SUZANNE G,

Thank you for the review and for choosing our hotel to start off your vacation. I am sorry that your sailing was delayed but I trust that you were able to get into the spirit of things after you were underway. I hope to see you all prior to your next voyage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked a specific room type well in advance. Knew we would arrive late so on the day of arrival called the hotel and spoke with the staff onsite. We were assured the room would be held and a notation placed on the reservation. Despite this upon arrival the room type was not available.

Complained to management at the front desk the following morning but somehow it was my fault? So much for being an SPG Gold Member. Aside from the response at the front desk the other hotel staff were cordial and courteous.

Some other observations. The hotel and furnishings are a bit worse for wear. This especially applies to the beds which are extremely soft. There is limited parking. There is an overflow area available. However both the parking in the rear and overflow area are remote and unpatrolled. I certainly would not want my daughter or wife to use these facilities out of hours. The breakfast buffet selection is limited but fresh.

If you are looking for accommodation near Tampa Airport the location is convenient and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Liketotravel77

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay with us this past weekend. Please allow me to apologize for failing to properly note your bed type request on your reservation. We should have pre-blocked you into a king-bedded suite especially when you called to confirm your request. Our guest services manager has already spoken to the team and used this situation for training purposes. I am pleased to report that in May all of our suites will be receiving brand new beds! I will be interested in your opinion. As for parking, a few times per month we do need to use our neighbors for overflow parking. The parking deck that we use is patrolled by uniformed security personnel. In addition, our staff is always available to escort guests to or from their vehicle parking location. Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Lobby is beautiful but room is a little dark and bathroom is very small with horriable lighting. The bed was Very comfortable and all the other amenities seem fine ( i. e. TV). Thought the Breakfast was extremely pricey ( $12.00 for the buffet) so we went around the corner to the Waffle House and had a great breakfast for a fraction of the price. The hotel is extrmemly close to the airport - so for convience to the airport it is great, and there are lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Loreen B

Thank for staying with us and for your review. I am sorry for the lighting in your bathroom. By private message I hope to learn the suite number you were in so we can take care of any defect. I am partial to our buffet as it has a lot to choose from including fresh fruit, yogurts, home-baked breakfast breads, cooked to order eggs, etc., etc. That said, I have been spotted at Waffle House once or twice (don’t tell my chef!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We checked in on a Thursday. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. The front desk clerk was friendly, check in went smoothly and our room was ready early.
Our "suite" was dismal. The rug in the bedroom was unraveling; besides the bathroom being very very small, the bathroom was dimly lit, the mirror in the bathroom was peeling as was the paint. The cabinet that housed the refrigerator was rotted - really rotted. The sitting room furniture was dirty and there were large chips in the tables. The dorm sized refrigerator froze everything. It was not a Sheraton quality property.
I realize these are not easy fixes. I filled out a comment card and left it at the front desk as the desk was unattended. I stated on the comment card I had not spoke with anyone, but would love to. When we returned from a day out on Saturday, (after 11PM)our room was not clean. The bed was made, but the floor was not vacuumed nor swept, paper glasses were not replaced, no toiletries were left and there were only two bath towels - no washcloths or hand towels were in the room. On our way out on Sunday, we stopped at the front desk and requested the room be cleaned and explained the circumstances. She was not the least bit interested, did not even give eye contact, did not apologize, just simply stated - without ever looking up- she would report it. While I understand little could be done about the unraveling rug,
rotting cabinet, chipped furniture a little courtesy would go a long way.
The 'balcony' is not a balcony. Don't be fooled -
If we had not pre-paid, we certainly would have left.
While our trip was not ruined, this hotel certainly did not enhance our trip. This hotel is either neglected by corporate headquarters or by management - Undercover boss should come here. It may be capable of being saved. THIS IS NOT A SHERATON QUALITY HOTEL. S

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. Honestly - stay elsewhere. But if you have to stay here It is a noisy hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear christine g

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. By private message I hope to learn the suite number you occupied so I can perform an inspection with our chief engineer and director of rooms. Please allow me to apologize for the condition of the suite and for the failure on the part of the staff to rectify the situation. As I await your response, we will use this situation for re-training for the departments involved. Thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore is just a short complimentary shuttle ride from the airport. We are right in the middle of the Westshore business district, off Interstate 275. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Sheraton Hotel Tampa Airport
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.