We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
PHOENIX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Near the airport but not near the noise, a perfect spot for a relaxing night before a trip, Nice Rooms great beds, friendly staff, close to walking to restaurants and shops free internet nice restaurant with excellent food and good happy hour

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear FRIBOB

We’re so glad you had a nice stay and thank you for the kind review. While we indeed are within walking distance to Westshore Plaza Mall and many restaurants, we offer complimentary shuttle bus service to all points of interest within a three-mile radius of the hotel which includes Westshore Plaza and International Plaza Mall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    171
    82
    41
    19
See reviews for
123
87
25
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 day long business trip in February. Nice room (but very low ceilings! Watch out if you are over 6'4" tall...the sprinkler heads will cut you!), nice accommodations, nice front-desk staff. The restaurant in the hotel had gross food for lunch and attitudes from the waitstaff to match. Some of the waitstaff girls were visibly arguing with each other on the floor about how to ring up a customer instead of filling drinks and actually working. Not professional!

The conference rooms were spacious and accommodating, but the hotel tried to charge the seminar $100 for a flip chart when we could get one at Staples for $25. A little over priced with that kind of thing. Hotel is right on the Interstate which is very busy! Our room was on the side of the busy highway, but it was not unbearable to hear the traffic for us since the sliding glass doors drown out most of the noise. If you are a light sleeper or not used to sounds of high-speed traffic and 18 wheelers at all hours of the day and night, you might want to make sure you are on the opposite side of the hotel. Nice view of downtown Tampa from our room though!

The rooms were clean and spacious and the lobby and atrium was very well manicured and nice. The pool area was large and clean as was the fitness center. This hotel is very close to the airport and offers a free shuttle to and from the airport or any local restaurants which is very nice. I would go back to stay, but I would not eat at the lobby lounge for anything other than the buffet breakfast or evening cocktails. Lunch and dinner was NOT good. The breakfast was decent, but nothing to write home about.

Overall an OK business trip stay.

Room Tip: Ask which side of the hotel your room is on to avoid loud traffic. Don't eat at the lounge unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear italianmaid

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit over all, but please allow me to apologize for the experience you had in our restaurant. Indeed this was unprofessional. Our food and beverage director is addressing your concerns. We appreciate your constructive feedback as we use it to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Needed a room for one night post-cruise. Got to the hotel early in the morning after disembarking the ship and was told rooms weren't ready yet. Dealt with Brooke at the front desk. She was very pleasant and promised a room would be ready in a couple hours. Left our luggage with the concierge and found a few things to do for that time period. Came back after lunch and found our room ready as promised. This was our first intro to the excellent service here.

Room was very nice - clean, spacious and modern. There were 2 very comfortable queens, a sofabed, separate sitting room and bedroom, 2 flat screen TVs, free wifi, work station, mini fridge, microwave, bar sink). Bathroom was small but clean. Only had 2 sets of towels (for the 3 of us) and no faceclothes but not a big problem for a one night stay. We found the bathroom to be dimly lit and suggest improving next time renovations are needed. We were missing a TV remote and guest services had a replacement to us in less than 5 minutes. That just enhanced our impression of good service. Also had great service from the shuttle driver to the airport early next morning.

Can't beat the location. It's about a 10 minute drive to the airport, about a 15 minute drive from the cruise terminal and less than a 10 minute walk to the WestShore Plaza (great stores and restaurants).

Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again on our next visit to Tampa.

Room Tip: perhaps stay away from a room in the back of the hotel that faces I-275
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear GregWpgMB

We are glad you folks enjoyed your stay with us following your cruise. So sorry for the couple of hiccups but I am glad they got corrected. We have had the pleasure of hosting many Canadians this winter as they have taken a break from braving the cold and enjoyed a Caribbean cruise. Hope you make it an annual tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel staff excellent, there were no bath towels (discovered at an inopportune time) in the room. Front desk called and we had towels in literally 5 minutes. the Front desk helpful with confirming info about Charley's Resturant next door. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet with good variety. Hot food was indeed hot. Location great if you need to get to or from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear kmr858

Thank you for the kind words and the five-star rating. So sorry about the bath towels, but I’m glad we got them to you quickly. We hope to welcome you back when travel brings you through Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice place to stay in Tampa Old but rooms were nice. The big thing is the parking very poor had to go out at 10 p.m. just to put my Veh. into a parking place at the Hotel. The rooms very nice and two TV. made it also nice for the two of us. Mom is 86 and likes her TV shows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Rock61Rock,

Thanks to you and your mom for staying with us. Yes, sometimes our parking lot fills up but during the day we can use the restaurant parking to our west and in the evening we can use the parking deck to our east. I’m sorry that this was an inconvenience during your stay. I like my TV too and we now have 45 channels to choose from including 17 in HD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife, son (4), daughter (2), and I booked a room here last minute for 2 nights as a change of plans. We chose it for its location (minutes from the Florida Aquarium and Glazer Children Museum), the heated indoor pool, the quality of room, and the casual restaurant/breakfast options.

We had the breakfast buffet twice and dinner at the hotel restaurant (St. James). I enjoyed the BBQ bacon burger, and my wife liked her grouper sandwich. We also ordered room service (buffalo wings) that were brought timely and well presented. Prices for food in all instances were reasonable, although the room service meal was more expensive than the in-room menu presented.

The kids enjoyed the pool, the kid's menu pizza, and the glass elevators, and we enjoyed the separating door between the "bedroom" and "living room", integrated desk/workspace, and refrigerator/microwave in our suite. We were very satisfied with our decision to stay at Sheraton Suites Tampa, and the other TripAdvisor reviews were a significant deciding factor for our choice.

Suggestions for improvement:

We would have liked to have seen some pancakes/waffles on the buffet, but the selection of what was there was still quite good.

We also would have enjoyed a hot tub / jacuzzi at the pool area, although the pool temperature was quite warm itself.

We had to specifically call the front desk to have our room cleaned, & towels changed (this was by late-afternoon, despite being out of our room most of the day) - but it was promptly taken care of once we made the call.

Perhaps a few more options for kids in the hotel - a game area, or some other activity option?

Nothing major, just a few things that came to mind. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: We asked for (and received) a room facing close to Cypress St. to avoid the I-275 traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear nathanchase,

Thank you for the great feedback. So glad that you and your family enjoyed your getaway. I am sharing your suggestions with our chef and guest services team as they are good ideas. I too am partial to the grouper sandwich. Ours is awesome! I suggest ordering it blackened. Hope to see you all the next time you need to stretch your legs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While visiting Tampa we booked this hotel.
Easy to find right off the main highway and very close to the airport.
The check in was fast even though there were many cruise people checking in and out.
We had two rooms. The living area had a pull out couch, large TV computer area with lots of outlets and a micro wave, bar fridge and sink area with coffee maker.
The bed was very comfy and the bedding real nice. Can't beat a Sheraton sleep! It had one of the smallest bathrooms Ive seen in a hotel-one person at a time area- but it was nicely decorated and stocked but we did have to ask for extra towels and facecloths.
We did eat in the restaurant and found the staff very charming and prices were very responsible. Food was great and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and priced right.
They have a small inside pool attached to the exercise area.
The only negative thing we found was that all the rooms open onto a walkway that over looks the lobby and it got noisy in the morning with people coming and going and in the evening with music from below.
We stayed two nights and would definially book here again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the highway and it was quite loud with the balcony door open..we usually don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear kitten50

We so appreciate your group staying with us. We have learned much this cruise season from our Canadian friends. For instance, Moncton, New Brunswick has long been a railroad center generating the nickname “Hub City” and is near to the famous Bay of Fundy with its 50 feet tides. We can all learn something every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore is just a short complimentary shuttle ride from the airport. We are right in the middle of the Westshore business district, off Interstate 275. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Sheraton Hotel Tampa Airport
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.