We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #68 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for one night before a cruise. Nice Large Suite Room. Separate bedroom with two queen beds, and living room with sleeper sofa. Small wetbar area with microwave and fridge. The shuttle to and from airport is fine. They want to charge $15(?) a person for shuttle to cruise pier. I got a cab for $25. No free wifi, and parking is hard to find if driving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Dave H

We hope you enjoyed your cruise and we thank you for staying with us. Future guests can note that while our perimeter parking area is not large, we have an arrangement with an adjacent parking deck when the need arises and have directional signage to help motorists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    138
    68
    31
    13
See reviews for
97
77
22
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Okay, so it's an spg property so it's got to meet standards. I had an upgraded room that was brand-new, had an excellent work station, sweet sleeper bed (ahhhh...) and all the usual amenities. So I did not see anything old, in needing of update, etc. It is a suites-style hotel which is great for the extra room, the fridge, sofa, work space. I see from some other comments that some rooms have evidently not been updated -- that would put a different spin on one's experience for sure. Nevertheless, the rooms are very quiet and restful.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Well-equipped computer/business/internet cafe area, all free.
Very close to the airport (15min max), and super-easy access to I-275.

Restaurant menu food was excellent, the breakfast buffet had lots of choice but suffered from inadequate warming tray system, so it drags that score down to mediocre.

Parking is free, but internet in your room is 10 bucks a day. It's not a
deal breaker, but paying for in-room internet is irritating and always takes a couple of points off in my reviews.

Huge upside is a Charley's next door! Huge downside is there is absolutely nothing else walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Hikers2010

I can spot a savvy traveler and you are one. I appreciate the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your suite and you bring up an interesting point. All 261 of our suites were completely renovated at the end of 2009, all with virtually identical furniture and décor. The color scheme uses earth tones that are popular now but also widely used in the 70’s which may lend to some folks thinking the renovation is not as recent as it actually is. However, it is still our day-to-day responsibility to maintain the cleanliness and condition of the suites to keep them looking new. Consider your voice heard on the Internet fee. We need to get you to the Platinum SPG level so it’s free for you! Again, thanks for the review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place really needs updated. Contact paper stuck over the moldy tiles in the shower to cover up the mold and mildew. Everything needs a full cleaning and update. The staff, however was EXTREMELY nice and accomodating. I am sure they do the best they can with what they have. OK for an overnight on the way to somewhere else, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Vickie B

Thank you for the feedback and your additional information. By exchanging emails, we were able to identify the suite in question and make the needed corrections. We also thank you for your kind comment about the staff. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and look forward to a more pleasant visit the next time travel brings you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this expensive property with my elderly parents in a suite. The ceiling was sagging, cracked and peeling. The desk chair was suspiciously stained and the refrigerator had so much ice build up it extended to the fridge shelves. It obviously had not been defrosted in a very ling time. I would have asked for a new room but my parents are in poor health and it would have been too stressful on all of us to move. There appeared to be only 1 wait staff in the restaurant that night so service was slow. Not impressed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear mare R

We never stop wanting to impress our parents and I am sorry we did not help you in this regard when you visited us recently. By private message, I hope to learn your suite number so I can inspect the suite and insure repairs are completed. I appreciate your helpful feedback and hope to make it up to you on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Older property that is very well kept. Atrium is as attractive as any, many live plants. Bar well run. Rooms adequate. Why must a major chain charge $9.95 for Internet access? On top of all that, the only breakfast available is in their restaurant. Today's Suites seem to offer free breakfast of some kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear delawhereNewCastle

Thank you for kind remarks about our property. Charging for Internet is still a brand standard for the major chains. However, your voice is heard on this subject. For now I can offer the following advice. Internet is complimentary in the Link@Sheraton business center and in the lobby of all Sheraton hotels. In addition, our Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest members get this as a benefit. One more thing that is new here; you can now access the Internet with up to three separate devices for one fee. As for breakfast, some all-suite properties build this into the rate as part of their business plan, we have looked to keep this as an a la carte offering. Gives folks choices. Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great hotel, beautiful lobby and inside garden. Nice spacious rooms, clean and comfortable. Bed was comfy and two TV areas was a nice touch. Wi-fi was extra charge but lobby access worked in my room. Very pleased with the quality stay, the staff was very helpful even gave me a needle and thread to fix a suitcase damaged by the airways! Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear J0nathan74

We thank you both for being our guests and for posting such a nice review. The best compliment is for someone to recommend us to others so we thank you for that as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent a Spring Training weekend with the fellas here, and overall this is a decent property.  Especially if you pay less than $200 a night.   

Less than 10 minutes from TPA, the property is close to most of the Tampa attractions and bar districts. Ybor, South Howard and Channelside are within an easy cab ride away if you are looking for nightlife. 

Yankees ballpark very close; an easy 10 minute ride, likely less. 

The property has a free shuttle from the airport and there are several dining options within walking distance. 

The rooms are great being a "suite". Having a separate living room with TV and pull out couch is nice especially if traveling with a third person. The hotel is nice with a really cool open atrium and lobby bar.  While no 5 star resort, it is a decent property. It was pretty clean.  There is also an indoor pool if you are into that. 

Overall, a great "fairly" upscale property in the middle of a lot of things to do and places to eat.  For a huge "suite" room, in a decent location, you really can't go wrong with this place. Especially if your budget is under $200 a night. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwrossman, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear GeorgeRohman

Play Ball! When these two words are yelled by the guy in blue, all things are possible, especially during Spring Training. All teams are tied for first, the score is 0-0 and everyone has the potential to be an all-star. Glad you and the boys enjoyed your jaunt to see some games and thank you for the nice review. See you at the ballpark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 4400 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#56 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore is just a short complimentary shuttle ride from the airport. We are right in the middle of the Westshore business district, off Interstate 275. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Sheraton Hotel Tampa Airport
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.